Featured Image

Reviews of The Cape, a Thompson Hotel

5 out of 5
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
Carretera Tranpeninsular Km 5, Cabo San Lucas, BCS

Overall score and ratings

4.8

Exceptional

Rating 5 - Excellent. 747 out of 864 reviews
5 - Excellent 86%
Rating 4 - Good. 77 out of 864 reviews
4 - Good 9%
Rating 3 - Okay. 28 out of 864 reviews
3 - Okay 3%
Rating 2 - Poor. 8 out of 864 reviews
2 - Poor 1%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 4 out of 864 reviews
1 - Terrible 0%

4.9/5

Cleanliness

4.8/5

Staff & service

4.8/5

Amenities

4.9/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very nice and relaxing hotel.Staff is very friendly.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Marco Vazquez, Guest Experience Manager on Oct 20, 2021
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to answer our on line survey, it helps us a lot to keep improving or in the case of your comments keep motivating our employees. We're looking forward to have you with us again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful location. Hotel is very expensive and over priced but great location!
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Marco Vazquez, Guest Experience Manager on Oct 1, 2021
Hello Ms. Jennifer, First, I would like to thank you for visiting The Cape a Thompson Hotel and for taking the time to share with us your experience, it helps us a lot to keep improving. We hope to see you soon.! Sincerely,

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Just a great experience from check in to check out! Gorgeous views, pools, and the staff was amazing
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Marco Vazquez, Guest Experience Manager on Oct 1, 2021
Hi Dwaine, Thank you so much for taking to share your comments with us, it help us a lot to keep improving or in this case of your comments keep motivating our employees. We are looking forward to have you with us. Sincerely,

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Hands down best hotel in Cabo!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Marco Vazquez, Guest Experience Manager on Oct 4, 2021
Hi Ms. Lynn, Thank you so much for taking the time to express your experience with us. We will be passing this message to our HR team who will then re-post it for our employees, they will certainly appreciate it. We're looking forward to have you with us again soon! Sincerely,

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
the staff was wonderful
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Marco Vazquez, Guest Experience Manager on Oct 4, 2021
Hi Ms.Kathya, Thank you so much for taking the time to express your experience with us. We will be passing this message to our HR team who will then re-post it for our employees, they will certainly appreciate it. We're looking forward to have you with us again soon! Sincerely,

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Our planning from start to finish exceeded our expectations as we couldn’t have done it without the assistance with all parties involved planning our elopement ceremony from Atlanta Ga, via email. Brittany, Marcela & Mariana we’re very instrumental down to every little detail to ensure that our wedding was as magical as possible and we’re forever grateful to them and the entire staff at The Cape! We’re already planning to go back for our one year anniversary!
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Marco Vazquez, Guest Experience Manager on Oct 4, 2021
Hello.! Thank you so much for taking to share your comments with us, it help us a lot to keep improving or in this case of your comments keep motivating our employees. We certainly will be complementing Marcela, Brittany and Mariana for going above and beyond with you. We are looking forward to have you with us. Sincerely,

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Food is expensive for no reason
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Marco Vazquez, Guest Experience Manager on Oct 4, 2021
Hello.! First, I would like to thank you for visiting The Cape a Thompson Hotel and for taking the time to share with us your experience. , I truly apologize for not reaching your expectation. We really hope that you can give us another chance to change your last experience. Sincerely,

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
You get what you pay for!! Everything was super nice and very upscale with breathtaking views throughout the resort!
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Marco Vazquez, Guest Experience Manager on Oct 4, 2021
Hi.!! Thank you so much for taking the time to express your experience with us. We will be passing this message to our HR team who will then re-post it for our employees, they will certainly appreciate it. We're looking forward to have you with us again soon! Sincerely,

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Amazing! So clean and the staff was excellent
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Marco Vazquez, Guest Experience Manager on Oct 4, 2021
Hello.! Thank you so much for taking the time to express your experience with us. We will be passing this message to our HR team who will then re-post it for our employees, they will certainly appreciate it. We're looking forward to have you with us again soon! Sincerely,

