Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate lodging for a good price

Posted Apr 13, 2018
when i pulled into the parking lot i was alarmed by the building but my friends forced me to go on with my reservation. This hotel has a great location and wonderful staff and the right idea. Just needs updated. Kids had fun in the pool and we were able to navigate around town easily from here It was noisy and a tad bit dumpy but for the money a good value
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2018
The pool was NOT heated like it said it was, the room had no fan or air conditioning or heat. There was a thermostat on the wall but it was broken and it felt like 100° in the room all night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2018
I loved my stay at the Howard Johnson they had everything I needed and I was able to spend a lot of time with distant family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great weekend! Great stay!

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Pros: Wonderful!
Cons: Softer bed.
Location: Easy to find. Close to EVERYTHING!
Very nice people, rooms, everything! Will stay there again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2018
The room was stuffy.had to keep the door open for air cirrculation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by Karen, Hotel Management
Thank you for review. Unfortunately our building runs on a boiler or chiller. We are unable to run both the air conditioning and heater at the same time. We do offer fans at the front desk to help our guests who find the rooms warm. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, IA

Fun for family

Posted Feb 25, 2018
This hotel is really awesome for family fun. My complaints are... The tiki bar opens at 6 which is fine, but it leads to music being played and people being active in the main area until 2am. Hard to get good rest until then. Also I stayed in room 118, it looks like there's a hole the size of a bullet?? in the window that's just been taped up rather than replaced...and the curtain rod was bent leaving it hard to properly close the curtain for comforting privacy. Other than that, my family and I had a nice rest and great time at Hojo Burlington.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by Karen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize about the noise at the Tiki Bar. We do enforce this and keep the level low when complaints are made. The window was broken with a kid and the golf club and was on order. I apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central Iowa

Very good value for the price

Posted Feb 11, 2018
We showed up in town early and took a chance on check in. They originally had us in a 1st floor room which wasn't ready yet (3 hours before check in time) but could get us in right away if we'd take a 2nd floor room. We accepted the offer. Nice that they would work with us. The room was nice and clean. The staff is friendly. This is our second visit within 6 months. The first had some housekeeping issues which the staff rectified right away. No issues this time. I have no problems recommending this facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Staff was very accommodating, had a room adjacent to my son and his family. Nice pool area and good breakfast. I will stay there again when visiting Iowa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2018 by Karen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2018 on Hotels
Nice hotel. We will definitely stay again if in town again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2018 by Karen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2018 on Hotels
The bartender, "Soap" was outstanding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2018 by Karen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I will pass along your kind words to Soup. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.