Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite cabin in a great location

Posted May 3, 2016 on Wotif
We stayed in a quite, roomy two bedroom cabin set amongst a pleasant "foresty setting" The accomodation was comfortable but a bit rustic and in need of a face lift especially the kitchen. We enjoyed the communal facilities with table tennis and pool table. .We also preferred to cook our breakfast in the communal kitchen. Easy attractive walk to the beach and a short drive into Byron The new owners are keen and pleasant and well on the way to bring the resort up to scratch.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Rainforestt Resort, Hotel Management
Yes your absolutely correct we are working on the kitchens. Just added Olive olive, Cider Vinegar and Pepper/salt. New benches and bits to come in the kitchen. Thanks for the review, ;-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Needs to be updated

Posted Jan 31, 2016
The atmosphere is beautiful but the rooms themselves need a very good clean spiders everywhere and it definitely needs to be updated
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2016 by Rainforest Resort, Hotel Management
Just bought the place, I think you were being generous. We done a huge amount of cleaning, less spiders even though we are in a Rainforest and Updating bit by bit, New top quality bedlinen since then as well > Cheers
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rustic charm

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Wotif
Good stop over place for the kids. Was a bit of a hike to beach but a unique experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, QLD

Close to the beach

Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: The Rainforest feel
Cons: The individual villa's need a fair bit of maintenance, like paint ect.
Location: Quick walk to beach, right across from the golf club, about a five minute taxi ride into town
Really quiet and serene, nice location. Place needs quite a bit of work
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Rainforest Resort, Hotel Management
Really on took over around Mid March 2016, So we are definitely underway with the maintenance. Many thanks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly maintained

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Wotif
The resort is in desperate need of maintenance. The screen door to our cabin was detached from the hinges, the shower leaked, the seat in the shower was broken with a nail exposed (I didn't need to use it but would be a hazard for someone with a disability), the fire alarm was detached from the wall which is a serious concern when surrounded by so much bush. One of the windows didn't have curtains so would be easy for anyone to see in if they walked around the back. Soap was provided but no shampoo or other toiletries so make sure to bring your own. The pool was a decent size and temperature but fairly dirty. The resort is in a quiet, secluded location, easy to park the car and its a short drive to town (or 40 minute walk). Overall, you could find better value elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Rainforest Resort , Hotel Management
Yes Cabin 4, the seat has been removed, I think you were kind and even , I was a little slow at getting it out but once I realised it was so outdated and useless to a disabled person. I feel you be surprised that is much cleaner and better now. Again my apologies.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Wotif
We all had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We would come back and stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Rainforsrt Resort, Hotel Management
Thanks for the good review . Its a great property and as we have only bought iy recently its is going to continue to get better every month, but bit by bit because we are on the edge of pristine forest and wetlands.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cairns

Nice older accomodation

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Nice place great service, older rooms with minor attention needed to doors and security , otherwise a great spot to relax
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Rainforest Resort, Hotel Management
Thanks for the Review. Its a beautiful property originally designed for total wheel chair access, hence there are only sliding doors. I think there all had rollers and wheels adjusted and there still a couple we have to fully replace. Cheers and thanks for the feedback
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from longreach qld

So different

Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Wotif
This is an awsome experience. Not the newest but comfortable secluded and great surroundings. Staff so easy to help
2 out of 5
by Sadie from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The location
Cons: Cabins & resort were badly maintained, stained sheets
Facilities: Tired; Value: Over-priced; Cleanliness: Dirty; We can see the resort was once a great place to stay & we were attracted to the description. Sadly the place hasn't been maintained.
4 out of 5
by Simon from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: You feel like you're out bush
Cons: Some highway noise
Location: Nice position
Facilities: Modern, tv had usb connection; Service: Polite, very laid back; Cleanliness: Delightful; excellent mode lighting to walk from cabin to cabin