Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Helpful Staff, lovely hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Cons: DVD or choices of film in the room. A playroom for families with, e.g. table football, table tennis, pool table or similar.
Lovely building in its own grounds with a gorgeous stained-glass window. Plenty of free parking spaces. The room was comfortable and clean with tea/coffee making facilities and a TV. Would have quite liked a DVD player or film choices for the kids in the evening. Breakfast was good and plentiful with very helpful waiting staff. Great swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jaccuzzi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

A hidden gem in Pendle

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Accommodation, affordability and the friendly staff
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Conveniently positioned to access the Yorkshire Dales and Pendle area there is much to see and do
Built in the Victorian age as a family home for a successful local merchant and businessman this hidden gem offers a comfortable and affordable accomodation. The staff are friendly and helpful which adds to the attraction of a repeat visit when in the locality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from isle of skye

Beautiful building, fantastic staff

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Staff who are friendly and professional and who actually care. THe building is stunning.
Cons: Not enough staff at breakfast. Long walk to rooms, not a problem for us but might be for elderly or infirm.
The hotel is stunning - wood-panelling, movie-set staircase and stained glass windows. Staff were friendly and very helpful - special mention for Chris in the bar who was lovely and friendly and made a real fuss of our boys. The room was fine - everything you expect - and spotlessly clean and fresh. Not too hot either. Food was very good - we ate in the bar at night. Breakfast was good too, though under-staffed which meant we had to wait for tea and toast. Swimming pool was an added bonus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Staff were excellent!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Great little hotel in Burnley, the staff were excellent from reception to breakfast staff - all very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The Leisure Club and the rooms.
Cons: Efficiency/Speed of checkout.
Location: Beautiful countryside nearby
Our stay here was too short. We arrived late and left the next morning. The rooms were full of character and very clean and comfortable. We spent an hour in the Leisure Club. It was great.
4 out of 5
by keith from rochdale

Good place to stay in Burnley area

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
checking in was easy and staff helpful, there was some confusion about paying for breakfast it was not made clear that not paying £10 at check meant a charge of £15 on the day, but was refunded at check out. Wi-Fi not working and signal in area was bad. Overall a pleasant stay with good facilities and excellent grounds / view
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South West

Quiet hotel, lovely staff

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Very quiet hotel, with good beds & decent food.
Cons: If they had rooms with a walk in shower it would be lovely but I appreciate the cost involved in that sort of change.
Location: We visited the Angel of the North & a couple of sewing shops on the way back from Hexham.
The old part of the hotel has a lovely character, but there are lots of steps up & down to the rooms in the modern part of the hotel. We had a lovely dinner from the fixed price menu, we has to be off early so I can't report on the breakfast. Slightly small room but the twin beds were comfortable and whilst I don't like a shower over the bath (I fell over getting into one in Cardiff) (Oh & the shower screen did leak) the bath room was clean & tidy. The pool was small but there was a steam room & hot tub and plenty of hand rails to make getting in & out easier. Staff were lovely, happy to help and worked well together.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
This should be classed as a B&B as it is not what I would consider a luxury hotel. It is dated, the breakfast was awful and there was very little of everything.
4 out of 5
by Shayne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paul from Devon

Pleasant stay.

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
I felt very relaxed and enjoyed my stay,and will be staying again in 2 weeks time. couldn't fault anything.