Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Tired but ok

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Great to be able to take the dog with us but the resort is rundown and in need of an overhaul. Fly screens on verandahs are not secure so bugs come in and dogs can get out. Pool area is nice and camp kitchen is convenient and large. Beds need replacing but other cabin amenities were fine. Good to have some staples like oil/salt/tea and coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Jane, Hotel Management
Hi Amanda, thanks for your review, we do value your feedback. I hope you come back to stay with us in the future. Happy Easter Jane
2 out of 5
by Timothy

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
We unfortunately had very wet weather which resulted in significant amounts of water leaking into the kitchen area through the roof. We were warned that there was a leak in the kitchen roof but this was clearly an ongoing problem and was coming in via the light fiting (dangerous) we turned off light and hoped for the best. Cabin could have been cleaner and we had to kill and remove two large cockroaches.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Rainforest Resort, Hotel Management
Hi Timothy, thank you for your review. Yes it was a wet couple of days before your arrival and during your stay, courtesy Cyclone Debbie. The water leak has been fixed. We do have the odd cockroach come in from the bush, we are in a rainforest surrounded by trees, this does not mean the cabins are dirty. We did enjoy having you stay, and hope the rest of your Australian trip was successful. Regards Jane & Phillip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice surroundings

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: The Surroundings
Its a nice place but for the money it is quite old. Still very clean and tidy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Yes the resort is old but we are working hard to improve it daily. We've just refurbished the pool, improving the gardens, new beds in some cabins and updated our cookware. I hope you come and stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great place to get away

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Wotif
Really beautiful time Wonderful vista from the rooms Wonderful walk to a beautiful quiet beach. The best of nature
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I hope you'll come and stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect little hideaway in the rain forest.

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The views, sounds of nature and lack of stress.
The room was very clean and comfortable. We had the perfect outlook into the rain forest. Beautiful to see the wildlife roaming freely amongst the cabins and guests. Lovely, friendly and accommodating staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, it is a beautiful spot. I hope you come back to visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Forest setting

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Wotif
Was reminded as to why I had stopped using Wotif & Expedia, the no cancellation policy. I hope to not forget about this again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Jane, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback. Regards Jane and Phillip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Rainforest

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Feeling like you are out in nature but you have a nice hotel room to stay in
Cons: The bed could have been more comfortable
I loved this place. You cabin is surrounded by rainforest and quite private. At night you could see the stars as you lay in bed and in the morning you wake up to the birds twittering. It really suited me. It is only a kilometre to the beach but it is more of a surf beach than a place to swim. I wouldn't recommend this place if you like the finer things in life. Accommodation is clean but very basic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Jane, Hotel Management
Hi, glad you enjoyed your stay. The rainforest is beautiful. We are slowly upgrading the cabins and the grounds. I hope you come back to see the improvements. Regards Jane and Phillip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Mooloolaba

Great room, great space!

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: rainforest setting, individual cabins and wheelchair accessible
Cons: Just a small thing, would like to see a soap dish or shelf to put the shampoo in shower though.
Really loved the setting of Rainforest Retreat, very tropical and shaded. The room was comfortable with self contained kitchen. Loved the sun room out the front, good area to cool down in summer. Overall, very relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Jane, Hotel Management
Hi Kristen, Thanks for your feedback, will take your suggestion onboard. Regards Jane and Phillip
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great place to stay for a short break away

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The setting was peaceful and plenty of privacy if you wanted it.
Cons: The place is old. No doubt over time things will be improved. Need a bread or chopping board in the unit. It would have been nice to have a spa.
Location: It is near the beach. A short drive in the car will get you into town and the famous lighthouse.
It is adequate for a short break away. The place is old and needs some work. There was a pool and spa however they were out of action probably because it is winter :-). Privacy was good. We were in a studio room and it was clean with one queen and single bed. The bed was comfortable and plenty of extra blankets if needed. Table and chairs were in the outside area covered by insect screens. This was our first trip away with our dog and were extremely pleased it went well. There is a walk through the rain forest and past the camp site next door, through some waste treated water (over the path way) and over a walk bridge to get to the beach and worth it when you get there. Alternatively you can walk along the road until you get to the path but you can't avoid that water before and after the walk bridge. They had some bikes you could use and they had seen better days - all care over to you. Overall it was a good place to get away and close to the town by car. Enjoyed sitting outside and not getting eaten by the insects!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Jane, Hotel Management
Hi Catherine, thanks for your review. We have since included the chopping board in the cabins and made a lot of improvements, new heated pool, if you come back in Autumn or Winter you'll be able to have a swim :). Regards Jane and Phillip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite cabin in a great location

Posted May 3, 2016 on Wotif
We stayed in a quite, roomy two bedroom cabin set amongst a pleasant "foresty setting" The accomodation was comfortable but a bit rustic and in need of a face lift especially the kitchen. We enjoyed the communal facilities with table tennis and pool table. .We also preferred to cook our breakfast in the communal kitchen. Easy attractive walk to the beach and a short drive into Byron The new owners are keen and pleasant and well on the way to bring the resort up to scratch.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Rainforestt Resort, Hotel Management
Yes your absolutely correct we are working on the kitchens. Just added Olive olive, Cider Vinegar and Pepper/salt. New benches and bits to come in the kitchen. Thanks for the review, ;-)