Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful resort on the river!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Great riverside resort with a tasty restaurant on site and an infinity pool! Howler monkeys can be heard in the trees nearby and iguanas roam the ground, which make for a cool jungle feel. The staff was knowledgeable and kind and were happy to assist us in nearby adventures to Mayan ruins, cave tubing, Belize zoo, etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed our stay and will return.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The hotel, the staff and the room were wonderful. Thank you to all that made our stay a pleasure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was incredibly nice, addressing any concern or issue we had very promptly. Complimentary airport shuttle & proximity to airport are the main reasons we chose this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denton, TX

Beautiful, cozy resort right on the river

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Service is excellent! Owner, manager and staff all super friendly. Our room had a balcony overlooking the river -- great place to just relax.
Location: Can book Eco-tours from here. Maya ruins nearby.
We just stayed 3 nights at the Black Orchid during Hurricane Earl and the owner and the entire staff were amazing! We had been on San Pedro Island and decided to move inland before the storm hit. Made a last minute reservation and couldn't have been happier with our choice! This place is a jewel - just about a 20 minute drive outside of Belize City. They really took care of our every need -- kind, caring, and reassuring. We would love to go back under different circumstances. Would make an awesome base to do eco-tours. Great restaurant and bar as well. They had the grounds cleaned up and looking beautiful again the morning after the storm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great place!
2 out of 5
by Patricia from Georgia

Property and Guests Need Attention

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Property needs attention: Electric socket in bathroom broken, three of four lights in bathroom burned our or flickering, telephone in room not working. The "continental" breakfast buffet was lame: no coffee made, no creme, no plates on "food table", toaster warmed bread rather than toast, milk pitcher for cereal warm. "Attention to detail" lacking, with a couple plates of fruit and some "cheese food". Based on reviews, we thought it would be special...fell way short of our expectations. Would not recommend this property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice Place

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: The staff, close to the airport
Cons: Restaurant menu prices
Location: Close to the airport, had to have the hotel staff take us on tours
My husband and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon. The staff was friendly, and knowledgeable. Our room looked to be newly updated and very cleanly. Our only complaint was that the prices on the menu were very high. Being that we stayed there for a week, we did not have much choice. Other than that, everything was great and we enjoyed our time there.
5 out of 5
by C Wayne from Little Elm, TX

Great place to stay!!!

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
I was advised that a shuttle would be waiting for us upon arrival at the airport. I walked out of baggage claims and they were waiting. We were swiftly taken to the resort. We got checked in and were personally walked to the room and shown the property. There were flower petals on the bed and a great view as well. The salt water swimming pool was so relaxing. We enjoyed our complimentary fruit punch drinks at the bar with bartender Sham. Belizian rum was one of the ingredients which made it more special. We even ordered dinner the first night at the bar and spent time with Sham. We enjoyed it so much that we had dinner there every night with her. The food was so fresh as well. Sham even suggested we try conch and it was delicious. We waited until we arrived to book some local tours. We ended up booking everything with the front desk. Rudy was our tour guide for all the tours: cave tubing, Belize Zoo & Mayan Ruins. Rudy knew all kinds of interesting facts about Belize and made sure we enjoyed every moment of our tours. The entire staff at Black Orchid was friendly and helpful! We were also impressed that the general manager was seen several times throughout our stay. She took the time to visit with us and see how we liked our stay. We definitely have Black Orchid on our radar to visit again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Henderson, NV

overpriced

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Transportation to & from the airport. The room also had a nice porch.
Cons: A bit of updating & patching plus a better breakfast.
Location: On a river which was scenic. There was nothing to do nearby unless you booked and overpriced tour.
The room didn't look like the pictures. We paid $299 for 2 queen beds (3 of us) and I expected it to look better. The bathroom was in sad shape (chipped tiles & missing grout) there were stains all over from previous guests. The "included" breakfast was very meager. I had read reviews that mentioned eggs, but if you wanted anything like that you had to pay for them. Nothing was worth the price that was paid.