Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Comfortable, reasonably priced charming hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2016
I had a very pleasant stay in this traditional-design Korean hotel. It is very conveniently located, near Busan Station, Jagalchi and Kukje markets and the Lotte department store and is excellent value for money--high quality for a relatively low price--with reasonably priced room service, great views of the harbour and windows that can be opened to let fresh air into the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting decor.

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Rooms too hot. Nice swimming pool. On hill but not too hard to walk, bus or taxi. Good location for markets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Beautiful Hotel!

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Staff, decor, ease of travel
Cons: Softer beds!
Location: Right down the street is a popular tourist location called Texas street, with many street vendors. The subway station is also within walking distance.
If the unique and lovely architecture wasn't enough, the staff is what made this place an amazing stay, We never had an issue getting a taxi, and the staff provided a card with English-Korean translations to the taxi driver for where we wanted to go. The rooms were very spacious and clean, and we were walking distance from various types of food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Super bed

Posted Jan 4, 2016
The bed was so comfortable!!!!! The hotel was expensive, but doable through Expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Average hotel. It's okay if you get a good deal/promotion. It is Woking distance to Busan station, pubs, nightclub, restaurants and the new lotte mall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel close to markets.

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: It's classic facade.
Cons: having an airport shuttle available.
Great time in Busan close to tourist areas and local transport. No airport shuttle bus available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Geoje

Korean Hotel close to the 40 Cultural Steps.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The Korean styling of the hotel which makes it unique. The cosy and welcoming room with parquet flooring and balcony area. The restaurant staff.
Cons: Our toilet got blocked and really they should have a sign in the bathrooms telling clients not to put paper down the toilet but in the bin.
Location: The hotel is in an elevated position. Close to 40 Cultural Steps, Aqua Mall, underground shopping, the Gukje Market and Busan Tower.
Very efficient and professional check in. The hotel was full of Korean artefacts and styling which really makes it stand out from the crowd. Myself and my daughter enjoyed exploring the main staircase where two dragons are intertwined up and down the balcony. Plus the lounge area has the most amazing Korean style chandelier which when lit up is very beautiful. We had a semi-suite which was a good size with a well appointed bathroom. There were Aveda toiletries and plenty of towels and dressing gowns. The room itself had a little outside balcony area which at this time of year was nice to open the door to and sit outside and admire the view. Though our room did not have a view of the harbour there were great night time views of lit up landmarks like the Busan Tower and the Aqua Mall. A very well stocked mini bar but no wine! We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel. Both times these were the buffet meal. As the hotel has a seperate Western Restaurant the dinner buffet was Asian food with a good selection of choices. The waitress was happy to open a bottle of wine for me though I only wanted the one glass. Breakfast was a a mix of Asian and Western foods again with a good choice with the buffet being constantly replenished. The service by the staff was very efficient. We also used the swimming pool and sauna which was in the basement area. The facilities themselves were fine though a bit dated. Only one small towel and no seating if you want to watch the kids swim.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not be going back

Posted Feb 24, 2015
I was very disappointed with my stay at the Commodore and will not be returning. My wife and I considered several hotels in Busan but we ultimately booked the Commodore because it advertised a pool and gym area. Unfortunately, when we arrived we learned that the gym was only for men. Also, the pool was under renovation and not open - we understand that such things can happen, although this did nothing to improve our opinion of the Commodore. Breakfast and sauna access were not included with our room. We felt this was quite unreasonable since the room was already pretty expensive. We had no complaints about the room itself. It was small but tidy and well looked after by the cleaning staff. Outside, the hotel is located quite a distance from points of interest. Public transportation was also not easy to reach. Places like Nampo Station of BIFF Square are about a 20-30 minute walk away (up or down a steep hill). Busan Station is also quite a hike, despite its apparent closeness on a map. Thankfully, taxis are not expensive in Busan and most drivers recognized the hotel from the address/picture on the room key (we are not Korean speakers). In short, we found the Commodore to be an overpriced, no-frills business hotel that did not meet our expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice clean and wonderful style

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Cons: WiFi
Love this place. Nice indoor lap swimming pool and close to many activities. Could have better WiFi in the rooms but overall OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Good value

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: price and comfort
Cons: free internet
Location: good location and quiet
Very nice hotel with very good resturant for visitors from the west. Good value for the price, if booked on line.