Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Small, over priced room

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Fixtures and fittings tasteful. Comfortable bed.
Cons: Remove shower door. Tea towel provided. More teabags.
Location: Good location, close to restaurants, beach, shops.
Very impersonal because we saw no staff, only received a phone call with codes for front gate and the room. We found the room very small being mostly filled by the bed. No lookout except the window behind the bed looking out on a corrugated iron fence. Fittings were all new and modern. Shower, although a nice design, had an awkward door which meant when you came out of the shower it prevented you reaching any towels so it was necesary to then step into the main room in order to close the shower door! No towel changes or replenishment of supplies such as teabags. No fridge in the room, only a shared one in common area. No on site parking. Could clearly hear noises from other rooms.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canberra

Great room so close to town

Posted Aug 30, 2015
The room was beautiful and comfortable. I had a small issue with wifi connection in my first room and after notifying the owner I was quickly moved to a room with a better connection. The owner and the manager were both super lovely people. Perfect location, so close to town and the beach. Always free parking out the front. I would not hesitate to stay again on my next visit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not up to expectation

Posted Jul 3, 2015 on Lastminute
If I had read the last minute reviews I would never have booked. They aren't positive, somehow, however they have a rating of 4 out of 5 which appears good despite many dissatisfied comments. We expected to have access to the spa and kitchen so were left in a tiny room for two days. I could see the rooms were tiny in the pictures on the website but expected to have other spaces to spread out to. The lastminute pictures and descriptions make it seem like everyone has access to the spa and lounge areas but this is not the case. Shower leaked water everywhere, floor wasn't actually clean - constantly dusting off feet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Not what we expected.

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Not really a hotel or a B&B. Nice room, but not what we were looking for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Convenient location, but very thin walls

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Wotif
The Bay Haven Lodge is in a very convenient location, however the walls of the, very small, rooms are incredibly thin. I booked a "garden suite" room but upon arrival discovered that whilst the room did indeed look onto the front garden, there was a communal front verandah, able to be used by the guests of all 4 rooms in the main house, between the room and the garden. This resulted in us keeping the blind drawn, to save feeling like fish in a tank, when we were in our room. All the doors have keypads to unlock the doors, however due to the thinness of the walls you could hear the manager announcing the pin code for the other rooms, which concerned me. The room itself was very clean but the ensuite was no more than a toilet and a shower in an over glorified cupboard. There is also minimal storage space within the room. In summary, if you are a heavy sleeper and looking for a small room in a very conveniently located then Bay Haven Lodge could be for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Nice place but significantly overpriced

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location is great.
Cons: Price in line with facilities, about half current charges.
Location: Beaches, shopping and food all within minutes on foot.
Very expensive for average hotel. Good location, friendly staff but tiny room, no sound proofing ... you hear conversations from other rooms, lack of amenities and cheap nasty coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Augsburg, Bayern

Kein Hotel. Nur Zimmer

Posted May 30, 2015
Schöne saubere Zimmer. Aber klein und ohne Schrank. Keine Rezeption und mit wurde sehr klar erklärt, dass es sich hier um ein privates Haus handelt und eben nur Zimmer vermietet werden. Vom Pool nichts gesehen und auch parken war schwer an der Straße. Ansonsten toll zentral gelegen.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to town and beach

Posted May 27, 2015 on Wotif
Excellent had a wonderful time staff very helpful facilities just as described
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Don't Stay Here - Deceiving, Expensive and Noisy!

Posted May 25, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: It is contemporary like the images. That's where any luxury ends.
Cons: Everything - not worth what is being charged. Expect much cheaper for this given its noisy, full of mozzies, inconveniences etc...
My husband and I thought this looked very nice (contemporary) and booked it expecting something special. We were seriously disappointed as it was basically a very expensive room in a very noisy guest house. We paid 'alot of money' considering what we got - which was a double bed in a small room with a very poky ensuite (you had to close the door to open the shower screen) and it had one million mozzies in the room. There are alot of rules and regulations which is a pain. There is no parking despite advertised, no Foxtel and a really bad TV (not that we needed that but people might understandably expect or like that). There are four rooms on the ground floor - all will no kitchen facilities (except a kettle). The back one has a kitchen and the upstairs rooms have full unit facilities. The worst part was how noisy it was. Not just people coming and going but the people staying in the top unit did their washing and drying all night and that kept us awake as well as them dragging furniture on floor. After a very sleepless night we left at 7am. Its worth noting that I phoned and checked and the motel across the way is half the price and has usual privacy, proper conveniences one would expect. Also - we paid top dollar as owner left peak prices on Wotif - so if you must stay here - call them direct first. They gave us no refund on that.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

50 m to the beach

Posted May 14, 2015 on Wotif
Great location. Good sized room. Not expensive. Great value.