Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Not the best view from our room (101) but it was certainly very comfortable. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Would return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely room only concern lift out of order

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Lovely room bed comfortable and good breakfast lift was out of order we stayed on the second floor but was offered a ground floor but happy to climb the stairs as we thought better to leave for older guests staying would recommend to anyone nice and quiet too there
4 out of 5
by Ross from West Midlands

Nice hotel for a short break

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was pleasant enough for a quick break in a wonderful area. A few points that could be improved, the larger rooms on the ground floor need a separate private curtain as well as the normal curtain as people walk past all the time and look in. Additionally the windows could be improved as the smell from those smoking next door filters through the windows.
4 out of 5
by Nicola

beautiful setting

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Good value for money in a lovely setting. Ample car parking and very friendly bar & breakfast staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Justine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

A very disappointing stay

Posted Apr 29, 2016
We were very disappointed with our recent stay at The Grovefield, not that the check out staff seemed bothered. When we arrived check in staff seemed confused that we had booked with Expedia and couldn't find our booking. When I showed my confirmation forms we were shown to a room and I expressed my surprise that the room was not as it looked in the pictures (on here), I was assured it was an upgraded room as per our booking form. So we thought no more of it - not the best of rooms and would have been disappointed even if we hadn't upgraded. However when we checked out, they had obviously forgotten we were booked with Expedia and presented us with a bill for the room - priced at £75 not the £100 we had paid and when I queried it the lady was very rude, snatching it and saying "you shouldn't have seen that", this was the final straw after a bad experience at dinner and a room where people were walking past the window constantly so we had to have the curtains shut and be in the dark if we didn't want them waving in, and very little comfort. I would not recommend nor stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London/

Disappointing.

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was nice.
Cons: Enforce your non-smoking policy and give your resident's some privacy if rooms are overlooked with better security on patio doors than a loose bolt.
Location: Cliveden gardens.
I'd been looking forward to a couple of days away from London and this hotel read well. The room I was initially given was lovely - nice view and not overlooked. Sadly a smoker next door ruined that and instead of the hotel telling him not to smoke I had to move. Unfortunately this is where it all went down hill. The first alternative I was given may have been larger but was overlooked by the guests on the second floor, including the smoker - not very private. I was then shown several other rooms which all felt claustrophobic. I was finally given a room on the ground floor with a beautiful view but as I later found out, also gave all the guests walking by and smoking right outside the window, morning and night, a perfect view of the entire bedroom. Not very private. The meal I ordered was beautifully presented but not only reeked of cigarette smoke it also tasted of it. The chef claimed it was burnt butter, but I've never tasted butter like that, burnt or not. The whole of the mashed potato was infused with this strange rank bitter taste that remained in my mouth for hours afterwards. To finally cap it all I had one of the worst night's sleep I have ever had in a hotel and I've travelled all over the world and stayed in hotel's directly under flight paths in some of the busiest cities in the world. Guests banging doors every half hour meant that I was kept awake until the early hours. The only soothing thing was the owl in the night. Perhaps I was unlucky.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get the basics right.

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was largely okay and the staff were friendly. I had two main criticisms - firstly that the shower in the room was pathetic. It took ages for the water to warm up and the water flowing from the shower head was little more than a dribble. To say it was pitiful would be an understatement. A hotel of this class should provide much better basic facilities than this as standard. The second complaint was that having not been given the exit code for the barrier I buzzed reception from the key pad to gain the code as instructed. I must have sat buzzing the key pad for at least five minutes and still got no answer from reception. With cars now queued up behind me I had to re-park my car and return to reception (where I found an empty desk) and finally found a member of staff in the bar who knew the code so that I could exit the premises. I appreciate the receptionist may have been called away but to leave reception unattended for such a length of time with people unable to exit the premises is simply unacceptable. Either ensure everyone is made aware of the exit code at check-in or ensure reception is manned at all times. This really isn't good enough.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Mansfield

Relax in comfort.

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
All in all this was a very relaxing hotel. Perfect stop off in between meetings. Very comfortable rooms with free wifi throughout the hotel. Food was very nice indeed. I will certainly be stopping here again soon.