Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Spacious rooms close to everything

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Size, location, cleanliness
Cons: Maybe a roller blind on the balcony to stop the heat of the sun in the morning, but this is really clutching at straws!
Location: So much to do nearby. Beach, walks, shops, dining - you wouldn't need a car here
This is a great hotel close enough to the centre of town to be near everything but far enough away to avoid excessive noise. The hotel is well maintained and there is an easygoing feel about the place. Opposite the beach it is perfectly positioned to take in ocean breezes with good access for walking tracks on the beach. Plenty of space in the rooms with good facilities for short stays or longer stays. Balcony was quite large and we never felt hemmed in. Thanks for a great stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, close to everything Byron has to offer- only 2 things annoyed me. 1. The cleaners did not check all rubbish bins (reception was extremely apologetic considering the contents of the rubbish bin. 2. Felt the linen on the master bedroom was a bit appalling. (e.g. king size bed with just a double ...stained.. doona for any warmth...no cover just sandwiched between a couple of sheets) Yuk! Luckily not cool enough to worry so just bundled the offending linen in a corner. Honestly just buy a couple of cotton or linen throwovers! Small worries I know but given the cost and competition in the area please step up to notice the "little things" because honestly they do count. Cheers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to everything!

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Plenty of room in apartment. Pleasant and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location excellent

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location excellent on beach front
Cons: A little dated - probably more 4 star. Location is excellent
Location: Location excellent on beach front with cafes/restaurants/supermarkets within 2 minutes walking
Amenities and service fine. Room are a little outdated and need refurb
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, lovely apartment

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Rod the manager was very helpful and was very welcoming.
Had a wedding in Byron for the weekend. Looked at a lot of apartments and thought the Royal Bay apartments was the nicest and in the best location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Rod, Bay Royal, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Bay Royal and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, The team at Bay Royal Apartments, Byron Bay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The pool was freezing

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Wotif
We booked here to entertain the kids easier with the pool but it was colder than the ocean!
3 out of 5
by Nyree from Auckland

Byron Bay

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Just the little things are missing. Although we understand the apartments aren't serviced, if someone is staying multiple nights then just leave enough tea/coffee for their entire stay. Salt & pepper is also a staple that should be in any apartment with a kitchen and wasn't. Nowhere in the bathroom to hang a hand towel. Tennis court is a great asset but your key doesn't open it - you have to ask reception to let you in every time. Pool isn't heated. Free wifi password isn't provided at check in - you have to ask for it. The hotel manual seems to be all about the things you can't do rather than ensuring you have a comfortable and relaxing stay. Although the rooms are quite grand & comfortable & close to beach and main street, this is not a cheap hotel, so if they just did the little things a bit better, they could be five star.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

A bad experience

Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Excellent location, but not much else.
Cons: The apartment we were in was dated (80's style), and had that 'cheap motel' smell when you walked in. The beds and pillows were too hard for me!
Location: Good location on the sea-front, although our view was to the adjacent park rather than the sea. Walking distance to all amenities in Byron Bay.
Our stay was ruined by the fact that renovations were in progress when we arrived. A number of apartments were undergoing refurbishment, and work was being also done to the exterior. As a result, we had constant noise, starting at 7am each morning, despite the fact that work was not supposed to commence until 7.30am. It involved jack-hammering and drilling noises which were heard and felt through the fabric of the building. It sounded as if the adjacent apartment was one of the ones being refurbished. Scaffolding covered the entire front of the building, so that the view from our outside verandah (which meant the entire view from the apartment) was obscured. It also meant that our privacy was invaded by the presence of tradesmen walking to and fro along the scoffolding, immediately outside our apartment. There was a sign on the scaffolding over the entry that said 'DANGER - KEEP OUT - Authorised Entry Only' and another saying 'DANGER - Workers Above'. When we raised this with the on-site staff, we were told that it was stated on the Wotif web-page, as indeed it was at the time of our complaint. We were assured that the alert would have been there at the time we booked, but we certainly didn't see it, and if it was there (which I doubt), it was certainly not prominent enough. In other words...it was all OUR own fault for being there at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location for families

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Wotif
Friendly staff; always clean although undergoing partial renovation