Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired room

Posted Oct 31, 2017 on Wotif
Wonderful location in a charming country town full of things to do and see. Hard to find eating places mid week other than pub meals. Nice sized room but sadly in need of renovation. Needs "panic" rail in shower and bath linen sadly way overdue for replacement
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Rob, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. You may have forgotten that our well reviewed onsite Jumbucks Restaurant is open weeknights? Guests are made aware of this when booking, with an email sent out a week ahead of their stay, when booking in at Reception, and by way of roadside signage and two large A-Frames in front of the restaurant itself that are clearly visible when driving into the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute booking,

Posted Oct 25, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: bed was comfortable, power points were a bit short on supply, and the switches beside the bed were labelled wrongly Loved the ducks who welcomed us,
I found using the online booking unfriendly, and trying to phone in a booking was impossible! However we were greeted by a real person, very friendly and helpful, so that improved the whole experience. The motel whilst old was clean, and spacious
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Rob, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whyalla

Comfortable Motel

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Restaurant is very pleasant and serves excellent meals.
Cons: Air-conditioners are old and a little noisy. Could do with replacing as this is a motel in high demand
Location: Quiet location
Good service and friendly staff,. great restaurant
4 out of 5
by Lynette

Nice and comfortable

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable and nice motel. No wifi in rooms so that may prevent me coming back for a business trip as I need to work in the evenings but would stay again on a personal trip. Nice setting too looking over the river and nice little town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Not happy at all We didn't even stayed there

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: nothing --I didn't even walk into my room that I paid for
Cons: everything --start with cancelling all internet advertising for deals and then you don't honour it . Have someone that is contactable 24/7
Location: didn't stay -too upsetting/disappointing for kids
Booked family room - king bed and twin bed.. charged $126 (special deal) but when we got there they say we booked only for 2 people --so it will be $210 for the night? manager couldn't be reached .but they say he will contact me at 5pm ...he didn't .so we left Burra that night ..nobody to date contacted me to explain the error /misunderstanding but even when I said I will pay $10extra or each kid it could not be solved..we were just keen to show the kids the history and two beds for 3 little kids and two women would be enough .when my son wanted to use the toilet ..we were directed 200m down the road ..for paying $63 deposit I thought at least a little boy could use a toilet in the manager's office. It was absolutely patetic how the whole thing couldn't be handle differently...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Rob, Hotel Management
Guest booked for 2 guests then turned up with 5 guests. Contrary to statement above, completely unwilling to pay to pay for additional 3 guests (room for this particular night was $170 for 5 guests). Guest advised us that she was going back to Adelaide, no request for a call back was made. Use of toilet in our residence was not appropriate as we had a very sick relative staying with us at the time, suggested use of toilet 100m away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 5043

Pleasant O/N Stop

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Clean, comfortable and convenient.
Cons: Some parts of this establishment could do with a makeover.
Location: Central to copper mining historical area. Close to the Clare wine district. About an hour or so to Morgan and the River Murray. Good eateries nearby.
Burra Motor Inn is a clean, comfortable place for an overnight stop or longer. It is surrounded by many historical buildings and places associated with SA's copper mining boom in the mid 1800's. The Clare wine district is less than 50kms away and makes a pleasant outing if staying in Burra.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Old and not clean

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: OK
Upon entering our motel room, we were shocked to be confronted with what could only be described as filthy carpet on the floor and a dirty bed covering. This was very off putting and made us very glad we were only staying one night.
4 out of 5
by David

Met our needs

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Only stayed one night and motel provided the good budget style accommodation required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Burra

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Lastminute
Nice quiet location, comfortable and clean room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Budget Hotel - budget attitude

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Clean rooms, plentiful towels, choice of tv channels
Cons: Rooms needed updating. Even replacing old duvet covers would start. Have a manager who is managing the property and available for guest requests.
Location: It is a nice place to stroll around the town, enjoy antique shops and good pub meals
We decided to stay here as we knew the rooms had air conditioning and a swimming pool with the hot weather. The room was clean, beds uncomfortable and air conditioner noisy. Manager was busy cooking for a catering job that evening, off site and appeared harassed when people were booking in or asking questions as he would have to walk from the restaurant (not operational on Sun night) to the front desk. We wanted a swim in the pool but had to shower first (policy?) and then ask for the manager to unlock the pool and then walk back to lock the pool. We had a lovely tea at the Commercial Hotel where staff couldn't do enough for you! Very different experience to where we stayed. Disappointed and felt like we were a bother!!