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Everything about this place was excellent!!! The view was stunning!!! Julio,Hugo, and Brenda took great care of us!! See you soon!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Love The Cape and will return for a third visit!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Top spot in Cabo!
The epitome of class and luxury in every way, plus the best view in Cabo, plus my favorite infinity pool & pool bar in Cabo...and don't even get me started about the rooftop restaurant!
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Service, pool, pool table was great. Best sashimi fatty tuna ever.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group, Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The Cape is simply the best spot to stay in Cabo, period. My wife and I go to Cabo almost yearly and this is the only place where we have gone more than once, and the only place we will stay in the future. Great food, great service, and the atmosphere is 2nd to none.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The grounds and service were impeccable.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I find the majority of reviews to be fake these days. Even worse, many start with that statement, but that is not the case this time. I took my girlfriend of 3 months here in August of 2018, and we joked that we would return for my 40th because we saw a group of friends doing that while we were there. Both trips exceeded expectations for different reasons. 2018, because I didn’t know just how beautiful the location was and 2021 because times have changed dramatically over the past 3 years, yet the Cape remained in top form. They text before arrival, giving you the chance to resolve final concerns. They are responsive to requests, even if complicated, such as mine…I asked for the same room as trip 1. It wasn’t available, so they gave me the room 2 doors down. It was even better. Rooms, food and drinks are excellent, the 3 most critical features for a non all-inclusive. And the hotel itself is stunning. I look forward to returning every few years.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Amazing resort! Our room and views were spectacular. The food was excellent. The staff and service was exceptional. we had an experience of a lifetime. Thank you to the Cape hotel.
Stayed 5 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful property.
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This property is amazing. It is definitely a higher-end property that feels modern and also is more geared towards couples, adult get-aways and families with older children. It has the same amazing view as Sunset Mona Lisa. I do think the prices are a bit high. Even an iced tea at the pool is $8. Ouch . Lenny at the pool and Julio at the bar in the lobby was AMAZING! They took great care of us.
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The Cape has a great pool with an incredible view. The staff was great and the whole trip was very enjoyable. I will definitely be back.
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Best hotel I have every stayed in. Staff was excellent. Food was good.
Stayed 6 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
We'll be back
Service was amazing. Prices on property are pretty expensive, but you're paying for the quality. Wonderful property, Beautiful Rooms, Pleasant staff.
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I can’t say enough good things about this place. I was between here and Nobu. They had such nice touches, I didn’t realize breakfast was included our entire stay and there were so many fantastic, elevated breakfast options. The drinks both at the Sunken bar and poolside were delicious. The staff was so friendly, accommodating and kept all parts of the premises clean and sanitized. We enjoyed a couples massage in the beachside cabana with Vanessa and Adriana as the perfect last day of our trip. I must say the ocean is not swimmable but I enjoyed laying by the beach at the hotel much more than some of the populated swimmable beaches. Hope to some back soon!
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We will definitely be going back. Loved the property!!!!
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Amazing place, perfect location, beautiful ambience, we will be coming back for sure
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The cape is the place to be in Cabo. The food was good as long as u can eat spice. The staff was the friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever experienced anyways. I’ve been all over the globe and the staff at the cape were exquisite. Defiantly will be back to The Cape when I vacation to Cabo San Lucas again.
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel. The service is excellent, the rooms are immaculate with gorgeous ocean views and patios. The architecture is also gorgeous. The downfalls are the rooftop club which has loud music playing until 10 or 11pm each night - and if you end up in a room on that end of the hotel, the bass can be heard loudly in your room. Also I was shocked to find out that smoking is allowed on all balconies - the guests under us smoked and it ruined our time spent on the patio and we couldn’t even leave the doors open. To the hotels credit they offered us to move rooms, but that is very inconvenient once you have unpacked. Please no smoking on balconies! That’s very surprising to me in this day and age. Otherwise a great hotel.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This place is beautiful and what really makes it over the top is the staff super nice and super helpful. It was my second time there and it keeps getting better! The food is great and the service is top-notch!
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The BEST Service and Fabulous Resort. The Restauarants are ALL just outstanding. Unbelievably amazing view and location, it was a magical experience !!!!!
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Paradise
Great room. Great pool. Very friendly & helpful staff. Good food for room service & poolside. The views are incredible. Pictures don’t do them justice. Quick 15 ride to great restaurants in town. Second time visiting. As great as the first time.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Romantic and Beautiful, but overpriced
The place was everything we hoped for, the room was spacious with the view, comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the pool and the beach. The only thing I didn't like is extremely high prices on food and beverages. I mean it was beyond common sense. Breakfast avocado toast is $20 and $5 if you want an egg, $15 coffee, I mean to get a continental breakfast would cost you $80-$100 a person? Plus crazy tax, resort fees added on top of that. We ate outside or the resort and not being able to even have a cup of coffee in your room is crazy, put some nice espresso machine in there so people can at least enjoy that. We had one dessert and 2 lattes one evening and our bill was $50 every time, I mean are you serious? Make food and beverages reasonably priced and people will spend more money.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
THE BEST!
We LOVE The Cape. This is our 4th visit and we brought friends with us. They were blown away with the quality of the accommodations, food, service and margaritas. Seriously, EVERYTHING is TOP NOTCH and we will continue to visit for years to come.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
it’s the best place to stay at cabo , cool chill vibe and great service
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
It’s was ok. Hated bathtub and bed @same room
First walk in was not much personally welcoming to each guest, that’s why hotel is 4 stars, nit 5 as Palmilla, nit much personal touch. We waited on line to check in. All were business like, even though they were nit busy at all and almost empty, the room upgrade by manager was not granted, out just to be nice for our first impressive experience. Privacy of rooms from room to room, zero, you can not just hear someone next wall at the balcony , but to see it too. I was uncomfortable to lay on the sun even out if my own balcony, plus there is no place to lay. At first day I was requesting to bring a lounge chair to my balcony, that’s never happened. Hotel did not have bath salts. Tub was uncomfortable and slippery to lay, too deep and you could not be in one position. No comfort on like candles, burning aromatherapy oils, like other hotels at Cabo offers.. Just more a commercial feel..Liked the spa, Vanessa , the spa manager made it more special. Thank you
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Lovely experience! Great food and service! Highly recommend and would definitely book again in the future!
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Fantastic hotel but the experience can be improved
The decoration of the hotel is outstanding, the views of the rooms are fantastic and the personnel was very helpful. But if you book through hotels.com you won't have the best rooms (that's what we were told when checking in), we had a room right below the DJ stand of the rooftop bar, so very noisy until 11pm. Unfortunately the hotel allows people to "book" the pool and beach seats by just leaving a towel, even for several hours. I did not expect the hotel to allow such a cheap behavior... Also, no use to try to write to the hotel through the hotels.com message app, they don't read it. But overall we had a very nice time.
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Best hotel in Cabo
It was so nice and the service was amazing !
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2020