Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and poor plumbing

Posted Aug 7, 2016
I booked this place after reading reviews which gave glowing reports. They must have stayed at a different hotel! It was the most expensive but worst place I stayed at in this my 4th trip to Brazil. The plumbing in my room didnt function. The toilet didnt flush properly the washbasin didnt drain and water pooled up in the shower as the drain was above the tiles. The toulet in the breakfast dining area didnt work either. I had to move to a new room which was better. There were quite a lot of mosquitoes and small cochroaches.
5 out of 5
by RUSLAN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable and pleasant hotel near the beach

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Location, individual chalets, view, garden.
Location: Walk to Joao Fernandes beach and other surrounding beaches (praia dos ossos, azeda, azedinha). Walking to Rua das Pedras is a bit farther but possible
Comfortable and pleasant hotel near the beach, and our chalet had an ocean view. Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good, there was always one juice, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, different kinds of bread, ham and cheese, some scrambled eggs, and a cake and/or another sweet treat. Room was clean and comfortable, a double bed, a small couch that could probably turn into a bed, decent bathroom and wireless internet access. Staff gladly provided towels for us to take to the beach daily. The only care I would have regarding this hotel is the number of stairs/steps that one must walk to get to your chalet. If you or your family have mobility issues, don't like going up steps, this hotel/pousada may not be for you. But if you are strong, "young" and beautiful like we are, I don't think you will regret your decision you you paid a competitive price.
4 out of 5
by Tatjana from Toronto

Close to the beach, great view, some stairs

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
Nice location, close to the beach, 20 min walk to the center along a nice walkway with the BB statue on the way :-) Yes, there is a few stairs up to the rooms, but you will be laying on the beach all day anyway ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E Lothian UK

Charming Pousada close to the beach

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Buzious is charming and beautiful and the location of this pousada is perfect - a short walk from the beach in a quiet part of town, but only 5 minutes by car from the centre. The rooms are all little chalets with their own balconies and plenty of space. Breakfast is plentiful and delicious and the staff welcoming and extremely helpful. We loved it.
4 out of 5
by Lindsay Hoover from Carmel Valley

a room with a view

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely cottages spilling down a terraced hillside with beautiful views of the beaches of Buzios...rustic and simple, clean and comfortable...the perfect tonic for R&R after the hectic pace of Rio. Friendly staff, simple service. Close enough to town but removed from the nightlife sights and sounds of Buzios.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jennifer from Washington, DC, USA

Great hotel for couples

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Pros: View of ocean
Great hotel with lovely view. I think it's an excellent property. Very close to the beach and 15 minutes to downtown harbor area. The breakfast is average - nothing great but sufficient. The hotel is very clean and the rooms have a nice balcony with view of the ocean. That view requires a climb up a hillside so the walk to the villas is a bit of a hike but totally fine, except for travellers who have walking or fitness limitations. My only suggestion for the hotel is to better assist guests scheduling excursions, such as day trips, snorkeling, diving. There's a slight language barrier in Buzios and that assistance would have been helpful. Overall, great hotel in a romantic setting - perfect for couples.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience in Buzios

Posted Nov 14, 2012 on Hotels
It was a very pleasant stay. I took my two small dogs with me and all went smooth. The staff was polite, but nobody helped us taking the bagagge upstairs -one of the helper just stared at us but did not offer to help but upon arriving at the door he waited to be tiped.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Hibiscus Beach Pousada - Great Value in Buzios

Posted Nov 30, 2011 on Hotels
Staff was outstanding, friendly, and offered excellent service. Breakfast buffet was top-notch. Nice touches like available beach towels and umbrellas plus 24/7 coffee in the breakfast room were especially welcome. Had one maintenance issue while there, but I honestly feel that the staff did all they could to handle and rectify the situation, so no complaints and only positive marks from us.