Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Old and not clean

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: OK
Upon entering our motel room, we were shocked to be confronted with what could only be described as filthy carpet on the floor and a dirty bed covering. This was very off putting and made us very glad we were only staying one night.
4 out of 5
by David

Met our needs

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Only stayed one night and motel provided the good budget style accommodation required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Burra

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Lastminute
Nice quiet location, comfortable and clean room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Budget Hotel - budget attitude

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Clean rooms, plentiful towels, choice of tv channels
Cons: Rooms needed updating. Even replacing old duvet covers would start. Have a manager who is managing the property and available for guest requests.
Location: It is a nice place to stroll around the town, enjoy antique shops and good pub meals
We decided to stay here as we knew the rooms had air conditioning and a swimming pool with the hot weather. The room was clean, beds uncomfortable and air conditioner noisy. Manager was busy cooking for a catering job that evening, off site and appeared harassed when people were booking in or asking questions as he would have to walk from the restaurant (not operational on Sun night) to the front desk. We wanted a swim in the pool but had to shower first (policy?) and then ask for the manager to unlock the pool and then walk back to lock the pool. We had a lovely tea at the Commercial Hotel where staff couldn't do enough for you! Very different experience to where we stayed. Disappointed and felt like we were a bother!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Lovely setting and rooms but be aware of these:

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Clean, comfortable room. Ideal riverside setting.
Cons: See above
Clean, comfortable rooms in good condition. Lovely setting with river with ducks out back door. Near town centre but quiet. If you don't want pool or internet then good place. However: Pool made of natural slate that was not sealed properly. Is frequently closed due to grit from slate, manager went out of his way to get it operational for our return 2 days later but ring ahead if you want to use the pool, We could connect to their network but not to internet that was supposed to be the reason for the network. Burra has Telstra and Optus and we use Vodafone so no connection, No microwave -in a room for families that offers an optional crib, If these issues are fixed would be a very nice place to stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darwin NT

Nice for an over nighter

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: location and price
Cons: swimming pool was supposed to be heated -but freezing!
If just transiting through this lovely town then this is ideal - clean and ideally located to stroll around and admire the buildings and parklands. Rooms are a bit small and could do with updating but were clean and comfortable. The onsite restaurant was a tad expensive for what you got - but attentive service and conveniently located.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

DISAPPOINTED

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Not Much
Cons: Attitude
On arrival at 1pm we were told to come back as their computer was not on yet and check is not until 2pm at the earliest, with no other obvious guests we found this a little strange and may be explainable. Returned at 2.30pm on a very hot day and checked in asked why the pool was locked the answer was no one had checked it but we can but you will need to shower first found that rather rude. Next can we please make a reservation for your restaurant tonight no we have closed it over Christmas it is the only time we give the staff a break, we asked can you recommend a restaurant in town for dinner, no I don't know whom will be open, next the tv only a tiny 19 inch and no free to air tv due to a storm the day's before, all in all we will give Burra a miss in the future this motels ownership need a few people skills no wonder the place was near empty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Rob, Hotel Management
Hi Peter. Thank you for your feedback. Our check-in time is from 2pm as published on the website and posted on our front door. In line with public health policies of public pools, we do ask that everyone showers before entering the pool, particularly in light of recent cryptosporidium incidents - no offence was intended. At the time you enquired, we advised you that the 3 restaurants in town were closed and that most of the 4 hotels were open (to which we provided directions) - our restaurant staff take leave for the 2 quietest weeks each year, which happens to be the last 2 weeks when occupancy figures across Burra are at their lowest. We apologize that you chose to visit Burra at a time when many businesses close for their 'down time', and regret that the storm knocked out free to air television across the entire town, and hope you get the opportunity to visit during our peak tourism period (Autumn to Spring).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location and quiet.

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: Pool needs sorting as not truely avaliable.
A lovely little place, very tranquil on the river, woken in the morning by ducks at the back door!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tas

Comfortable

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Well presented restaurant with good food. Spacious room. It is situated in a town which has a fascinating mining history.
Cons: A bit of a tidy on the creek side of the motel.
Location: A visit to the Burra Information Centre for a map of historic points of interest & keys to several sites is well worth while.
The room was comfortable, spacious and had everything we needed for our 2 night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ,Mid North South Australia

this motel would be the best we have stayed in

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: the quietness plus the spacious rooms
Cons: I can not think of anything that could be improved
Location: the main shopping centre is in walking distance we attended the Burra Country Music Festival which started on Friday evening and finished on Sunday
the room was very spacious and very well laid out we had a guest staying with us and not once did we feel that the room was too small I liked the fact the spare bed was away from the main bed it gave us all our own space this motel also had a back door where you could go outside and take in the view as it overlooks a creek I enjoyed sitting out tere early in the morning listening to the sounds of nature for example different bird noises plus the frog noises This motel was also very quiet by this I mean we didn't hear any other guests or sounds of cars