Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Lovely hotel within beautiful grounds

Posted Dec 15, 2016
We arrived very late but staff remained cheerful. We also needed to change to a family room and this was done quickly. Would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Decent value for money

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Bit more atmosphere, music at breakfast was depressing and not the best way to start the day
Although the hotel is a bit out of the way it was clean and good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

OLD

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Stayed for nephew's wedding. The rooms are very dated, bathrooms aren't great either.threadbare carpets on many of the staircases, awful breakfast, very expensive drinks. Needs a massive overhaul. The rooms are a good 5 minute walk from the function rooms which are quite nice but again carpets on stairs and bathrooms are tatty and need a re- vamp. We paid £94 for a double room with breakfast which I thought was a lot considering.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015
pleasant staff and in the location that we required
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Bravo

Posted Jul 20, 2015
i lived around the area for years and never realised what a brilliant place only one complaint stuffy rooms needed a fan but otherwise absolutely perfect from the facilities to the staff well done x
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2015
Easy to find. Very comfortable and clean room. Originally couldnt find our booking but this was only a minor hiccup.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in own grounds

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Good food, friendly staff and clean accommodation
Cons: Update decor and add a bit more character to rooms and the Reception area. A Victorian fireplace, fresh flowers and a lower desk would be welcoming
Location: Not far from the centre of Bury with direct tram links to Central Manchester and adjacent to open countryside. We were visiting family so not involved
Though booked as a single occupant I had a very large family room. It had a nice view over the gardens and was comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was well proportioned and all was very clean. Furniture and fittings were dated however and reception and rooms were lacking in character. The food was reasonably priced and excellent. At dinner we had to wait some time for our orders to arrive but everything was freshly cooked and as asked for.The staff were efficient, friendly and polite both at dinner and in the morning at breakfast. The range of cereals etc were a little limited but the cooked breakfast was excellent and attractively presented We did not use the leisure facilities on this occasion but expect the price of rooms reflects the facilities available
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice spa hotel close to bury

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pro's: Great feel to hotel, nice staff. Nice pool, cozy room. Cons: construction of rooms. Terrible. Can hear every little noise from other rooms and corridor. Crazy bad trying to get a lie in as cleansers start at 8am sharp with Hoover on. Kind of counteracts the spa experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

no room at my mum's

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We were looking for a decent place to stay overnight near to my parents house. Booked the Bolholt due to proximity. Room was big (included a pull out sofa bed- made up with bed linen!)- and bed was very comfortable. Room clean and quiet- just what we needed. No frills, but at a decent price that we would consider doing it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: NIce quiet dinner
Cons: The reception lobby - a bit stark and cold-looking
Nice quiet dining room, decent menu, good selection of wines, substantial breakfast. Reception lobby a bit stark, staff helpful and welcoming.