Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, close to the beach. Very nice layout of the hotel grounds with a nice garden.
Cons: Stricter enforcement of non-smoking rules. Better care in cleaning up cigarette butts, mainly in the garden area.
Location: Plenty of wonderful beaches in the area; difficult to see them all. "Rua das Pedras" and "Orla Bardot" are two musts for a nice night out in town
We spent an extended holiday weekend with our two kids in Buzios and decided for the Serena because of its location, close to the beach (one block away is the beautiful Geribá beach) and also because we like the "boutique hotel"-flair. The weekend was beautiful and we had a very good time at the hotel, enjoying the nice layout of the hotel grounds and the relaxing atmosphere. The kids loved the pool, although a rather small one, and the kids corner. Food at the restaurant was good, the Picanha was excellent; the breakfast buffet was very complete. However, the staff could be a bit more attentive (e.g. when we were sitting by the pool, they never offered pro-actively any service; yet if we asked for it, we always got what we wanted) The rooms are very nice, however the bath-room is minuscule, way too small. The hotel offers a transfer to the city's restaurant area at night, which is quite convenient. Wifi is free and available all over the hotel with good quality. One negative aspect was the smoking: the hotel is Argentinean owned and there is a large presence of Argentineans in the hotel, which actually adds a nice international flair to the hotel. Yet, they seem to care less about not smoking in public areas and the hotel staff did not bother either. Thus, frequently people sitting by the pool or on the terrace of the restaurant were smoking and it was frequent to find cigarette butts in the garden or in the sitting area by the pool, which was not very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Professional entertainment

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Professionalism
Location: Geriba is a great beach. The hotel shuttle provides the mobility needed to go to downtown and other beaches.
The Serena hotel in Buzios is a great and enjoyable place. The hand-on management make sure the guest will receive CONSISTENTLY a professional and high quality service. In hindsight the experience staying at Serena exceeded expectations - they say what they do and they do what they say. The hotel ambience is fantastic, the food in the breakfast is great, the rooms are outstanding. The service is cordial and the whole crew is well trained to offer the guest an incredible and enjoyable experience. Stress free, friendly,fair cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael from SC

2 Hours North of Rio a gem

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Location: A short drive to Buzios and good dining and nightlife
Overall experience was a 4.5 so I could not rate any higher because of the 4 or 5 options which I was given. Good time and very friendly and helpful staff. Very patient with me as a beginning Portuguese student.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lili from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Boutique hotel, not quite 'resort' status

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, modern looking decor
Cons: Small space
Location: not in a central area, but close to a good beach
This is a mixed review. "Resort" is bit of an overstatement. This is a small, boutique hotel. Stayed in the room they call Superior A. On one hand...Bathroom and room are TINY and futon tatami style beds are very low to the ground..Seating is outside the entrance. Good for a night or two, but any more than that and it gets claustrophobic with two people. There isn't really any place to put your luggage. We did have tiny little bugs (ants but way smaller) near the sliding door and there wasn't really any place to elevate suitcases to keep them off the ground. And from the bathroom, I spotted a very large, local type of rodent walking along the awning. Nice surprise in the outdoor tub and private sitting area. High ceiling helps make the room feel much larger than it is. Tastefully decorated and comfortable for a short stay. Excellent breakfast. Hotel staff are excellent and accommodating. They have designated seating and umbrellas at the beach, which is a one minute walk away. Small pool area. The centro is where the action is, so you need to take a taxi or shuttle to get there. Hotel has a shuttle after 7 pm. Location is not the best, but it depends what you are looking for. on the "would you recommend" question, I wish there was an option for "maybe". I expected more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Good location-But across from the Beach

Posted Nov 16, 2011
I had the impression that this Hotel was on the beach...but it is not...you have to walk a block...and the beach is packed...not private at all. Breakfast was amazing...but dinner was horrible...recommend to eat outside the Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Sweet place in Buzios!!!

Posted May 9, 2011
This hotel is of very good quality for the reasonable price charged. It is definitely a couples hotel, very romantic and quiet, not too cool for young backpackers....they should go downtown. Overall, the location, food, bar, rooms and staff are amazing, oh yeah and again the price can't be beat!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Great hotel, great staff, exellent location and fabulous services

Posted Feb 22, 2011
This is a very chic boutique hotel with many many positive things. Good location Nice food Great shuttle services to town centres and other beaches - FREE Nice rooms with a boutique touch Chic pool and garden surroundings Helpfull staff Definately a must stay in Buzios
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Below expectations - overpriced!

Posted Dec 22, 2010
The hotel is over priced. Not recomended for couples, the standard rooms for couples is really small. The wireless connection does not work and nobody seems to bother. The frigo bar has very tiny bottles of water and overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norwalk, CT

Fantastic

Posted Sep 29, 2010
The staff were extremely accomodating and many of them spoke a variety of languages. The facilities were family friendly without being over run with children. The nearby beach is phenominal, one of the greatest in the area. It's really a wonderful place! The only down side was that the retaurant was very expensive as far as dinners are concerned, but there are many local places to grab a less expensive meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from seoul

Lovely hotel in Buzios

Posted Jul 1, 2010
Room needs little more details, but the service is where they shine. They let us check in early around 8am with free upgrade and one lady spoke really good english which is not common in Brazil. Location is about 200m from one of better beaches in Buzios, but 20 minutes away from downtown. However they offer free shuttle bus to other beaches/downtown, as well as many activities including free surfing lesson! Breakfast was nice, but there were many many bees as it was half open area. We would love to go back to this hotel anytime.