Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A weekend in Lancashire

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: It has character
Cons: With a large suitcase I would not like to heave it up and down a myriad of staircases - good job we only stayed for one night and had small suitcases
The Hotel was given over to a wedding so as we were not in the wedding party we did not get the service we would have expected. The staff were friendly and helpful but there was no children's menu printed and when we ordered white wine it was warm. The rest was with the wedding party! We eventually got some chilled wine after we had nearly finished our starter and this was complimentary but spoilt the first course.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A+

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
We checked in early afternoon, swift procedure and given key cards. We were offered wake up calls and newspapers for the next day. we dropped baggage off and had a quick look at the spa facilities. Complimentary towels were provided along with a key for lockers.the spa has steamroom sauna 2 Jacuzzis and a swimming pool. All staff were friendly and efficient throughout our stay. We were very impressed with our stay and would definitely recommend and return in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Helpful Staff, lovely hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Cons: DVD or choices of film in the room. A playroom for families with, e.g. table football, table tennis, pool table or similar.
Lovely building in its own grounds with a gorgeous stained-glass window. Plenty of free parking spaces. The room was comfortable and clean with tea/coffee making facilities and a TV. Would have quite liked a DVD player or film choices for the kids in the evening. Breakfast was good and plentiful with very helpful waiting staff. Great swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jaccuzzi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

A hidden gem in Pendle

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Accommodation, affordability and the friendly staff
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Conveniently positioned to access the Yorkshire Dales and Pendle area there is much to see and do
Built in the Victorian age as a family home for a successful local merchant and businessman this hidden gem offers a comfortable and affordable accomodation. The staff are friendly and helpful which adds to the attraction of a repeat visit when in the locality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from isle of skye

Beautiful building, fantastic staff

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Staff who are friendly and professional and who actually care. THe building is stunning.
Cons: Not enough staff at breakfast. Long walk to rooms, not a problem for us but might be for elderly or infirm.
The hotel is stunning - wood-panelling, movie-set staircase and stained glass windows. Staff were friendly and very helpful - special mention for Chris in the bar who was lovely and friendly and made a real fuss of our boys. The room was fine - everything you expect - and spotlessly clean and fresh. Not too hot either. Food was very good - we ate in the bar at night. Breakfast was good too, though under-staffed which meant we had to wait for tea and toast. Swimming pool was an added bonus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
mattress was a little bit soft, pillows were a bit hard, otherwise perfect
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely location lovely views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Staff were excellent!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Great little hotel in Burnley, the staff were excellent from reception to breakfast staff - all very friendly and helpful.