Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nostalgic and Inviting

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The Victorian era furnishings were well done that created a warm and inviting atmosphere.
This hotel was a perfect place to stay while we visited historical sites in the area. The hotel was clean, and the staff was friendly. We felt like family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good deal

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: Spending more time improving my shooting with the pool table. That was me not the Hotel.
Location: Close to the places I wanted to see. Saw lots of golden eagles.
Had a lot of fun and the conversation with the owner was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas County, IA

Nice, restored Victorian B&B

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Old school charm, nice view of the Mississippi.
Cons: A little weird that management is often not on site. The steak house in the same building is very busy on Fri and Sat nights and take up all parking
Location: Winter visit, so not much to do. We were looking to just relax, so that was OK. Very busy train tracks across the street but the trade off is the view
Two night stay for Wife's birthday. We enjoyed it. Called first after pulling up the property on Expedia. Was told rates went up and couldn't honor the online rates from their web site. Was called back in minutes, saying the owner decided to honor Expedia's quoted rates. Front desk was hardly ever staffed but someone from the staff seemed to be somewhere in the building, if needed. The bar was cozy and staff was friendly. Our room was nicely restored. The room and the bathroom were both clean. We intended to explore up and down the river and this was a nice home base for our weekend. A steady stream of trains on the track across the street, but it wasn't too distracting during the day and a white noise machine near the bed helped at night. Breakfasts were adequate, nothing fancy but were simple and some variety.
4 out of 5
by William

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
All good except my phone was hacked during my stay(wifi I'm guessing)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Jan 1, 2017
This place was Great! Will be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

At home at the river

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Our short stay was comfortable & peaceful. The staff were friendly and accommodating. It was nice having a quality restaurant attached. This was my second stay and I'll return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Unique Victorian hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Quaintness, breakfast and location. Price was excellent.
Cons: Nothing - all was good.
Location: In addition to the shops nearby, it is on the Mississippi, has a beautiful park across the street and an Old Fort that was on this site on the river.
This beautiful Victorian hotel in downtown Fort Madison, Iowa feels more like a bed and breakfast! It is within walking distance to downtown shops, including an art and antique shop. The breakfast is yummy, the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff is more than accomodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
The room and hotel were immaculate. The decor was beautiful. The room was very comfortable and the people friendly. The breakfast was limited. No decaf coffee, toaster though nothing to toast. Hot selection was blueberry pancakes and sausage. Before leaving I checked my credit card and saw they had submitted to be paid as well as hotels.com. They did correct it after I spoke to them
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Beautiful Stay

Posted Oct 17, 2016
My wife and got married and this is the hotel we chose to stay at. It was so beautiful! I would recommend this place to all who are in the area. The person at the counter knew who I was before I walked and made sure we were set to go. The room was beautiful, so clean and well put together. We stayed in the deluxe room, the spa was SO great and it had plenty of space for 2 people! It had a beautiful bathroom with a great vanity set up with lots of lighting! Fireplace made you feel right at home. If you are looking for a place, look no further!!