Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Giles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Bruce

nice out of the way find

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
Very quiet out of the way ,but only 35 mins to Glasgow. Food good basic menu well presented and tasty. Wi Fi is poor and only available in the bar area
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Somewhat remote

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Staff were great
Cons: More comfortable bed
Location: Location is a bit remote and nothing around to do.
Staff were great, room size good but bed not comfortable and inside hotel was run down. All in all it was ok but not great.
5 out of 5
by CJ

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Good clean room. Good breakfast. Next time we visit family in the area we will stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Very uncomfortable mattress poor shower cold room

Posted Apr 1, 2017
waited for reception staff 20 mins on arrival disappointing food, swimming in grease, decided not to have second day breakfast
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice position but badly let down by management

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Nice country position
Cons: Where to begin? A focus on basic maintenance of rooms. A more welcoming attitude.
When we arrived for 3 night stay we were directed to our room in an off-hand manner. The room (no 7) had a double and two single beds. A used towel lay on the floor. Two light bulbs didn't work. Two cups, one saucer and shortage of tea, coffee etc. When we complained we were told the room should not have been allocated and were offered another. This room (no 9) appeared to be much better appointed so we accepted. Unfortunately it became apparent that there were numerous basic maintenance issues including broken tiles, patched grouting, inoperative radiators, damp patches, no extractor fan in bathroom, wall mounted TV off its mount. The "king size" bed was two singles pushed together so duvet was too small and there was no mattress topper, just a sheet. On our first day when we returned to our room, having been out all day, we found the room had not been serviced. Apologies were given with box of biscuits. While at breakfast on second day the room was serviced - but only partially! Completed later. Food and catering was acceptable. All I all, a nice hotel badly let down by management. Wouldn't consider a return visit
2 out of 5
by John

Breakfast needs to be better

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
The room was nice and surroundings no cups in room no spoon breakfasts was terrible ask for more toast as the toast we got was cold due to waiting on breakfast but was told chef jack only gives one slice per person !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay value for money ,nice staff ,unfortunately we waited over an hour for our breakfast and apart from 1 table of 8 guests , who most had been served on our arrival , we still sat about 15 min once they left Patients is a virtue. We could very easily got up and went home
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

Burnhouse retreat is a treat

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel in a quiet rural setting. Nice staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jun 19, 2016
1 person left to look after breakfast very slow nothing being topped up on cereal table info on arrival zero