Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dereham

A pleasant stay.

Posted Jan 15, 2018
A last minute decision to stay in lovely Bury St Edmunds. Found the Dragonfly a pleasant stay with a bus to the town centre close by +-although it did go around the houses.The room was very comfortable with a huge bed.The shower could have been a bit more powerful but everything else was excellent.A good breakfast with quite a good choice and well worth the money. I may well come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l33 1ej

Hotel close to the venue that we were attending

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Nice clean room and clean bedding very clean hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel ok, over priced.

Posted Jan 9, 2018
I won't be staying here again. Overpriced and standard of the rooms very low. Noisy and very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pleasantly greeted. Told where our room was. Nice sized rooms with basic facilities. Comfortable bed too. Just a shame the tv didn't tune into to any channels. Late checkout too which was nice seeing as we arrived late.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Vintage Motel in Need of Modernisation

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: It's location to our family and the easy parking
Cons: Badly needs modernisation
we stayed from 10pm until 10am the following morning so just a sleep and breakfast. Been here before as family live close by but this will probably be the last until they complete the promised refurbishment. The whole place looks very tired. The single beds are too small and the shower in our room was I regret to say next to useless. Breakfast was adequate. Staff were cheery but they need help to sell this place at the moment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bury st Edmunds

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Very helpful staff, good breakfast
Cons: Rooms really need to be updated in the bathroom area's
Great location next to the main road, a little traffic noise but bearable, nice warm room. Room was good and comfortable, bathroom was a let down, very tired, missing trim from shower and toilet seat, shower only worked at a dribble, ceiling was water stained, room was a twin, towels were only provided for one. The rest of the hotel was clean and tidy, helpful friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from epsom

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Having food available even if only a sandwich
Location: Fine for us to visit the west Suffolk Hospital
as this is a large hotel we were very surprised to be told when we arrived at 6.30 that no food was available because there was a private party! It was dark and very cold - being oldies we did not wish to go out to look for a meal so had a twix and a banana in our room. Not good enough.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: New windows, new heating and wifi available to all rooms, not just a few.
Location: Knew the area so knew where to go.
We were extremely cold in our room. We did not open the curtains the whole time we were there as the window frames were so draughty! The radiator only got slightly warm. We decided to have a meal in the restaurant, hoping to get warm but when we got there, the whole bar area was just as cold. We got in the car and found a local pub instead. They also advertised wifi in all rooms. Apparently that did not apply to ours as it was to far away from reception. Very annoying as we had lots of e mails to send.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Stayed here Ready for Bury Edmunds Christmas

Posted Nov 29, 2017
This hotel is very convenient for very soon Edmunds Christmas market taxi fare was only 6 pound to the centre of Bury
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

weekend away

Posted Nov 20, 2017
very comfortable very helpful and welcoming staff would return