Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east bethel, mn

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Older hotel, not very modern, washer & dryer broken down
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Kirsten and Brad, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are addressing the issue with the washer and dryer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Clean, convenient, well-priced, great staff

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Spent just one night here over Canada Day long weekend. Price for 2bdrm suite was excellent considering the weekend, and our last minute booking through Expedia was easy and without any issues! Some light fixtures didn't work in the room, and the decor is dated if you care about that sort of thing, but the AC worked, the shower pressure/hot water was excellent, and the motel-provided toiletries and coffee in the room were quite nice. The couple that manage the motel are friendly and outgoing, and though the pool was closed for repairs during our stay, that wasn't what we were there for in the first place. Cache Creek isn't often the first place you think to return to as it doesn't have a whole lot to do (we were road tripping), but if we do, we will most certainly look to return to the Desert Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by K. Beckett, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we would look forward to hosting you again on your next road trip. Have a wonderful summer!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible staff

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The staff at this hotel were awful. They loved playing the blame game and pointed fingers and everyone else but themeselves. They made us feel so uncomfortable that we barely slept. If I could rate this hotel a 0 I would.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Kirsten and Brad, Hotel Management
I am very sorry that you were unhappy with our service. I am not sure what we did to make you so uncomfortable that you barely slept however I assure you that we would certainly not have wanted you to feel that way. I wish that you had addressed this before leaving as you had told us that you had a pleasant although warm night. Perhaps in the future you would care to try us again and we can improve your perception. Have a lovely and fire-free summer,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maple Ridge, BC

Nice hotel, right off the highway

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds, good working air conditioning, close to highway but no sound from road.
Cons: Separate light in the toilet part of the bathroom. Didn't like that the sink area lit up when I turned on the light to use the facilities at night.
Room was nice and air conditioned. Beds were comfy! Extra pillow in drawer of dresser. Front reception was super nice and check in was super quick! Would stay again if needed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by K. Beckett, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate that guests take the time to write about their stay and of course we like to hear that you were comfortable! We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future and hope you have a good summer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Was minimal room and some road noise. Sufficient for our short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by K. Beckett, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We wish you the best in your travels and hope you have a pleasant summer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

no pool

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Very disappointed that the pool was not open. It was a very hot weekend and the kids were looking forward to a swim. Should have been informed that was pool was not opened when we checked in. Had to drive five miles to find an open pool. Only reason that we booked the room was for the pool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by K. Beckett, Hotel Management
We apologize again for the pool closure. We have taken your feedback on board and have posted a notice at the check in desk as well as notifying guests when they call to book. We hope that when our pool is reopened we will have the opportunity to host you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Your basic overnight motel.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable and budget priced! Stayed there 3 days as I had some business to do around the area and nearby communities.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by K. Beckett, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to hosting you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PG, BC

Overnight on road trip

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Fine for one night of a road trip. No hair dryer in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by K. Beckett, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We have acquired several hair dryers for guest use since your visit and hope we will have the chance to host you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern B.C.

Good for an overnight stay.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The room was very tidy and clean.
Cons: The light switch inside the door was faulty, and the cord that was connected to the bedside lamp was too short, and the wires exposed.
Location: Not much to do in Cache Creek. A variety of restaurants nearby, all within walking distance.
The front staff were very friendly and had a room ready for us. There were a number of construction workers there and we expressed our concern about possible noise, but the woman told us they were a quiet bunch, but if we had any problems to call. While we had a non-smoking room, the smoking table and chairs were right outside our door. That negated any possibility of using the air conditioner to draw in outside air.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by K. Beckett, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the location of the table and chairs and will keep this in mind for the future as they are moveable. We hope we will have the chance to host you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels