Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, close to road,

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Clean. and quiet
Cons: Ok for price
Location: Spent most of our time I. Nauvoo which was amazing to see the Mormon history sites
No problems. We spent l of our time site seeing and just went to the motel to sleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills, good value

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Great little inn. Not fancy but clean rooms and comfortable beds at a low price. Just what we needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

Been here before, but not likely again

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: cheap price
Cons: More dedication to customer service and comfort
Location: Other than my wife's family, Fort Madison has little of interest to me.
We've stayed here before and always found it to be a reasonable place to stay when we're visiting family. This time it seemed that they had slipped a notch or two on the quality ladder. The exhaust fan in the bathroom sounded like a jet engine prepping for takeoff. I hated to turn the light on during an overnight pit stop for fear the fan would wake my wife. The slidding/folding door that divides the room from the vanity and bath area was broken and had nails sticking out. It looked liked it had been abused and then forgotten about. The bed was uncomfortable. I woke up both mornings with a bit of a back ache. Never had that here before. The TV channel directory on the nightstand was so outdated that it listed channels that no longer exist, and haven't for some time. They had fliers in the room for places to eat and things to do that were dated 2013! Our stay was the first weekend of March 2015!! When I showed up to check in, they didn't even have a room set aside for us. Good thing I had my Expedia confirmation papers or who knows what might have gone down. I'll spend more money and stay elsewhere next time we travel to the area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arnold, Mo

Knights Inn Motel, Ft. Madison, iowa

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
Location: We went to the Midwest Old Threshers Show in Mt. Pleasant Iowa for their annual show over the Labor Day weekend
Very nice small motel. It was the cleanest motel we have stayed in for a long time. It had all the amenities we wanted and was economical.
4 out of 5
by js from dsm

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels
Clean and well maintained..no complaints.
3 out of 5
by Tim from Nashville, TN

Aged hotel

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: It is easy to get to.
Cons: The grounds and overall facilities need to be improved.
Location: The town of Ft. Madison, IA is a town the boom has come and gone. It looks a little like a ghost town. The buildings are old and seemingly rundown.
This hotel is a very old facility. While it is clean it has not been updated. The steel bathtubs are original. The tile flooring in the toilet/shower area was not level and the toilet moved. I did not even try the continental breakfast. The office is small and does not lend itself to a party of more than 4 or 5. There isn't room to have breakfast. I had an issue with the electronic key for one of my rooms. It took the desk person numerous attempts to get a key made for the room. The hotel also doubles as a residence for the hotel staff. They have a small garden out back by a storage building. The next time I am in the area I will not stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2014
Maroon was clean and comfortable . Staff was friendly and helpful
2 out of 5
by Roger from USA

Old motel, with broken door to bathroom area.

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Colorful bedspread and carpeting. Clean. Near area we were visiting.
Cons: Fix bathroom area door. Fix noisy bathroom exhaust fan. Make office area larger. Cover cereal containers during day to keep out sun. Be friendly.
Location: Did not do any site seeing.
Curtains were room darkening, however, when heater was on the curtains blew out into the middle of the room so there was no coverage for the windows. Door to sink area was broken and missing door panels did not allow any privacy. Queen beds and bedspread were colorful. Beds were okay and fairly comfortable. Desk adequate. Staff were not friendly.
5 out of 5
by Hope from Missouri

Great value for your money

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels
The Inn is older, however it is well maintained. The owners were super nice and helpful. Our only complaint was the heater was the window type and it dried out our sinus so bad. Need some type of humidifier in the winter to add moisture in the air. However for the money I would stay again!!