Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
28% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington nc

Bad bad

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Well meldew smell. Renovation stuff all over the place. MICE... Yes a mouse was running around our room. Sheets had stains on them..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake, VA

Did not feel safe

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Cons: Would recommend a security officer be hired. Also, would recommend that repairs would commence to the common areas.
Location: Burlington, NC is a very nice small city with a great university--Elon University. Unfortunately, this particular exit was not as nice.
I was drawn to the picture of one of the rooms on the Expedia site, and the room itself was relatively clean (although there were some patched up holes in the walls). Unfortunately, however, the actual hotel experience was much more disappointing. The condition of the hotel revealed a facility in disrepair and deterioration. Moreover, I literally did not feel safe--either that my car would be safe in the parking lot, or that I would personally be safe in my room. I would highly recommend that the hotel would consider hiring a security officer so that certain kinds of patrons would be discouraged from frequenting this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, NC

Gross

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Smelled of sewage all over, no light bulbs, flies, trash found in room next to bed and end table, lipstick on bathroom wall, stained carpets and ceilings, super slick bathroom floors, cigarette burns on walls, no a.c. for hotel staff, torn furniture, very uncomfy beds and pillows, markings carved into headboard, just all around gross. Had to be moved from one room due to flies because housekeeping left the window open, next room was even worse. Very poor lighting all around entire hotel outside. I've stayed at Red Roof Inns, quite a bit. This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in all around though.
1 out of 5
by Angel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by kenith

Fuk Burlington red roof inn.

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
The manager guy was rude about check out. We stayed for 5 days spent alot of money there and he called the cops cause we checked out late.
1 out of 5
by Randy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by William

Grandson's Birthday

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
The air conditoiner was very loud . There was a leak in the ceiling outside our room .
3 out of 5
by Richard

Needs Updating Badly

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Went to Burlington for a softball tournament without the wife. Would never have stayed there if she accompanied me as the place was run down and needs a major renovation to make the rooms comparable to other moderately priced hotels. While the king room was huge, I had trouble locating outlets for my phone and the clock radio that had not been plugged in. The towels were of a very low quality. No breakfast of any type and absolutely no food available on site. The area is surrounded by fast food joints - but no decent restaurants without getting back on the interstate. Bottom line - you get what you pay for as the rate I paid was $49. I would not stay there again. The main positive was its location off of the interstate and the friendly and helpful staff at the front desk.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Nasty. The pictures are very deveiving

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The people, staff only. Management should be ashamed and embarrassed to walk in every day.
Cons: EVERYTHING about this place needs fixing
Location: It is convenient to the highway, which also means the riff raff. We were confronted in the parking lot by a druggy.
First, I have to say that the staff I encountered were very pleasant and this is not about them - with the exception of the owner and manager who should be ashamed of themselves. The hotel is in utter disrepair. The restaurant/lounge, conference rooms, restrooms in public places, ice machines, and other amenities are either missing or broken. The outside doors do not have working locks (i.e., no security); half of the outside cameras don't work. The lights are burned out in most outdoor fixtures. My son and I were confronted in the unlit parking lot by a man who was obviously out of his mind on drugs. Very frightening. The rugs, mattresses, furniture and fixtures are filthy and dated. Every room smells overwhelmingly of smoke. The first room they tried to put us in had both windows wide open on the first floor. Security is not a management priority. I assume these had been opened to reduce smoke odor. It did not work. Even the "non-smoking" rooms are gross. The only redeeming quality is that the people are nice enough. Don't book through Expedia since they will not represent you when you call to rectify the situation. I'll sleep in my car over this place!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay more for quality unless just sleeping here

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Stayed in room # 172. Toilet not fully anchored to the floor. Recliner couch needs to be thrown out - irreparably stained and dirty. A really dated facility for room layout and quality of interior. Staff seems nice and conscientious- but that does not make up for comfort of stay. The locks on exterior doors to the building need fixing - faux key code access but anyone can just walk in at any hours of the day. Likely a deal breaker for any security paranoid travelers.