Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
It was a pleasant stay, Bedrooms are a little tired, with old furniture but the bed was comfy and the shower was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Listed Hotel

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Looked good, great staff, reasonable price.
Cons: Not deal breakers but make up mirror, safe, fridge would be nice.
Location: in nice village with good high street.
Very impressive manor house type historical building set in extensive and very pleasant grounds. Good check in with nice receptionists, very grand lobby and staircase, note: no lifts as is a listed building. Nice reasonable size room a fair walk upstairs from the lobby, room clean and nicely decorated. Note: no safe, make up mirror, fridge. Buffet breakfast very good in the very good in the attractive and atmospheric dining room. Very good stay at a fair price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun family stay.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The facilities were excellent and there was ample car parking.
Cons: The restaurant food was a bit limited and expensive.
Really enjoyed relaxing in the swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna after an energetic day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Lovely building ! First impression wow factor

Posted May 1, 2017
Beautiful building but not a place to stay if you have trouble with stairs as there are lots of them ! Beautiful entrance staircase ! Wow factor Carpets a bit tatty In places Room spotless View well we had a roof 2 foot from the window so non existing My biggest issue was the breakfast staff attitude which was rather rude from one especially
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milnrow Lancs

Great hotel,ideal location for climb pendle hill.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Myself and my daughters aged 16 and 7 had a lovely time. Hotel perfect and staff very welcoming. Especially enjoyed pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel with some minorish niggles

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Clean, Pleasant staff, nice bar
Cons: See main notes
Location: It's Burnley - I was here for the football which is a good job as there ain't a lot else here.
Two main points of concern. Firstly the site claims the hotel is 1.2 miles to the City Centre. The reception staff pointed out that it is a good 40 - 45 minutes walk. It took me 40 minutes. I walk quite quickly (about 4mph) so that puts the hotel over 2 miles away from the centre of Burnley. The other point is right outside room 223 on the outside wall is an air conditioning unit that has a very noticable hum. This will stop quite a few people I know getting to sleep as that aircon unit is about 4 feet from your head. Other than that - nice hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A weekend in Lancashire

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: It has character
Cons: With a large suitcase I would not like to heave it up and down a myriad of staircases - good job we only stayed for one night and had small suitcases
The Hotel was given over to a wedding so as we were not in the wedding party we did not get the service we would have expected. The staff were friendly and helpful but there was no children's menu printed and when we ordered white wine it was warm. The rest was with the wedding party! We eventually got some chilled wine after we had nearly finished our starter and this was complimentary but spoilt the first course.
4 out of 5
by Neil

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Staff got a bit overrun by demand at Sunday breakfast between 9 & 10 am. Ran out of lots of items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Great value hotel, beautiful grounds and building

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: beautiful building
Booked last minute for a family party nearby and enjoyed the stay. Efficient and friendly welcome and great to have access to the leisure facilities. Breakfast buffet on the Sunday morning was ok,
3 out of 5
by Ian

Give it a miss

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
No information given about spa facilities at check in. Large room with a view of the air conditioning units!!. Very uncomfortable bed. Bar closed at 10pm. Breakfast service very slow & most of breakfast items cold.