Ratings based on 1,493 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montana

My Last Stay at a Quality Inn. Ever.

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: cheap, cheap, cheap...
Cons: STEP UP YOUR GAME, Quality Inn. I stayed here because the Q.I. in Billings is actually nice...
Location: Booked this hotel so I could be rested for an all-day meeting. Unfortunately the lack of sleep and my frustration with the hotel prevented any rest.
It's winter in Montana and rates are low. Here you get what you pay for: Upon entry the hotel smelled like cigarette and pot smoke (not my room, but in the hallway). There must be over 100 rooms here, but there were only a handful of guests judging by the 4 cars in the parking lot. I'm guessing it is policy to rent the same rooms in the same wing each night to consolidate cleaning efforts and heating costs, etc. It would have been nice to spread out the guests a little. The walls are extremely thin and the neighbors who showed up at 11:00PM yelled a lot and entered/left the room next door at LEAST 20 times between 11:00PM and 3:00AM, slamming the door each time. I was able to sleep from 3 til 6. At 6 AM as I took a shower, the steam from the shower set off the fire alarm in the room for a good 10 minutes. I never got a call from the front desk and I'm just glad that there wasn't a real fire or that I was in any danger. Front desk guy seemed surprised and never heard the alarm. I'm bald and there were long black hairs in the tub and on the bed. The bed had a pit on one side and a mound on the other. It was very uncomfortable. The room was 50 degrees when I got there, but with the heat on it got over 80 quickly. I had to continuously manually turn it off and on all night. Hotel didn't acknowledge my "member points" and would not give me a receipt because I booked on line. Light bulbs out in the room. $3 for a soda at the front desk?! Breakfast was fair. Coffee was bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2018 by George M Johnson, Hotel Management
We are sorry you had a bad stay. I will look into the issues you delineate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Problems with checkout

Posted Feb 1, 2018
Was charged cash when checking out and when I got home I found they had charged my visa as well. Hotel put this right after I phoned them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2018 by George M Johnson, Hotel Management
We apologize. I’m not sure how this happened, but I apologize.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Comfortable hotel in a good location and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by George m Johnson, Hotel Management
Thanks.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Bathrooms were dirty, not enough towels, it did have a nice pool though but would definitely not go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by George M Johnson, Hotel Management
Sorry that you had a bad stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

An ok option

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We we're in non-smoking room, however there was an over all cigratte smoke like smell. Room and breakfast was ok. Bathroom was tiny but functional. The door to the building (one close to our room), however got jammed in the cold and luckily we had a guest help us get inside the building. I guess ok for the price. Room and linnen was clean. We were just passing through the town and needed to bunk for the night, so we were not looking for a more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by George M Johnson, Hotel Management
Sorry about the lock. It seems to act up when it is really cold and we can't figure out how to keep it form freezing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta. Canada

RV parking

Posted Dec 30, 2017
The RC parking that was advertised in the ad was very misleading. We parked in the parking lot but when it was time to leave with the accumulation of snow and ice we were unable to make it back up the ramp to get to the Main Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by George M Johnson, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you found the parking to be inadequate
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No pool, or hot tub working

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Unfortunately the broken pool and hot tub were not disclosed when we booked
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by George M. Johnson, Hotel Management
I am terribly sorry. We had an issue with the pool and it had to be fixed immediately. You have my sincerest apologies.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montana

Keep driving

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Cons: Pool and hot tub closed at 9 way to early for adults
The room was filthy. Toilet was not cleaned, there was garbage behind the night stand and bed. The sheets were so wrinkled not sure if they were clean or the bed was just made. I can't even describe the color of the tub, a little bleach. When you walked down the hall you could see how much pride employees took in their work. Every stainless steel door plate is filthy with hand prints, when the door handles are that gross how dirty is the inside of the room. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by George M Johnosn, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you had a bad stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Nice hotel, especially for the price. The room was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by George Johnson, Hotel Management
I'm happy to hear you had a good stay. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Tiny TV. Tiny, old bathroom. WiFi very insecure and weak signal
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by George M Johnson, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you did not have an excellent stay.