Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

nice hotel close to where we had to be

Posted Sep 22, 2017
we were in vancouver for a family wedding and the hotel held our room even though we arrived very late and everything was close for us, the kitchen was great and it was nice to relax by the pool .. we also enjoyed a late check out since our flight out was also late at night ,the breakfast was excellent and had everything one could expect ,,,had a very enjoyable time thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Diane, Thank you very much for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Burnaby Hotel & Conference Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs, from holding your room to providing you with a late checkout, and that you were also able to take advantage of our hotel's location and complimentary amenities during your stay (i.e., breakfast, seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool). It is great to read that you had a very enjoyable time. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back for another stay soon! Kind regards, Andrea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, USA

Nice location and good breakfast

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Location and breakfast
Cons: Having Non-Smoking room as well as to avoid somke at the public spaces in front of the rooms
Location: Several restaurants and a mall to shop
My only concern was that I fogot my small briefcase with some documentation on my room's round table and the Hotel staff did not give me an answer. Therefore, I missed at the moment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Nice hotel, good price. Free parking and it is close to the room. Continental breakfast is quite nice, above and beyond the standard fare.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at BEST WESTERN PLUS Burnaby Hotel & Conference Centre. Thank you for your kind comments, and for highlighting aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, such as our complimentary parking and buffet-style breakfast. I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be nice and at a good price. We are currently in the process of adding a coffee shop to our hotel's lobby, so I hope you are looking forward to experiencing it soon! Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you back for another visit in the near future. Kind regards, Andrea
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Squamish

Best Western Plus Burnaby

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The room itself is spacious however the shower was dirty. The tub was clean enough but the walls had red mildew and black mold. The guests that checked in directly above us had a young child that ran across the floor ALL NIGHT! Other guests were smoking and drinking right outside our door on the terrace outside the pool until the wee hours. Front desk could NOT adjust my bill as this was an EXPEDIA booking and management did not follow-up as was expected and relayed by front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Anneke, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience at our property. I am very sorry to learn that we did not exceed your expectations on this visit. On behalf of the entire team, please accept my sincerest apologies. I have passed your comments onto our maintenance team to remove the mould and mildew. Rest assured that this is not our usual standard. With regard to the noise issue you encountered throughout the night and the wee hours of the morning, had you called our front desk staff at the time to let them know about the noise complaint you had, we could have sent someone to speak with the various guests to remind them to be respectful of other guests. In the future, please do not hesitate to let us know immediately as we wish our guests to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay; we have staff members available at our front desk 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to assist you with any questions, issues, or concerns you may have. Unfortunately, we cannot adjust your bill as this was booked through Expedia, a third-party channel. For issues, questions, or concerns with your billing, please contact them directly to have it resolved. I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back for another stay, so we can better serve you. Kind regards, Andrea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Comox Valley

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Close to shopping and transit. The hotel has had an upgrade and needs a new cover photo. Much better than it looks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Bella, Thank you very much for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Burnaby Hotel & Conference Centre. We appreciate you highlighting our hotel's location, which is close to shopping and transit, as well as a variety of restaurants and eateries. We have hired a professional team of photographers to come and photograph our property, and are currently waiting for them to show up. The approximate date we were given is later this year in November. Thank you for your patience and understanding during this period! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to your next visit soon! Kind regards, Andrea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burnaby

Close to a wedding we were attenfing

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We arrived earlier than the hotel allows for checking in. 3 is check in time our wedding was at 2..we caught an early ferry so we could be at the wedding on time and needed to change. Beverly asked cleaning staff to clean our room so we could get in at noon. It was so wonderful sheand staff did their best to get in our room earlier than normal. Long is very sparse and unwelcoming. Room above us was nosy until four am then again at seven. Had a poor sleep because of that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Val, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience at BEST WESTERN PLUS Burnaby Hotel & Conference Centre. Providing our guests with a superior level of customer service to ensure that they have a comfortable and enjoyable stay is important to us, so I am delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate your early check in so you could arrive at the wedding on time. I am sorry to hear that you find our lobby to be very sparse and unwelcoming. That said, I am pleased to inform you that we are in the process of adding a coffee shop to our hotel's lobby, so I hope you are looking forward to experiencing the completed product soon. I am terribly sorry to hear that you had a poor night's sleep. Although we have soundproofed the walls in each guest room, you may still hear some noise when we are at full capacity. For a quieter stay, you can request to have a room on the second floor and near the back of the hotel. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay soon! Kind regards, Andrea
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa/Cornwall, ON

