Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Kukje Busan

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Kukje is a 1960's style hotel that is in great need of renovation. The hotel corridors and the rooms themselves are lined with lovely wood paneling that would make the decor of the hotel really beautiful but for the dirty, stained carpets and the walls that are in desparate need of painting. There was also broken tile in the bathroom in need of repair. The room itself was large for an Asian hotel with a large desk and good Wi-Fi connectivity. The TV was an out-of-date tube set, not a flat screen. There is no thermostat in the room; one can only adjust fan speed and adjust the temperature by opening a window. The bed was comfortable with two extra comforters. Bathroom amenities were limited to a bar of soap. There is a bar on the premises and I could hear the music from it in my room on the 12th floor on a Friday night. Finally, although they advertise a sauna on premises, in fact it is loaceted in a health club two blocks away. The staff was polite and helpful.
2 out of 5
by Jenny from Adelaide

Was probably a good hotel in it's heyday

Posted Jun 7, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel looks like it was nice in the day but it's getting tired. Rooms are a bit dated which is normally fine but the bathroom really needs attention. The shower curtain was moldy which is a pity because it is a problem that can be easily fixed. The tile grout was also moldy. I did not feel comfortable sitting on the chair in the room because it looked like it was stained and had not been cleaned for a long time. Again, something that could be fixed pretty easily. The hotel could easily get a higher rating if they put a little bit of money into renovating some small things (carpet, furniture). Staff were somewhat helpful but telling people to go to McDonalds for dinner wasn't the best tip we received. Seems like the hotel is more geared towards taking in chinese tourists and groups from china. Location was okay but surrounded by quite a few bars but I did not feel unsafe. Close (about 7 min walk) to metro. Would not stay here again - would find another area to stay in which is a bit nicer (like by the beach).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maru from Fukui, Fukui Prefecture, Japan

A good choice

Posted Nov 27, 2012
Old stuff but cheap, clean and conveniently located. Kind staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from london

will come back again

Posted Oct 29, 2011
lots of local interest and small buys. I wished I could stay for another day to explore the neighbourhood.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seoul, South Korea

Bed Bugs!!!

Posted Oct 26, 2011 on Hotels
Do not stay at this hotel! We were covered in bited from bed bugs! It is so dated. It promises a microwave in everyroom, a restaurant, a grill restaurant, none of these exsist. Also, our toilet didn't have a toilet seat. The bathroom had no soaps or shampoo, you had to purchase all those amenities. This hotel has no up side apart from being fairly close to the train station. Stay somewhere else please.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Once grand, but seen better days

Posted Aug 16, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel is conveniently located near a subway and main train station. The lobby is large with high ceilings and gives the impression of once being quite grand. There is a giant gold map behind the reception desk which has been patched many times over the years, where it has been damaged, it is also a very crude map, with no county or city names and only the barest resemblance to the countries shapes. The rooms are a decent size thought the carpets are stained and need replacing along with the bathroom fittings. The location is close to many restaurants, night clubs and wedding halls, a little bit of a mature area and not so suitable for families. It's not a bad place for a night or too, just don't go with high expectations!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2011 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin, IE

An acceptable hotel in one of the worst areas

Posted Oct 6, 2010 on Hotels
You get what you'd expect with this hotel, it is a cheap, budget hotel. The building is old and could use some renovation. Defienetly wouldn't recommend it to families: Turned on the telly one morning just to find soft-porn shown on a freeview channel at 10 am... The neighbourhood is probably the worst in Busan, it is dirty and stinky and very dodgy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brazil

some drawbacks

Posted Jun 9, 2010
The main entrance and the elevators are really beautiful, but the rooms are not. The rooms are large but they have old furniture. The bed receives a 4 score (0 to 10). And the air conditioner was not working as I hoped. Besides that it was good acomodation, near a subway station. And free internet was sweet. I recomend if you are not expecting luxury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joe

Kuk Je is great value in an excellent

Posted Nov 30, 2009 on HotelClub
Kuk Je is great value in an excellent location. The Hotel is a genuine 3 star at a very reasonable price, with simple quick taxi and subway transport, plus good eating and ebtertain,ment nearby. It also has an old style Korean sauna.