Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ramsbottom for a wedding

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Easy access to town, very helpful staff, and beautiful gardens.
Location: Steam train!
Wonderful hotel, tea at the ready, and very helpful staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Nice Hotel with Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Everything listed above! Plus, very comfy bed and spacious room.
Cons: Some of the furnishings & fittings are a little worse for wear in rooms- a few of the lights didn't work and the toilet brush badly needed replacing!
Location: Very scenic, with great restaurants, pubs and antique shops...
A great location, tucked just out of the way at the top end of Ramsbottom. Very quiet and a great place to relax. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Reasonable room rate too, so good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chichester

Very friendly staff

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Situation & staff
Cons: Could do with a bit of updating.
Location: Some good bars and restaurants and the East Lancashire Railway.
As we are from the Ramsbottom area originally but now live on the southcoast and had been invited to a family party we didn't want to intrude on family we thought we would treat the weekend as short break, we couldn't have chosen better it is well situated and the staff gave us the usual Lancashire warm welcome and only to happy to help.
3 out of 5
by Susan

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
We felt the place was a bit tired and the room rather cramped. The bathroom was particularly dangerous. There was no mat in the bath which made the bath floor extremely slippery when taking a shower. We put a towel on the bath floor for safety. Similarly there was no mat on the tiled floor. We only stayed for one night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Nice hotel

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Leisure facilities
Room quite small but leisure centre easy to use. Breakfast was ok but quite expensive
2 out of 5
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Dorothy

Convenient for our stay and very easy to find.

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Since the hotel was the venue for a family lunch celebration it was convenient for us. The management had provided a 'handicapped' parking for us, as requested. Thank you! We were also able to access our room on our arrival late morning. The downside was the steep narrow staircases to our room, not easy for two handicapped people. We noticed the lovely garden with its stream as we left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Great staff

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Lovely hotel with a pool and leisure facilities. Room was clean. Shower a bit fiddly-water was either too hot or cold. Breakfast was great. The reception staff were so helpful-they printed some route finder instructions for me when my phone went dead. Thank you for being so kind.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed stay, but staff very helpful

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The staff were very understanding when we spoke to them about the issues we experienced.
Cons: Placing other guests away from wedding guest. Not making them cross through the bar area when its in use. More thorough cleaning. Warmer main pool
Location: Great location near to the main town
Unfortunately our room was not as we had expected - the bathroom window did not fully close, the carpet was coming up and there were cobwebs over the wall lamps. We were in a family room and the pull out bed was incredibly uncomfortable, and bowed so the matress was nearly hitting the floor. There was a wedding on and the bridal party were opposite our room and shouting in the corridors from 6am. We notified the reception and asked to be moved, and we received a sincere apology. When we spoke later to reception, we were advised that it would be better to stay where we were as the bridal party had moved and the family rooms had no occupants from the wedding. At 7pm we amended our plans to return for a nap (having been awake since 6am) to find people in the corridors, shouting, litter, toilet tissues on the floor and the family rooms being used by the wedding party coming and going / banging doors. We called reception, no-one answered but eventually we were put through to the manager who apologised, explained he would record the issues and agreed to a full refund for our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location and old building
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very pleasant location and town although I didn't have time to explore it.
Very pleasant. Comfortable room and enjoyable food for breakfast. Lovely old building with good spa facilities.