Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D,C

Hurricane Maria

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Nice and affordable close to restaurants
Arrived on a Monday,check in was wrong but fixed right away, staff was good room was nice and clean drinks at the bar with friendly staff,Maria came through and we were moved to the main building Wednesday ,security was excellent and kept us safe ,given free breakfast ,lunch and dinner and ate with other guest in hotel.general manager made sure we were comfortable.....Friday was great beach was nice and clean and check out was nice we definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Lovely hotel on the beach. Great staff, but...

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Great location, great beach, great amenities. Good value too.
Cons: It's crazy to charge for having a guest over. In American hotels, we pay by the room, not by the guest.
Location: The beach! Lots of restaurants up and down the main street.
First: The good stuff: I REALLY liked this hotel. I was a bit apprehensive about not staying at a non-chain hotel like Hilton, but there is no option like that in Cabarete. Still, Hotel Villa Taina seemed to be the best option and I was not disappointed. It's perfectly located on the beach. Exit in the back of the hotel and after a few feet you hit all the bars and restaurants. A few more feet and you are in the warm waters of the South Atlantic. The restaurants on site offered both value and quality. And it's far away from the hustle and bustle of the town's main strip than you can easily fall asleep. One complaint: For two nights, I had a friend stay over. The hotel's policy on this is ridiculous. They charge you 30 dollars per person, per night. PLUS they want the person'd ID card and they keep it until the person leaves. AMERICAN HOTELS DO NOT DO THIS. Who you have stay in your hotel room as a guest is nobody's business. And sadly, the person in charge that day made me and my guest feel like criminals for doing it. He gave off a really weird vibe that was unbecoming of a hotel staff member. That said, all the other hotel staffers were really friendly and warm. But his behavior really disappointed me. He made my guest feel unwelcome and we did not appreciate this. Separately, the pool on premises is REALLY small. But with such an amazing beach, I didn't really care. Bottom line: I'd likely stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Close to beach and restaurants

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The best part about the hotel is location. Beautiful beach, in the heart of the action, enjoyed watching more than a hundred kite surfers in acction, good restaurants. After we checked out, we left our luggage at the front desk for the rest of the day free of charge so we could expend the day at a nearby beach. Friendly personal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Dear Gloria, Thank you for your stay. Hopefully we can welcome you again !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Very close to the beautiful beach.

Posted May 2, 2017
I recommend this hotel. Nice beach. Close to the restaurants.
4 out of 5
by steven

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Solid place to stay with great location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really quite nice, quite nice indeed

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Really quite nice, quite nice indeed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by william from New York

Hotel Villa Taina

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very clean and has a very helpful friendly staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Mediocre--but doable!!....better than average in Cabarete--a bit pricey...to NOT INCLUDE MEALS!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION
Cons: Signage, street access
Location: Cabarete beach offers many dining, entertainment options and I continue to learn more each time I visit.
Booked the stay at the last minute over Christmas. Sherlock Holmes would be challenged to find this place. The check in process went smooth, the room was as advertised, there was no drama. NOTE: there are lots of stairs to navigate to get into the hotel and getting to the rooms isn't any easier. The location of the hotel is brilliant, right off the beach, central to restaurants, bars and of course a world class beach. The restaurant offered a buffet dinner our first night.....big miss, my advice is if they are offering up a buffet, eat elsewhere. The staff was pleasant but the food was like eating gack. Shockingly, we ate there again, the breakfast buffet and a lunch off the menu, had pizza, it was as awesome as pizza can get in the DR but some of the other fare other people were eating looked pretty good. If swimming pools are important to you, I suggest booking elsewhere cause this may be the smallest pool I've ever seen. The bar is great, the staff were very good. If you are seeking, clean, convenient reasonably priced rooms on a world class beach and don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room other than for nighttime activity this is a great option. I wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone.