Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The breakfast

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Cooked breakfast over priced and very small portions. Had to ask for butter and the milk jug had small amount of milk in it. £14.50 for a small bowl of porridge and a croissant is over priced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Great Location

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Its great location and excellent staff who tried very hard to be accomodating.
Cons: As I stated above, a mirror near the electrical socket! A table near electrical socket to put the kettle n cups on.
Location: Location great for shopping, sight seeing and eateries.
All staff very accomodating and helpful. The room very clean. The food and service were excellent. Just a negative was the positioning of the electrical sockets in the bedroom, a long way from the mirror, luckily I had taken a portable mirror! The rooms were tidied twice a day and the lovely Polish cleaner was very friendly and helpful. The Portugese young man was also very helpful with the car and our luggage. In all we had a lovely and restful stay. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

A Hotel with Class

Posted Sep 24, 2017
This hotel has so much charm.Lovely view of Bury Abbey from bedroom window.Bedroom was clean and spacious with a very large double bed.Tea making facilities included wonderful coffee which we made with a cafetier.A porter carried our bags to our room and parked our car - this level of service you rarely see in hotels now.Excellent waitress service at breakfast. We will be returning,wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brentwood

Fabulous hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The hotel is fabulous. We paid for an upgraded room on arrival and got room 224 which was lovely. The copper bath in the room and quirky decor made for a stylish stay. The staff were fabulous. Excellent customer service at every turn. Would love to come back and stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spotsylvania, VA

Bury St. Edmunds get away

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: The staff was great especially Sam. He was at the bar and restaurant each time we were there. Our room was large and overlooked the gardens entrance.
Location: Located across from the Abbey Ruins and Gardens and close to the Records Office so we could do some family research. Shopping, museums and pubs also.
We arrived a our hotel a little later than expected and the staff got us checked-in and into our beautiful room quickly. We were able to walk around the Abbey Ruins and Gardens and orientate ourselves with information from the staff. The main area of the town is easily walk able. Shopping and restaurants are nearby if you don't try the Hotel restaurant you might be disappointed. It was great also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Great Location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Good hotel, fantastic staff, room (bathroom in particular) in need of updating as refreshing. Expensive for what it was £350 with no breakfast and tired room. Bed and bedding extremely comfortable and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, England

Posted Aug 27, 2017
The staff at the hotel were very nice and obliging. Cream tea was fantastic, and so was dinner in the restaurant. Our room was wonderful, but some parts of the hotel need refurbishing. Excellent location across from the Cathedral and the start of Market Square. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The ensuite accomodation was decidedly lack luster and badly in need of some comfortable seating, a modernized bathroom and some tlc. The restaurant was overpriced, underserved and the food very ordinary. Otis not worth commenting further.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northants

good quality of hotel with welcoming staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: location was very good and overall very clean with good level of services.
Arrived quite late and left early so not really able to get full taste of hotel. Rooms are very clean but really not of my taste, kind of Victorian meets 21st century with twist of 50's retro ??? I sat on the bed, looked about the room to decide what I really liked and answer was nothing. That is of course just personal taste. Towel radiator in bathroom also made for a very warm room all night. look fantastic from outside and wish I had time to explore the town as it looks all very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ashtead

Great Hotel in the Historic Centre

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: It is a beautiful Old Hotel with great character.
Location: You can walk to all of the local attractions, the Abbey Gardens and the town centre shops and boutiques are all close by.
Great service from the moment we arrived, until we left. The Hotel is ideally placed for all of the historic sites in Bury St Edmunds and the staff were welcoming and very friendly..