Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Very uncomfortable mattress poor shower cold room

Posted Apr 1, 2017
waited for reception staff 20 mins on arrival disappointing food, swimming in grease, decided not to have second day breakfast
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice position but badly let down by management

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Nice country position
Cons: Where to begin? A focus on basic maintenance of rooms. A more welcoming attitude.
When we arrived for 3 night stay we were directed to our room in an off-hand manner. The room (no 7) had a double and two single beds. A used towel lay on the floor. Two light bulbs didn't work. Two cups, one saucer and shortage of tea, coffee etc. When we complained we were told the room should not have been allocated and were offered another. This room (no 9) appeared to be much better appointed so we accepted. Unfortunately it became apparent that there were numerous basic maintenance issues including broken tiles, patched grouting, inoperative radiators, damp patches, no extractor fan in bathroom, wall mounted TV off its mount. The "king size" bed was two singles pushed together so duvet was too small and there was no mattress topper, just a sheet. On our first day when we returned to our room, having been out all day, we found the room had not been serviced. Apologies were given with box of biscuits. While at breakfast on second day the room was serviced - but only partially! Completed later. Food and catering was acceptable. All I all, a nice hotel badly let down by management. Wouldn't consider a return visit
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay value for money ,nice staff ,unfortunately we waited over an hour for our breakfast and apart from 1 table of 8 guests , who most had been served on our arrival , we still sat about 15 min once they left Patients is a virtue. We could very easily got up and went home
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

Burnhouse retreat is a treat

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel in a quiet rural setting. Nice staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated

Posted Jun 19, 2016
1 person left to look after breakfast very slow nothing being topped up on cereal table info on arrival zero
2 out of 5
by Craig from Hamilton

Could Do Better

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Used the hotel as a base for a nearby wedding and booked the room using a Rewards night. On arrival, the Receptionist advised that "Hotels.com don't pay us", so we had to pay by credit card. To be fair, we sorted this out with a more competent receptionist the next day. The room itself was very basic, and overall I just felt that there was a "why bother" feeling about the place. The restaurant is nice enough, but again, the staff just couldn't be bothered. I consider myself quite easy to please... But this place didn't
4 out of 5
by Tony from Birmingham

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Staff very friendly and the food was excellent, all round good experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
You are close enough to Glasgow to access everything there but the hotel is rural and quiet and really lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Lovely Country Setting

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: The setting and staff.
Cons: Downstairs rooms could use some cosmetics and possibly a fresh coat of pain.
Location: The location was convenient to numerous scenic places.
Burnhouse Manor was set in a beautiful country setting. Upon arrival the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and updated.