Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Brenda from Lions Head Ontario

Basic, clean, great beach

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Our room was very basic, but clean, spacious and had everything we needed. Some of the buildings are tired and could use a spruce up. The grounds are just lovely and the beach is a gem. The front desk staff were friendly. Unlike a previous review, we also booked through Hotels.com and had no issue with our booking.
5 out of 5
by Tsui Bing from Mississauga

A cozy place in Ferguson's Cove!

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
We absolutely enjoyed our stay at glenhorn. Our room was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated with fishing-related items. Elaine is an amazing host and she answered all the questions that we had about Halifax and the surroundings. I will recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a clean, quiet and warm place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Atrocious Customer Service

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
This was awful. The manager refused to honour our hotels.com booking even though we paid in advance and had evidence of our confirmation with us. She told us,"We don't accept this in the summer," and refused to acknowledge any responsibility. She did not attempt to help us find an alternative until we firmly requested, not seeming interested in helping at all. Furthermore, after having to book a different room for triple the price, our wireless did not work and she did not even attempt to help solve the problem, preferring to talk on her phone to friends. While we were in the lobby, we overheard several brusque and unhelpful comments to other patrons needing help to find restaurants and entertainment. While we understand this experience is largely based on one employee, the problem remains that we lost faith in the hotels.com system of bookings because it does not seem like they must be honoured.
3 out of 5
by Charles from Thessalon Ontario

Great place on the Cabot trail.

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
we had rooms in the older section of the resort. Another time I would specify to be booked into a cottage or the newer section. Other than that great place to stay. Great breakfast in the little deli next door.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Run down hotel, decent location

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Despite the lovely view from the private beach, I wouldn't stay here again. There are nicer options nearby for around the same price. The room was outdated, the beds were uncomfortable, the ice machine was broken and the desk staff unhelpful when told. There were bugs in our room and the water pressure was awful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor, ON

Scenic beach on large property

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Spacious grounds for walking around and a beach.
Cons: Appearance of laundry building and vicinity needs to.be neater and better kept.
Location: Great locaton along Cabot Trail, with attractions along the way.
Convenient location on large property. The room was comfortable and price reasonable. A cafe next door was convenient for breakfast. Variety of accomodation types. Appears to be inprovements in progress, so the style may be old or new. We had an older style room, yet was comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mostly Disappointing

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
We found this stay to be mostly disappointing, especially for the price paid, in comparison to other places we stayed on this trip. We were placed in the Muir Inn building. It was fairly quiet there, which was nice, but NO WI-FI IN THE ROOMS, and it was quite a hike to the "lobby" which was really just a small office with no comfortable way to do computer work there.The bed in our room was hard as a rock, which we found to be completely uncomfortable, and the room set-up was disastrous - especially for viewing the teeny tiny TV in any kind of comfort. Also, the closet was not usable without moving some furniture, so we didn't use it, but would have liked to hang some things.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place for a cheap price

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Spacious room for 4 people with 2 Queen beds
Cons: WiFi is a must for travellers who need to plan their visit and search for direction on google maps
Location: Kayaking, Ingonish beach, etc
Everything was great. The person at the reception was very helpful at all times. Once complain about the WiFi. Very poor signal event at the reception area though it says it has WiFi Rest everything is good and recommended
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PEI

Close to Beach & Cafe

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: I liked the fact that we could hear the waves from our open window.
Cons: The room needs a fridge.. The TV should be more centrally located between the two beds. Waiting too long for hot water.
Location: It was next door to a lovely Cafe & about mid-way from a couple of restaurants.
The room was comfortable enough but we missed not having a fridge in our room. There was lots of hot water but had to run the water quite awhile.