Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extra charge

Posted Mar 30, 2017
I booked online and paid I got charge another 100 TL at the end of check out. Will never stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Very nice and stylish place. Very friendly staff. The breakfast place is very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Beautiful hotel in a great city

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Lovely old hotel on the city wall. Easy walking to center of the city. Bursa is also a very beautiful leafy green city with an interesting history and beautiful historic buildings. Hotel staff were so helpful with bookings, a free transfer to the Istanbul ferry, local information and all very friendly.
5 out of 5
by Shu-Chuan from Taipei, Taiwan

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
the owners and staff are very nice and friendly there. They offer you pickups from and to the ferry dock which saves you a lot of troubles trying to find the place. My hotel room is classy and comfortable and the garden of the hotel is really pretty and relaxing. I love the lady owner cause she is such a fun person to talk to!
4 out of 5
by SAIF from Denver CO - USA

Very good hotel- except for one room

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a beautiful and central area of Bursa. The hotel did provide free pickup from Mudanya, where we arrived from Istanbul by fast ferry. My reservation was for 4 nights. Two of which were at room No. 4, which is on the same floor as the reception desk. I felt little to no privacy as the room is so close to the reception area (you can see the reception desk from your bed if the door is open) and the windows are so close to the street level so a passerby can easily see what's going on inside with little effort. I had several problems with the sink (not draining or leaking) in the bathroom. I didn't like the room and requested to change it, which happened 1 night later. The next room I got was No. 6 which was right next to the old one. This room felt like it's almost at a different hotel. It's the same grade but is much nicer. With a bit more privacy and a much better bathroom, we were feeling very comfortable. The room overlooks the garden. The hotel serves an excellent breakfast. It has a very nice garden, the jasmine aroma and the birds singing there were things we'll always remember. I would like to extend my thanks to Mr Talaat and Ms Toba - I'm sorry if I misspelled the names - for their hospitality and customer service. They are very courteous and friendly and we are grateful for their help. PS: the hotel has a suite upstairs that's REALLY nice, has probably one of the best views of Bursa and a beautiful and spacious balcony decorated with nice plants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Lovely Boutique Hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: Comforable beds and way above average plated breakfast.
Location: Great location on the walls of the castle. Walking distance to the bazaar and the Ulu Cami. Very close to the nearby park and lookout point.
Such attention to detail at the Kitap Evi. The rooms are flawlessly decorated, the linens are clean and soft and the mattresses feel like you are sleeping on a cloud. We have traveled all over Turkey and the majority of hotels we stay at (no matter how many stars) have hard-as-rock mattresses. We stayed in a Junior Suite at the Kitap Evi. The hotel is situated on the walls of the old castle with a wonderful view of the Uludag and the city itself. It was quite at night which is a huge huge plus. We were running late from spending too much time at a hamam on the day of our departure and they gave us late checkout as well as a lovely late breakfast. We look forward to staying here again.
4 out of 5
by FAHAD from kuwait

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
A very good hotel if you are searching for boutique style hotel . not easy to go there by car. you need to use 100 step stairs as short cut to the main road . The garden is wonderful. every day is pleasing if you start taking your breakfast in the garden .
4 out of 5
by Nasir from Riyadh

Fabulous stay!

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
Awesome! Surely recommended. I stayed in top floor suite. Even my 5.5 year old child liked the stay! Needs to improve on communication in English, access for handicapped and breakfast options.
5 out of 5
by Ted from Baltimore, MD USA

Luscious Kitapevi

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
It was a luscious experience! Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and very helpful. We even had help in backing our car out of the parking space! The room was one of loveliest in which we have stayed in our travels and the view of Bursa was spectacular. We hope to visit again and a stay at the Kitapevi would be essential.
5 out of 5
by Nur Hayati from Malaysia

Amazing hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel in itself is beautiful and its very near to a lot of attractions. However, the climb up back to the hotel would be challenging for older people (about 100 steps). My mom finds it was the only thing she finds it hard for the hotel. However, the hotel is amazing at making arrangements for pick up right next to the hotel so that she doesn't have to climb the stairs so that was amazing. P/s: to the bookworms, Kitapevi has some good books and I read a jewel there.