Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JOSE OCOTLAN from México, D.F.

Estancia en el Hotel villa Azalea, Jalisco, Méx.

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
El Hotel Villa Azalea, se encuentra a 50 km aproximadamente de Pto. Vallarta, está metido en el inicio de la Sierra Madre Occidental, en dirección hacia el estado de Colima, se encuentra dentro de un bosque tropical. Es un grato lugar, dentro del hotel pasa un rio natural, y tiene una pequeña alberca, donde se puede nadar tranquilamente. La atención de todo el personal es muy buena y se come muy bien, las habitaciones están limpias. Si se desea alejarse del ruido citadino, éste lugar puede ser una buena opción por lo tranquilo del lugar en donde se encuentra. Si se desea ir al puerto, cada 30 min pasa los camiones que cobran 23 a 25 pesos hasta el centro, y en el camino a 5 min se encuentra el Jardín Botánico, lugar muy bonito que hay que recorrer, a 15 min se encuentra Boca de Tomatlán, donde se pueden tomar taxilanchas para visitar las playa alejadas de la Bahía, Jelapa es una de los sitios recomendables.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Relaxing atmosphere with excellent food.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The food and peaceful setting.
Location: Close to Puerto Vallarta. Just a few miles from the Botanical Gardens and several beaches.
I stayed here for two nights and would definitely stay again. The staff was extremely personable and the food was great. The organic farm setting is very peaceful. There are several nearby day trips and attractions to check out while there. Close to Puerto Vallarta. I highly recommend Villa Azalea Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by herman from Montreal

Great romantic getaway

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is located in a quiet location surrounded by the mountains. Far enough from the touristic buzzy Puerto Vallarta, however not too far from the great secluded beaches you can reach from Boca by boat or a nice hike from there. The cooking course is fun and a great experience. Harvesting from the local garden and cooking, eating and drinking the Mexican way. The owners go out of their way to make you comfortable and happy. Their food is of great quality. They have a great wine choice and breakfast gets you kickstarted for the day. Defenitely recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a great setting

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Organic food, people and location, Rooms were excellent too!
Cons: Internet service
Location: Botanical gardens, bird watching, zip lines, jungles streams and waterfalls, beaches all the best in the area...
Wonderful people, very well maintained boutique hotel in the best part of Puerto Vallarta. Yes, it's almost 30 minutes south of town, but an easy drive. The jungle area south of PV is awesome with lots of activities, great beaches and tons of wildlife to see. We rented a car so we could explore and easily get back into town when we wanted to. Finally, the meals were superb; the biggest problem was trying not to put on too much weight!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice place in a secluded local - decent fresh food

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Location: Boca De Tomatlon, Botanical Gardens
+ -Very modern upgraded hotel. -Dolce and Santiago are great hosts - really good deal especially with regards to lift to/from places such as the airport. A taxi would have been more. -Meals were delicious and fresh. Some better than others. Favorites includes the cream soups and huevos rancheros. -Great selection of dvds to watch in the rooms. -- -Bathroom smelled really bad - like sewer or mold. -far away from PV proper. -drinks, even non alcoholic, were pricey. -massages were expensive ($150usd for a couple's massage). The house we stayed in before cost us $30usd per person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephanie from Chacala, Nayarit, Mexico

Unique and Wonderful!

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels
this was a relaxing get away weekend and it was the perfect place! It is a very unique property with the beautiful organic gardens. The delicious food is grown on the property and lovingly prepared by the owners Dulce and Santiago! The river provides a beautiful background for reading. The place has many wonderful areas to watch movies and sit by a tree and rest. They have good wines and an honor bar--everything you need for a wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington dc

Idyllic setting away from the hustle and bustle

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Quiet location,vegetation ,food the flowing river
Cons: There was a noticeable smell of mildew in our bedroom.The atmosphere was a little regimented.We didn't feel we could linger over dinner etc.
Location: Close to El Tuito,near the Botanical Gardens
We stayed here for one night before venturing closer to town.We had not done our homework so were not totally prepared for the long drive out ,way past Boca de Tomatlan etc ,a few miles before El Tuito.On the whole,we were impressed by almost everything,the tasteful surroundings,lovely food,nicely presented , gorgeous landscaping ,artistic flair etc.Our visit there was unfortunately marred by the fact that we discovered from Dulce,the owner,that ,contrary to what the paperwork from Expedia appeared to indicate,we had only paid for 2 instead of 3 guests This resulted in a somewhat anxious situation for us,as they would not accept credit cards andthe extra $100.00 we paid for 3 glasses of wine with dinner and accommodation for our daughter,who slept in a less than comfortable cot of sorts wiped out all our cash .In addition.we were terrified of running out of gas -N B no gas stations between PVR and Tuito .We were unfortunately unable to get cash from ATMs in El Tuito but ,thank goodness could use a credit card at the gas station. Due to the restraints of having to take the car back to the airport etc and not having anymore than a very few pesos left over from our last mexican trip.we could not avail ourselves of trips etc that th Villa Zalea can arrange.Because of flight arrival time ,we were u able to have lunch.This little villa is a great idea for those choosing to get away from it all,see some of "the real Mexico"and be surrounded by lovely vegetation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jen from Newport Beach, CA

Jungle Resort for Adventurous Spirits!

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels
The absolutely BEST thing about this hotel is the food. Dulce provides the most delicious food I have ever had in Mexico. Everything is fresh and homemade--I am literally still missing her cooking! Another wonderful aspect of this hotel is the garden. Dulce will take you to pick veggies that will magically appear on your plate for lunch or dinner...YUM! All food is included in your room cost, but alcohol is available for an additional cost. Dulce was very engaging and loving to our 5 year old and even let her feed the ducks! The view from the rooms is outstanding with a private river and waterfall. Two pools complete the beautiful setting and guests are free to roam and explore as they wish. Other reviewers who mention that the bugs are not an issue must be stronger than us because we were eaten alive even with bug spray (which the owner sells). If I go back, I am bringing some industrial strength poison, because it took some of the fun out of this hotel! Some of those little suckers got in our rooms at night which did not lead to restful sleep, although the beds are very clean and comfy. I absolutely loved this hotel, but you will feel that every activity (other than swimming) is going to cost you extra. remember you will be in the jungle nowhere near Puerto Vallarta--this is a destination
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sonora, MX

Muy placentera estancia

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: La atención, la comida, la tranquilidad....
Cons: Hay internet pero no sistema de tv
Location: Cerca está un jardín botánico muy precioso.
Servicio personalizado insuperable, la comida exquisita... Para vivir la tranquilidad que no tenemos en la ciudad, ideal para parejas, sólo hay que usar repelente de mosquitos. Dulce, la dueña, es muy amable al igual que todos los muchachos que le apoyan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jan 6, 2014
We had an overall wonderful experience. We are vegetarians and Dulce, the owner, prepared unique, gormet meals for us. All meals are included in the price. We were there over the New Years holiday, and it was away from the crowds, quiet and tranquil. There is an organic farm and a river to wade in as well as a pool. The room was delightful, with a big screen TV and over hundreds of DVDs to choose from when we were tried in the evenings. The king bed mattress and pillows are the highest quality. I usually don't sleep well when I am away from home, but everything was so comfortable and clean. We appreciate the personal attention and care that Dulce gave, not only to us, but to the other visitors there at the time. We hope to return with friends next year!