Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Derby

A Winter Short Break

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The Staff were very impressive at all times. A comfortable bed & impressive wall mounted TV. The shower and washbasin provided immediate hot & cold wa
Cons: Not a lot. It has a fairly comfortable atmosphere as it is.
Location: A great location on the riverside with fishing rights. Local to National Memorial Arboretum, Litchfield Cathedral, Burton & The Old Vicarage Rest'nt.
Room 8 Bathroom & Toilet - both best described as snug (OK if you spend most daytime time out) both spotlessly clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
The hotel was welcoming, the room was great, with great bed, and excellent bathroom. The attached pub / restaurant offered a good selection of breakfasts, with friendly hosts. On the river side, this is a great location, and close enough to the town centre and local attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with excellent staff

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed as part of a group get together and as the organiser of the event found the staff to be extremely helpful from my first contact right through to checking out. Rooms have been modernised to provide a good level of comfort with an excellent shower. We used the bar which served cask ales to our liking and restaurant which coped well with serving our group with preordered food. Freshly prepared cooked breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Thanks to the staff for making our stay a very enjoyable one.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Hotel Which Could be Improved

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel and its staff were pleasant. Our room and bathroom were a bit small but comfortable. We both slept very well in the bed and the blackout curtains and peace and quiet helped. We'd never have known there was a wedding on. Also, air con in the room was a bonus. However, we were there 2 nights and our room was not serviced. There was no soap or anything in the bathroom when we arrived either. The service was a bit slow in the restaurant (appalling the day after the wedding) and some of the food was not brilliant in the restaurant at night. Breakfasts were good though and the hotel is in a nice location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

The decor was very tasteful and the staff friendly

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Nice facilities and reasonable priced menu
Location: nice riverside location
Attended a wedding and it was very professional and they were very caring towards the bide and grooms wishes
4 out of 5
by stephen from plymouth

riverside hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable with a great menu, air con was a bit erratic
5 out of 5
by keith from Wiltshire

Relaxing

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very good staff very welcomeing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely location right next to the river

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Nice place for a stopover with all you need food and comfort wise.
4 out of 5
by Michael from London

Great location by the River Trent

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Great location and lovely, recently refurbished rooms. The service in the adjoining bar/restaurant wasn't great but otherwise a very nice stay.