Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Kept awake by noisy music

Posted Jul 23, 2016
No mention of an event going on upon check in at 6pm or on the website. Settled down into bed for the evening after a very long day working and music starts thumping under my room, walls vibrating. It continued until midnight! I was not impressed. Reception staff response- oh sorry. Yeah we should say on the website when an event is going on!!! Plus due to the very warm weather, the room was uncomfortably hot as no aircon or fans. Won't be staying here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Tired hotel, no heating, rude staff

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Had high hopes for this place but I was let down. As a regular traveller I see many hotels, but none in as poor a state of repair as this. The heating didn't work, I was given a rattly fan heater to use which kicked out a cloud of dust when I turned it on. The sheets were dusty, my room was not clean and didn't get cleaned. The hotel is dark, dingy and dirty. Many light bulbs are broken and it feels tired and unloved The food was inedible and although I paid for breakfast, I didn't risk it when I found they didn't know what lactose intolerance meant and tried to give me a cheese starter I didn't order. They also put butter on my steak which was inedible due to being so Tough. I sent a complaint email but got a brusque reply. Don't waste your money on this dire hotel. A suggestion to Mercure, spend some money on replacing your staff and renovate the hotel top to bottom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashford

A good English hotel in rolling countryside .

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Its cleanliness and character
Cons: We were happy as it is .
Location: National Trust and the National Arboretum are close by.
We had a very pleasant large room with views over the well kept gardens and was close to the Derbyshire countryside and National Trust properties that we wanted to see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for a short stay

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Bathroom
Stayed in a family room, so one superking bed and one single. Breakfast thoroughly enjoyed by all. Staff friendly and helpful Wifi now very good in the room. Bathroom needs updating but clean and shower very good. We would certainly use again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Lindsey and Mel have excellent customer relation skills
Cons: Customer Service Training to the male members of staff
Location: Bullshead in repton is excellent.
Good Stay, however Staff, in particular the male members of staff, are below Par for service, busy reception desk but only one woman on reception desk with a male staff member next to her, was told to wait and she will help me rather than do it himself. Same again happened when asking for fresh milk on way back to my room, was told to go to busy reception desk and wait in line. Ended up doing through room service, as reception was busy, no one answered call!!! was finally brought up by gent that told me to wait in queue. This hotel doesn't have enough irons/boards. So would recommend getting iron on first night and then doing all ironing in one hit as iron will disappear the next morning!!!!! Breakfast is good, though poached eggs can be a bit hit and miss... Best to explain exactly how you want them, Lindsey/Nena are very pleasant and hospitable as is Mel on reception. Dinners if you don't eat meat is limited at the moment. Recommend hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

To stay here is a must.

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: We were on the ground floor and we never heard any noise even though there was two weddings there, plus a golden wedding anniversary celebration.
Cons: Nothing in our view.
Location: We didn't go for the nearby attractions, but to visit elderly parents who were in sheltered accommodation.
We were greeted by the staff on arrival who where curtious, We were delighted to find out that even though our itinary stated that breakfast was not included that it actually was. Meals were good and wholesome, though we cant quite manage the three courses now, we where treated with an AMUSE BOUCHE! The bar prices were good too. We will definitely stay here again next time we are down in the area, as the cost was not far of that of a budget hotel nearby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Hotel,nice Gardens.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Gardens
Cons: Living local to this Hotel ,we have noticed a deteriation in its upkeep since we were last their.
Location: National Forest, Burton brewing History.
Entrance to hotel dirty, no lift ,bedroom very small ,no wardrobes, room at back of Hotel no view,extractor fan not working, told only operates at set times. Asked what room we have ,told Standard Double , When speaking to reception told them we booked Superior room ,they asked for confirmation of booking, although we were given another room it was trouble we ,at 80 years of age we didn't need. The whole stay very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from essex

Superb Hotel in rural settings

Posted Mar 18, 2014
This lovely olde world style hotel on a main road but feels like you are in the middle of nowhere, Has all the mod cons but with the charm of a country house hotel, The staff are efficient yet friendly and courteous, Would recommend for either business or pleasure, and on top of all that the food is very good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Sydney Australia.

Manor House History

Posted Nov 23, 2013
A comfortable overnight stay after a day driving in the beautiful Peaks district. The property is anchored by a former stately manor house with an interesting history. Hotel staff were happy to provide a history of the manor house and its former owners. It was also a history lesson as this involved one of the many families in Britain of some years ago forced out of their stately homes by punitive death duties. The story of this peppery had a distinct flavour of 'The Manor Born' tv series. In any event modern travellers are now able to enjoy the features of a stately home while enjoying comfortable accommodation while away from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2013