Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morocco

Great to save money

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Proximity from the port and the old city place
Cons: Old and room pretty basic
Location: Near the city place, restaurants and clubs
Good if you want to save money and if you need to get the ferrie to Morocco.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Deceiving from the front

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Front of hotel looks nice & modern but inside is old and dirty. Rooms were spacious though. Would recommend for a short stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute Hotel - terrible location.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Hotel was fine, but the location not so much. Clean room, friendly staff. Ok for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Good location with the Algeciras ferry port across the street and all other services within walking distance. Tour office next door with ferry tours offered to Africa from Algeciras or Tarifa. I took a tour from the Tarifa ferry port to Tangiers. A free bus was available from the Algeciras ferry parking lot to and from the Tarifa port. The tour was 50 euros but along with ferry ticket a tour guide led with a walking tour of the Tangiers market center, free lunch, and an ending bus tour of the city. A stop was made if you wanted to take a picture on a camel. Started at 10:00 am leaving the parking lot and ended up back at the hotel at 9:45 pm. A busy day well worth it. At the hotel, keep the windows closed at night as flying insects get in and I was on the 5th floor. I was amazed at what kind of insects can fly.
2 out of 5
by HT from Calgary

Sketchy Area w/ Offsite Parking

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The hotel is in desperate need of an update.
After finding the hotel and going to check in I was disappointed to learn that their idea of free parking is actually a public parking lot about 2 blocks away from the hotel. The hotel was located on a very busy road so it was not easy to just pull the car over and drop the bags off before parking so we parked the car first and hauled our bags 2 blocks to get to the hotel and back to car afterwards. The rooms might have been clean but it was so dated that it just looked dirty. The beds were marginally more comfortable than cots, the pillows provided no support and the rooms were so noisy it was hard to get any sleep. You could hear everything from street noise to the rooms next door to the rooms above and below you. Not sure what was going on in some of the other rooms but every half hour or so you'd hear the screeching of furniture rubbing against the tiled floor. After an uncomfortable night of restless sleep we just checked out early and moved onto the next part of our trip. Oh to top it all of the wi-fi service broke down so we only had free wi-fi for part of our stay. Needless to say I will never be returning to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by BobE from London

Ideal for ferry travellers

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Location and general atmosphere
Cons: Possibly a spring clean to the public rooms downstairs would give a more welcoming feel to it.
Location: Not very much seems to go on in Algeciras. Sit outside one of the cafes with a coffee seems to be the only evening option.
Could not be better sited for those on their way to the Tangier or Ceuta ferry. This hotel has obviously seen better days but it is still perfectly comfortable. The atmosphere of faded grandeur is all-pervading from the antique lift to the clanking plumbing. The bed was perfectly nice and, if you have an upstairs front room, the view of sunrise over the harbour is a real bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Canada

Close to port

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Location
Location: Walking distance to the port, restaurants, shopping and the bus terminal.
Spent 2 nights there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from NZ

Good accommodation close to port and bus station

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: The hotel was handy to our rental car depot for drop off and to the port for ferries. The bus station was nearby.
Cons: Providing breakfast would be very convenient.
Location: Handy for taking bus to Gibraltar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MOHAMMAD from mta

Beach

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: Location, Price.
Location: Port Bus Station Restaurants Money Changer
Great location. Close to port, bus station, restaurants. Well furnished room Good price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Night in Algeciras

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: The location, the availability of wifi and the reasonable price.
Location: The port to go to Morocco is right across the street. The main square, with some good places to eat tapas is within walking distance.
We spent one night in Algeciras before taking the ferry to Tangier. Hotel Marina Victoria was perfect for this purpose, since it is located across the street from the port.