Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Excellent location for shopping and parking

Posted Dec 14, 2017
The hotel staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The log fire was homely and much needed on the cold icy day that we arrived. Our room was warm and inviting. We went for a walk and returned early evening to find the hotel all lit up for Christmas, Charles Dickins would have been proud!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Lovely hotel. Avoid the breakfast

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The hotel itself was wonderful. Comfortable modern and very spacious room. Staff were excellent.
Cons: The breakfast must be improved. Just getting the order right and in order are basics. Also the foood at breakfast needs to be improved.
This is a proper 4 star hotel. The staff are attentive and friendly. The room we had was lovely and included a huge copper bath. Very spacious and modern. Although the bar was closed a young lady from the restaurant opened it and served us drinks. However breakfast was a bit of a disaster. I ordered a full english with a fruit salad. My wife just wanted a yogurt with honey.They apologised because they had no honey! For this we were charged £9. Although I wanted the fruit salad first within seconds of ordering my 'full english' arrived which was cold and the egg was rock hard. The toast did not arrive. My fruit salad arrived later after I asked where it was. When it arrived it was just melon with two grapes! When I came to pay my bill at the end of the stay the hotel had charged me £28 for two breakfasts. I pointed out my wife had the continental so they took £5 off. Not good enought.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Weekend Break

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Beautiful old hotel in important position in the town. Warm fire delicious drinks. Tasty breakfast. Hotel porter who was very efficient and friendly.
Cons: Bathroom was a little tired. Chips in enamel on bath in room 22. Better shelving in bathroom as no room for toiletries. Otherwise everything great.
Location: Fabulous location. Lovely cinema where you take your own drinks. Amazing meal at Bourgee steak and lobster restaurant where we had delicious meal.
We stayed at The Angel for a weekend break as we were visiting family nearby. The staff were helpful and friendly at check in. We were early and our room wasn't ready but we were able to park the car in the hotel car park and leave our luggage. Soon we were sitting beside the open fire with nice drinks. Our weekend was off to a good start. We explored the town of Bury St Edmonds which is a bustling market town. There was a lovely atmosphere there and a good range of shops with quaint old building sitting comfortably beside the new. The cathedral and gardens are worth seeing and the hotel looks important standing in the square. Our room was warm and comfortable. Fluffy towels and dressing gowns were provided. Breakfast was delicious and check out smooth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great historic hotel, shame about restaurant staff

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Stayed for one night. The location of the hotel cannot get any better. Hotel’s building is beautiful and although busy, no noise can be heard from the bedroom. Room is nicely furnished with decent bathroom. We were let down by restaurant staff during breakfast, and the restaurant was not even busy then. Took ages for anyone to take our order, and coffee was not delivered until we were half way through our breakfast, and some orders never arrived. When we pointedly it out, the waiter did not even apologise. The other staff in restaurant seemed to also be actively avoiding eye contact. We complained during checkout and our breakfast was waived off. We will still return but perhaps avoid restaurant in the future. There are lots of options out of hotel within strolling distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The breakfast

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Cooked breakfast over priced and very small portions. Had to ask for butter and the milk jug had small amount of milk in it. £14.50 for a small bowl of porridge and a croissant is over priced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Great Location

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Its great location and excellent staff who tried very hard to be accomodating.
Cons: As I stated above, a mirror near the electrical socket! A table near electrical socket to put the kettle n cups on.
Location: Location great for shopping, sight seeing and eateries.
All staff very accomodating and helpful. The room very clean. The food and service were excellent. Just a negative was the positioning of the electrical sockets in the bedroom, a long way from the mirror, luckily I had taken a portable mirror! The rooms were tidied twice a day and the lovely Polish cleaner was very friendly and helpful. The Portugese young man was also very helpful with the car and our luggage. In all we had a lovely and restful stay. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

A Hotel with Class

Posted Sep 24, 2017
This hotel has so much charm.Lovely view of Bury Abbey from bedroom window.Bedroom was clean and spacious with a very large double bed.Tea making facilities included wonderful coffee which we made with a cafetier.A porter carried our bags to our room and parked our car - this level of service you rarely see in hotels now.Excellent waitress service at breakfast. We will be returning,wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Ben

Angel, Bury St. Edmunds

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
Was lovely and would highly recommend
5 out of 5
by William

Our trip to Bury St Edmunds

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very enjoyable stay with helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Ebookers
If you have any mobility issues give this hotel a miss - lots of stairs even in the rooms! Bar access only by spiral staircase. Menu over priced.