Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The Leisure Club and the rooms.
Cons: Efficiency/Speed of checkout.
Location: Beautiful countryside nearby
Our stay here was too short. We arrived late and left the next morning. The rooms were full of character and very clean and comfortable. We spent an hour in the Leisure Club. It was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South West

Quiet hotel, lovely staff

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Very quiet hotel, with good beds & decent food.
Cons: If they had rooms with a walk in shower it would be lovely but I appreciate the cost involved in that sort of change.
Location: We visited the Angel of the North & a couple of sewing shops on the way back from Hexham.
The old part of the hotel has a lovely character, but there are lots of steps up & down to the rooms in the modern part of the hotel. We had a lovely dinner from the fixed price menu, we has to be off early so I can't report on the breakfast. Slightly small room but the twin beds were comfortable and whilst I don't like a shower over the bath (I fell over getting into one in Cardiff) (Oh & the shower screen did leak) the bath room was clean & tidy. The pool was small but there was a steam room & hot tub and plenty of hand rails to make getting in & out easier. Staff were lovely, happy to help and worked well together.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North East England

Lovely Old Building

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: It's interesting architecture.
Cons: Nothing
Location: A good location for our purposes as it is near the Leeds and Liverpool canal.
A very comfortable stay in an extremely interesting building. The staff were very attentive and we would stay again. The room was a good size and the bathroom was lively with a bath and shower. The stained glass window and reception rooms were very interesting and worth a second visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wigan

Nice hotel outside burnley

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: It was clean, friendly staff, plenty spaces for car parking. Lovely breakfast.
Location: It was about 2 miles from Burnley. Don't know if anything else around here as we only stayed 1 night and went into Burnley to a show.
In quiet surroundings. Typical hotel style for weddings and parties. There was a wedding reception here on the day we arrived. To get to the bedrooms from reception it was like a maze, up and down stairs, lots corridors, no lifts (as far as we were aware) so you need to be agile!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast Experience

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Breakfast at the hotel was a complete and utter disgrace, having paid a extra 10pounds each for this facility! Having stayed overnight with a private party most of us were looking forward to breakfast the following morning. On arrival we found all the milk had gone for cereal and had to go find a member of staff to fill the milk chern up. The coffee was like warm water and tastless. No salt pepper or sauces on any of the tables, once again off looking for staff for help. Tinned mushrooms cold bake beans endless food lukewarm ! No staff member collected your dirty plates, so we found ourselves balancing plates etc at the ends of the tables. The all experience was terrible and would never advise anyone to book breakfast let alone pay ten pounds for cold food and tinned mushrooms, for that price everything should be fresh and hot. Having aired our breakfast complaint with reception no apology was given let alone a refund for the bad food we had paid for. Having been a receptionist myself for many years...I was amazed at the excuses given to us ! Customers don't pay for excuses ie short staffed nor are they interested ! We left feeling a bit let down with the lack of customer service and unable to deal with a complaint. Lots of training needed in all departments I'm afraid. Mr & Mrs Bradley
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Good hotel and just out of the town. Ideal for a short break.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bordeaux

Burnley's party hotel par excellence

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Staff attitude.
Cons: Stuffy rooms, lack of fresh air.
Location: Brierfield is the posh part of Burnley, close to picturesque Pendle Hill.
9 bogus alarm calls from 1am from young wedding party revellers left a bad first impression on Friday night/Saturday morning. Night staff frankly did not know how to deal with the situation. Apologies and comp breakfasts the least the hotel could offer for a broken nights' sleep in stuffy AC free rooms. Most of the day staff were charming and friendly, breakfast food good, night bar friendly, good standard gym, spa and leisure club free for guests an absolute bonus for a good, overall,value-for-money deal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from suffolk

Where we needed to be

Posted Apr 26, 2015
The staff were outstanding. So helpful with everything & very understanding with my mother who has limited mobility & sight.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Local hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Spent a lovely night here for valentines. Everybody was pleasant and welcoming.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North East England

Just right for our visit to this area.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Please see above.
Cons: The Fire Alarm went off at 0730 AM on Tuesday and again about half an hour after. It startled us, no explanation was given or Fire Drill was expected.
Location: Bus services available outside the Hotel entrance. Walks also available.
We are a bit fussy where we stay and in what we stay in. However we found this hotel exactly what we wanted and in the place where we needed to be. A nice private room where we could relax, another couple of public rooms where we could have coffee/tea supplied by the helpful staff. And most of all a very pleasant atmosphere with every single staff member we encountered cheerful and ready to assist us in whatever we required, be it services or knowledge about the area and transport facilities. Reception particularly were most helpful and were able to satisfy all our needs and requirements.