Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Miri

A let down stay

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Orbitz
We expected a resort and got a hotel...... The only free things available were the pool, WiFi, airport shuttle and bikes. The river was too high, so NO kayaking, rafting or canoeing. Motor boat on site? Yes, for $70 Fishing on site? Yes, if you bring your own fishing rods. 2 Jacuzzis on site? Yes, but they don't work...ever! Free breakfast? hardly, we ended up buying ours. The free breakfast consisted of corn-flex, bread, butter, jam, 2 pastries and fruit. Spa is $60-$135. Other guest liked it, we did not use the spa. The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, so you must eat in their restaurant, buy their tours (expensive!) and drink at their bar: 1 beer was $4 while in other places in the city or on the islands it was 5 or 6 bottles for $10. The staff was nice but offered no compensation for the broken Jacuzzi, absentee fishing rods, unavailability of the river use: no free lunch or a free drink or a free tour. We had nothing to do other then the pool, or purchase additional tours. The worst thing was the deception on the restaurant bill: Under the subtotal is a line for TAX (12.5) BUT it ALSO INCLUDES A 10 SERVICE CHARGE. The next line is the total and then an additional line for TIPS. Most guests assumes tax is only tax, and added 15 tip! Lunch was about $10-15 and dinner was about $15-25 before tax & tip. The food was OK.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from panama

Not the same second time round

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Beautiful setting and free airport shuttle
Cons: Breakfast and continuity of service. Taking care of the pool at all times
We stayed twice with a month in between and it was like a different hotel. First time was very good, second time was not so. On second visit at check in they couldn't find the booking, luckily they weren't busy so phoned to get the room cleaned. We said we would wait by the pool for the 15 minutes they said it would take and were informed someone would come and tell us when ready. An hour or so later we went back to reception as we hadn't heard anything and found the room had been ready a while. The pool on our first visit was green but they were working to correct it. On the second visit it was normal but full of leaves. We asked for pool towels and for the pool to be cleaned so we could swim and they did. The staff seemed to be in training the second visit. Whilst sitting at the pool we were asked if we wanted a drink, as it was lunchtime I asked for a pins colada, she studiously wrote it in her note book and went, few minutes later she returned to say there was no barman so would I like something else. I asked for a black coffee and when it came it was cold. The room as usual was fine except for a leaking air con and there was lots of hot water in the shower. The shuttle to the airport was ok. The breakfast on our first visit was ok, small buffet with, fruit, cake, toast, cheese and small bowl of scrambled egg which was replenished when necessary. The second visit it was pitiful, dry cinnamon scone type things, cake, toast and watermelon, no eggs. Why so different?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near the airport

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel to stay in if you arrive late or have an early morning flight the next day. They provide a free shuttle to and from the airport, which takes about 20 minutes. Really appreciated the friendliness of the staff and the pool. We were upgraded to a Riverview room with a nice king-sized bed and a balcony. The resort is very peaceful and relaxing. It is a good base for exploring the northern part of Belize. Wish we stayed longer than a day. We would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Good bang for the buck

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Bugs in the room, cheaper food.
Location: Refer to the experience portion.
Good: 1. Our airline misplaced our luggage (later found) and the person that picked us up from the airport gladly agreed to detour to a supermarket where we could pick up the essential items. 2. Free transport to and from the airport. 3. Situated along the Belize River, so you can sometimes see iguanas coming onto land to eat the vegetation and Howler monkeys hanging out in the trees within the resort. 4. Burrell Boom Village is quite safe, locals are friendly. 5. Maybe because we were staying for a long time (6 days), or front desk felt sorry for us for having no luggage, or the check-in rate was low when we arrived, but we got an upper floor river view room when we only booked a garden view. Bad: 1. The restaurant at the resort overcharges for their mediocre food (both taste & portion), all main courses ~20 USD, with very limited selection within the village. The closest restaurants (Andrew Chee, Miss Carol's) & food stand (near the elementary) are 15 minutes of walk away or 5 minutes by bike. 2. As mentioned by other visitors, we also found ants in our room. There was also a cockroach (looked like the winged ones from Asia) about an inch long that we had to kill. To be fair, we had food in the room. However since they offer room service there's no reason why a cockroach should be able to come in. 3. There is basically nothing to do near the resort so you'd have to book the excursions. If you want to go into the city by bus there are only 2 in the morning and 2 at night.
5 out of 5
by ronald c.

awesome first time in Belize

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Orbitz
the Black Orchid Resort was fantastic,from the Howling Monkeys ,giant Iguanas, birds,Crocs, it's all there in a very beautiful setting,you wont be disappointed the STAFF was really GREAT and friendly,definitely have to do this trip again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Not up to par with price

Posted Nov 2, 2015
We stayed one night before leaving Belize the next day. The pool was not clean. Food at restaurant is extremely expensive and awful. Breakfast was mediocre, mainly a few fruits and breads. the river running behind it is scary, water is brown and not meant to swim. We couldn't get on the paddle boats because we were being eaten alive by mosquitos. Spent the whole time in our room. Rooms are actually very nice and comfy though. AC was cold, we had cable but TV is the size of a standard laptop monitor (13"??). This hotel is located in pretty much the middle of nowhere. Nothing around, it was boring. We did see some wild monkeys in the trees. Staff was ok. The price is outrageous for the overall experience. Our biggest dissappoinment was that the pool was not clean and it was super hot and humid... My toddler cried because she was promised we were going to a place w a pool. The bouncy was fun but again, couldbt be outdoors because of the mosquitos- we didn't have spray.
3 out of 5
by Scott from Portland, Oregon

Enjoyable rustic getaway.

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly and attentive staff. Unfortunately, only one place to eat which is expensive and food mediocre. Overall, the rustic camp like grounds were very peaceful and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Beautiful river view. Room was beautifully appoint

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Clean comfortable room and good food. Reasonably priced.
Cons: Pool needs a couple more steps. Getting in & out was tricky for us older folks. The one step was very high. Also, continental breakfast could improve.
Location: Unfortunately we only spent one night here. If we ever make it back to Belize we will stay longer. It was central for seeing the northern sites.
Rooms were beautiful. The food was very good. It was right on the river and had pretty views. There were kayaks and paddleboats to use. The pool was nice and refreshing. Best of all was the nightly howler monkey show. They played and screamed in several of the trees around the grounds for about an hour and then quieted down and went away. It was truly something to behold.
3 out of 5
by Nick from Texas

I wouldn't stay again.

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
The $160 rooms are OK, for the area off season more like $80 rooms. We also had a $106 room. Maybe worth $50. Restaurant is terrible. After 2 failed attempts at a medium rare steak we gave up and just ate what was served. Free breakfast we missed but going by the rest of our party we didn't miss much. Bar is dark and dirty. Rum punch is store bought fruit punch and reeeeeaaaaly cheap rum.