Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Not disabled friendly. Should be more clearly stated that there are steep flights of stairs and no lifts. Also no ground-floor bedrooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts very nice but expensive. Seemed more geared up for weddings. A very old, dated hotel in need of re-furbishment. Nice well-kept garden with seats. Car parking limited. only 1 disabled space. Spa and swimming pool open to public and children. Swimming pool very small. Didn't try it because of numbers of people in it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shropshire

trip

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Very little, including the fact that its hard to find, i note that the management have replied to others saying there will be better signposting.
Cons: showers that work / windows that open/signage to find it
Location: Its in a small village, looks nice, with a variety of smaller shops. Nice scenery,
I rate this hotel as poor as we had rooms 4 and 11. I stayed in room 4 and it was hot and clammy/ out of the 3 windows in the room only one opened , the others were stuck / even worse the window in the bathroon would not open thus adding to the heat. finally the shower only had two possibilites, far too hot or stone cold. Yes it did have a bath but i wanted to rinse my hair and then had to use the small sink to do that. I did report this to reception on check out, they were obviously used to this issue, but i got the feeling that despite it going in the "Maintencance book:" it is probably still the same. My brother stayed in Room 11 and he had the same issues, but his shower only did cold and also sprayed out of the side of the shower head. again this room was hot and sticky. So we paid £72 and £58 pounds for basically nothing. I might as well have slept in my car and saved my money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Cons: We understand that it's a Heritage listed place - but why can't a lift, a bar fridge, and an exhaust fan be fitted. And a bell in the bar area!
We stayed here for 2 nights in Room 9 which was classified as a "family room". On arrival the first thing we noticed was the large amount of cobwebs all around the front entrance door to the hotel. The receptionist was helpful, but there were no lifts to our room which was up on the 3rd floor, and with 2 members of our party elderly and infirm, made the 4 flights of stairs very challenging for us. There was also no bar fridge in our room for us to store our cold food and drinks - we are travelling around the UK for 6 weeks with a small esky. These 2 points SHOULD be mentioned on their website. The room was unbearably hot and humid, and the bathroom was unbelievably tiny and like a sauna once we'd had a shower. When we sat in the lounge/bar area for several hours we repeatedly had to summon staff from downstairs to order more drinks. On a positive note, a staff member offered to carry our cases upstairs on arrival, and they stored our coldstuffs in the hotel's kitchen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Convenient hotel in Ramsbottom

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: The hotel is clean and quiet. Breakfast excellent.
Location: The hotel is in Ramsbottom so well placed for walking on the Lancashire hills. East Lancs railway is great for steam days out.
We stayed here between Christmas and New Year as visiting family very close to the hotel. We were able to go walking nearby and went into Manchester. The hotel is very pleasant and the breakfasts were good, they provided a great selection of food and my husband really enjoyed the full English!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, clean hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: staff
Location: Ramsbottom Festival
Stay was fine, staf were nice, friendly and very helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Old Mill Hotel Ramsbottom

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: close to town centre
Cons: n/a
Location: Ramsbottom is a charming town with friendly locals
a little difficult to find but well worth it - good food
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haliburton Ontario

Convenient location,

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: close to hiking great exercise room and pool
Cons: carpet in our room was old and stained
Location: Hiking to Peel tower Lots of pubs within Staggering distance Quiet Area, Quiet neighbors
Great Value, close to Hiking, quiet area, Easy access from Motorways, staff was always attentive and friendly Onsite Bar and food was convenient We used the Gym and pool every day of our stay The area was very quiet at night to allow for a good night sleep
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brandlesholme bury

The night after the wedding

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing could be I proved
Location: There's plenty to do all the shops are only a couple of minutes away
The bar staff were very friendly the rooms were really comfy very clean and the beds were so comfy you could have stayed in bed all day the breakfast was very nice the amenities were outstanding we will stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bolton

Very clean

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Although our stay was only for one night, we were very pleased with the overall standard of the hotel & staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel & Well Priced

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Plenty of walks, bars & restaurantes
Good Location, and well priced friendly hotel. quiet and clean rooms