Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel great location

Posted Mar 21, 2018
Had the best time, great hosts who made me feel part of the family. Would definitely stay again! Missing you already!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2018 on Hotels
Excellent spotless accommodation within walking distance of Byron Bay. Fantastic hosts Dan and Maruska. Could not have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Cant speak highly enough about them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Home away from home

Posted Jan 29, 2018 on Hotels
What a lovely surprise Ruskin House was. It is run by a delightful young and well travelled couple who made us feel more like house guests than tourists without being invasive. The room had a very comfortable bed and pillows and was well set up with basic cutlery, crockery & wine glasses even though there are no cooking facilities. We requested cereal bowls so we could have breakfast in our room - no problem. We would have our afternoon snacks / drinks out in the courtyard which was set up with tables and chairs, reading materials like magazines, local papers and cookbooks. (Ben, the owner is a chef - so there was a changing selection!) We also had access to folders of DVDs in various languages from the communal lounge room which we could then take to our room to watch. Although there are 5 rooms (I think!) we felt perfectly at home and had privacy with an independent entry. The location was also an unexpected bonus since we didn't want to have to hire a car for the whole time. We were only two blocks back (= nice and quiet!) from the beginning of the shopping / restaurant strip which then leads straight to the main beach and only one block back from the local supermarket. Byron Bay itself offers lots of walks, pubs, a variety of eating places and buskers for evening entertainment. The vibe is very relaxed, casual and attracts lots of predominantly young overseas people, but as an older couple we didn't feel out of place. Another stunning part of Australia!
5 out of 5
by Jianxin

Clean room and good place

Posted Dec 18, 2017 on Hotels
it is very clean and the place of hotel is so convenient as we can walk to downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017 on Wotif
Owners were very helpful. We had breakfast there each morning and they provided what we wanted and was very good and at a very reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Friendly host, location is quiet and a very esy flat walk to town. Bed was very comfortable
5 out of 5
by John

Quiet location

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly hosts and good location
5 out of 5
by Graham

Recommended.

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Our hosts were very helpful, kind and accommodating. Making our stay at Ruskin excellant. A ten minute walk into the heart of Byron Bay meant that it was a nice quiet place to stay away from the noise of the late night revellers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Exceptional hospitality-very comfortable

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Location, welcoming hosts, great service, well equipped and extra touches.
Cons: A fan in the toilet. Unsure if the WiFi issues were to do with Ruskin House's set up or the town's or server's capacity?????
Location: Close to all amenities on the main street of town and the beach, making shopping, beach trips and feasting on the most amazing foods a breeze!!
After a long and weary travelling journey, the comforts of home yet of high quality were most welcoming: crisp white linen, pleasantly scented toiletries and ample crockery & cutlery with a bottle of cold water, milk AND chocolates in the fridge!! Hassle free booking and check-in, together with hosts greeting us with a warm smile immediately put us at ease. Over the 10 days, Lucy and Gavin could not do enough to ensure we had everything we needed for an enjoyable and comfortable stay. The breakfast of fresh ingredients lovingly prepared and presented was definitely a winner. Ruskin House is conveniently located-a short walk from the town centre, yet it is in a quiet spot away from hustle and bustle. Thank you so much for making our first visit to Byron Bay memorable. Looking forward to returning to Ruskin House.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, comfortable B&B in Byron

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
A very warm and laid-back welcome from the proprietor, who despite the fact that we arrived quite late took the time to offer us tips on restaurants and walks in the Byron Bay area. Our room was spacious, clean and had all the amenities we wanted, including air con, a fridge, toiletries in the bathroom and a good-sized TV. Our only comment was that the decor looked a little bit dated in terms of the style compared to the other places we had stayed, but this was not a problem as it was clean and everything worked. Although we had not booked breakfast the owner made us a nice cappuccino before we checked out, which was a welcome gesture. The B&B is located on one of the major roads leading into Byron, about 10 minutes walk to the beach, so very convenient and we would stay again.