Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Secluded on the Lake

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Loved the quiet, relaxing atmosphere, the clean rooms and the great staff.
Location: Inks Lake State Park, Longhorn Caverns State Park, Burnet, Lampasas, Marble Falls all in driving distance.
We were looking for a quick weekend getaway and stumbled on Painted Sky Inn. We booked 2 nights and, after staying the weekend, decided to add another night. The place was tucked away behind a small, quiet residential area right on the edge of Lake Buchanan. We stayed in the double queen room. The place has been there a while - probably built in the 40's or 50's I'm guessing - but the current owner has really made it into a nice getaway. The room was incredibly clean with 2 beds, a small bathroom with walk-in shower and a kitchen. It was nice to have a kitchen area with dishes, cookware and utensils to cook meals and not have to venture into town. The door to the back patio area is glass giving you a great view of the lake even when you're inside. There are grills for outdoor cooking and steps that walk directly down to the water off the back patio area. There's a fire pit they light in the evenings for guests to gather around. A private boat ramp and a great covered fishing pier that we spent most of our time on. The owner and staff were great and went out of their way to make sure all of the guests were happy and comfortable. We met several guests that come back regularly and we will most likely be joining those ranks! Thanks for a great relaxing weekend & hope to visit again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and tidy

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Room and grounds of inn were clean and kept up very nice. Located on a peninsula so very nice views of the lake. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. I thought there was more to do within walking distance, like hikes and a beach area for swimming, but we actually had to drive to Inks Lake State park and the Longhorn Caverns for that. The inn is located at the back of a neighborhood, so there was no hiking onsite. There was also not a good swimming area to just jump into the lake. Unless you have a non-standard room, there is no private back balcony or patio- it is shared with shared grills. Better for a family environment with kids- not so great for a romantic quiet getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SugarLand, TEXAS

Fantastic view and beautiful sunsets.

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: All the amenities
Location: Longhorn cavern is a short drive. Stayed on the lake most of the time - why leave - it is beautiful here.
By far the best Inn we have ever stayed in. When you open the back door, you are literally right on the lake looking out on beautiful views. The fishing pier was great and my family had a great time with the canoe. LOVE PAINTED SKY INN!!!!
4 out of 5
by Joe Bláz from Brooklyn, NY

Great location on Lake Buchanon.

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
It was a very pleasant experience to stay at the Painted Sky Inn. The location is beautiful, right on Lake Buchanon. They had canoes and kayaks to rent for $15-$20. The room was a nice size. The only downside was comfort, the bedding was simple and the shower didn't stay warm long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin texas

Nice lake view!!

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Too short, would have liked to spend more time!! Husband May come back to fish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Friendly owners. Great view of lake. Incredible experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael from The Woodlands

Clean, quiet, and a great location.

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I decided to take a last minute weekend getaway. Not much was available at the popular spots closer to home so we looked a little farther out and found the Painted Sky Inn. It fit our requirements for a nice location and a reasonable price. The owners were beyond friendly and very helpful with recommendations of things to do and places to eat. The Inn is located right on the shore of Lake Buchanan with a spectacular view of the lake. The mile long drive in from the local ranch road was amazing as we literally saw about a hundred deer grazing in the yards of the lake houses lining the road. The rooms were a bit spartan and plain but they all had full kitchens and were unbelievably CLEAN. The only complaints were the over-abundance of lake gnats at night (try not to open your door after dark) and that the water was not drinkable (unlimited bottled water was provided). We plan on returning this fall with the kids and grand-kids when the temps are cooler and renting canoes and boats and fishing off the Inn's dock will be much more enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by steven from Lake Jackson, TX

We'll be back!

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Plan on going back - no doubt about it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend Getaway

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
The location was quite and peaceful. Great hotel amenities and service. Was pleased to notice a detailed binder with various activities to do in the surrounding area. The s'mores kit in our fridge was a great touch.