Excellent!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, and good service, always ready to help.
Cons: The next time I will ask for room closer to the front as we were older, but otherwise excellent. I have taken cards to give to my family.
Location: WE went to the White Spot Restaurant which we enjoyed, the safeway grocery store, also the sky train, and very economic to take and it brings us town.
There was a good and filling breakfast before our day to certain activities. Close to the sky Train where we could go uptown and not worried about parking. Very clean, our maid was very nice to talk to and our requests were filled out meaning cleaning towels, had a microwave in the room as we had asked for it. Very polite at the desk entrance,. Overall excellent! The safeway for snacks was close. Went swimming and pool was very clean also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Yolande, Thank you very much for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Burnaby Hotel & Conference Centre. It is great to see that you could take advantage of our hotel's various amenities during your stay as well as our hotel's central location. We are within walking distance of shopping, dining, and transit options (bus and SkyTrain). We are a short 10-minute walk away from Royal Oak Station for direct SkyTrain access. Alternatively, we have a bus stop right outside of our hotel where guests can board the 106 Metrotown Stn bus and arrive at Metrotown Station for SkyTrain transfer in about 8 minutes. Guests can easily travel around Metro Vancouver and visit sites of interest by SkyTrain. I am sorry to hear that you did not get a room closer to the front of the hotel. On your next visit, please do not hesitate to request a room closer to the front when booking your reservation. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay soon! Kind regards, Andrea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Good place to sleep

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Breakfast needs more gluten free items. Fortunately there are nearby restaurants with more options for those with celiac disease.
Location: 1 km from Skytrain, fairly central for driving anywhere.
We were in town for a concert and this motel is 1 km from a Skytrain station, which meant we didn't need to worry about parking or traffic near the venue. Staying in Burnaby instead of Vancouver also saved us $$. The location is fairly central and we could either take a train or drive anywhere we wanted to go. The room was small--essentially a bed, an armoire that held the mini fridge, and a bathroom. However, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. If you are planning to be busy during the day and just need a place to crash, this is a decent place for that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, Thank you for highlighting our hotel's location. Because we are located on a main traffic artery and are also close to shopping, dining, and transit options, it means our guests can easily travel throughout the Metro Vancouver area either by car or by transit (SkyTrain and bus). We are only a short 2-minute drive, an 8-minute bus ride or a 15-minute walk away from Metropolis at Metrotown, Canada’s third-largest shopping mall. I am delighted to learn that you also enjoyed the room, and found the bed to be comfortable. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I hope you enjoyed the concert! Kind regards, Andrea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olathe, KS

Great location and value

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Very convenient location with a great selection of restaurants nearby. Close to Skytrain. Good value with breakfast included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Caroline, Thank you very much for your review. Our hotel's location is indeed convenient for our guests as we are within walking distance to shopping, dining, and transit access (bus and SkyTrain). I am delighted that you could take advantage of our hotel's location, and appreciate you highlighting our complimentary breakfast to be of good value. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Andrea
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kimberley, BC

nice hotel close to the wedding we were attending

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: location, staff, clean, pet friendly
Location: we were just there for a wedding
short but sweet stay,it was a good location for us, affordable, and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Cathy, Thank you very much for reviewing your recent experience at BEST WESTERN PLUS Burnaby Hotel & Conference Centre. It is great to see that our hotel's location suited your needs as it was close to the wedding you were attending. We are located in the heart of Burnaby and are close to Metrotown shopping mall, a variety of dining options, and public transportation (bus and SkyTrain), which many of our guests appreciate. Thanks again, and I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back for another stay soon! Kind regards, Andrea