Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

Pleasant surroundings, relaxing, peaceful hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Pleasant large airy bedroom with balcony; good heating controls in bedroom; modern multijet shower; indoor and outdoor pools; gym. Peaceful grounds.
Cons: Bed was a bit on the hard side for me; work desk a bit on the small side but manageable.
Location: Location is in its own fairly extensive grounds in the town, but walkable from centre. This is an industrial port town.
There on business. Took 25 mins by taxi from Gibraltar. Easy check-in. Staff helpful and reasonable restaurant. Hotel has interesting history - not like most modern hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand old hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere.
Location: Close to the port, which was our reason for being in Algeciras.
We stayed only one night. The hotel has that old world grand hotel feel. The room was spacious and comfortable. The café and bar are charming. Meal service was a bit erratic and the food good enough, but nothing special. The grounds are beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Well established hotel in lovely grounds

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The location. The lovely grounds. The Impressive building. The food
Cons: Need to replenish food items which had been used up. More staff needed in dining room. Fix the roof!
Location: The location was very pleasant, and convenient. Not much in Algeciras, but convenient for other places, e.g. Gibraltar, Getares, Tarifa and Bolonia
This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, on a half board basis. It is an old hotel, so some may consider it a bit old fashioned, but we didn't mind that. It is located in lovely grounds, and there is ample free parking space, which was helpful, as we had a hire car. It is an impressive building, but sadly one day we had a thunderstorm, and it caused some leaks in the roof, so a bit of maintenance is needed! The meals were generally good, but the kitchen staff were often slow to replenish food items which had been used up. e.g. at breakfast one day the fried eggs ran out, another day it was grilled tomatoes, another day no cups. Similarly in the evening, one day the cauliflower ran out, and although I mentioned it to the "runner", it was another 15-20 minutes before it arrived, by which time I had finished my dinner. Also at breakfast time it seemed as though they were very understaffed, as they were slow to clear tables and get them ready for the next people. There was a large group at the hotel from another tour operator, which may have helped to slow things down a bit. The food itself was generally very nice. I would be happy to stay at this hotel again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

This Lovely Hotel spoilt by

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The History
Cons: as above needs care and attention
Location: It has a lovely town, beautiful church and lots of places to visit nearby
We have stayed at The Reina Cristina many times, this time we booked out and left the day after we arrived and we had booked for a week, a four star hotel should have better amenities, it had no one to take our bags to our room, which stunk of cigarette smoke even the next day, the terrace outside had odd chairs stacked up in different places and not put away out of sight, the food was terrible, Buffet only, food over cooked due to the overhead lights, tinned cocktail fruit, not much option especially if vegetarian just dried up over cooked pasta, and not even a wine waiter, brought the wine up in a bottle had to ask for ice bucket and had to pour ourselves. This beautiful hotel, should be loved and looked after, please do away with that ridiculous buffet and bring back a dinner service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Somewhat remote and luxurious hotel growing tired.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Grand old charm
Cons: Location
Location: Near an industrial port and so there is little sightseeing nearby. However, we did find a very nice restaurant about 10 minutes walk away.
The hotel is located in beautiful grounds and has an old-English colonial luxury charm. However, it is starting to feel its age a little, and the included breakfast buffet is basic for the price. The staff were businesslike and had reasonable English, but were not overly welcoming or friendly. We stayed two nights with the idea of lashing out on a bit of luxury and comfort towards the end of a busy trip but our expectations were not quite met. And the '7km from Gibraltar' is as the crow flies whereas the drive was over 25km to nearby La Linea and took about 40 minutes in traffic (estimated EUR$30 each way by taxi and 50-60 minutes by bus).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and green environment

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Pretty good experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good value.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Free parking. Close to ferry port. Quiet, cheap and comfortable.
Cons: Could have screen door for the patio door. The room was a bit hot.
Location: 10 - 15 mins walk to ferry port.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Peaceful

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Beautiful building in a park like setting. Large comfortable rooms and nice big buffet breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unable to sleep due to the noise from the lift

Posted Oct 18, 2016
We had 2 rooms by the lift. The lift was obviously old and had old workings but the noise was horrendous...it goes on all night and continuous from 05.00...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So comfortable

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Really beautiful