Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Good hotel, could be very good.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Position, staff, plain unshowy decoration, comfortable bed, duvet not too thick, well spaced dining room with view of garden.
Cons: Bin had not been emptied. Food patchy.
Location: Easy reach of peak district. Repton church has unique Saxon crypt.
Perfect hotel for a couple of days. Not much luggage space for a longer stay. Food patchy eg excellent espresso in the evening, but terrible coffee at breakfast. Eggs benedict had very nice eggs, but thin, salty tasteless ham and unpleasant hollandaise. Dinner: mixed game grill was v. good, though the egg was superfluous, but fish dish was overcooked and dry. With more attention to detail, the food could be very good to match the rest of the experience, and would be good enough to go there just for dinner, given the lack of restaurants in Burton.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel service and staff excellent. Some lovely walks at the back of the hotel along the river. Room was fine bathroom massive and clean and modern. Only issue is the bed was rather small and the linin was just about fitting.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel.
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Not one to miss if in the area

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel which we would gladly go back to. Aspect to the rear and the river is lovely. Rooms are compact but nicely done with a great shower. Breakfast quality was good and we ate in the restaurant both nights. Pub food of a decent standard. A wedding on the Saturday meant a greater number of breakfast attendees which put the staff under pressure and it wasn't as enjoyable experience as the day before. We had to ask to have our order taken and when it came it wasn't correct. Took 90 mins overall by which time we had passed 11 am and our key to the room had been turned off. Should be a bit of flexibility. Overall though good value for money
4 out of 5
by Katherine

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
The room was clean but very small especially for the price paid. The bed was also not a full double bed, my partner is tall and so we had an uncomfortable night sleep. The shower was nice having the option of a pressure shower or steady flow shower. The staff brought us an iron & ironing board within 5 minutes of asking and were very helpful with checking in/out. I was part of wedding party, no one could connect to the wifi at all. The breakfast provided was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Lovely staff nothing too much trouble, food was excellent and lovely position, very comfortable room and dining room positioned with lovely views.
Cons: Nothing as far as we are concerned. Will stay again.
Location: Don't really know as our visit was only for one night in order to attend a memorial service at the arboretum.
A couple of problems which were quickly sorted out by helpful friendly staff, ie key card failed to work and we were locked out, a new card was produced. Our room was next to the air conditioner motor which had a problem and kept us awake until the early hours, we were given some money off the bill. Thanks to the chef who made us some lovely sandwiches for our late arrival tea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

It's like being at home away from home.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
A very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Quiet neighborhood. The property is off the beaten path, which makes it a pleasant place to stay.
4 out of 5
by Richard

Riverside

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice, clean and modern hotel. Position by the river is nice, but not located in the nicest estate. Staff were very nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok but not 4 star

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Location, staff, service and food all fine. Bedroom was microscopic although clean, shower room clean but shower door opened the wrong way so it was hard to get in and out. Towels and bedding very thin, clean but not luxurious. Toiletries poor quality. Not a 4 star room. Breakfast was very good. Food in general was good. Staff friendly but a bit overworked so service a bit slow at times. But made to feel welcome.