Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford uk

Very conveniently situated for the ferry

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Very positive about providing service. Evening hot chocolate to the room etc.
Cons: Tea and coffee facilities in the room.
Location: Didn't stay long enough.
All worked well except it would have been convenient to have tea making facilities in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Great place for the price

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, Comfortable beds
Location: D-Day landing sites 45 min, Mt St Michel 1 hr 15 min
It is located next to a Nissan dealership in an industrial area of Caen but it offers a 5-10 drive to the main highway that serves the Normandy coast and regional attractions. Breakfast was good, the rooms do not offer AC but it was not needed even in early August. Our group drove to this location from Paris to visit the D-Day landing sites and Mt St Michel. If I was to revisit this area I would stay there again If the purpose is to visit Caen attractions it may not be the best location but if it's for a visit to the Normandy region and you have a car it great place for the price
5 out of 5
by Martin

Great stopover hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
This was a quick stop over from arriving late on the ferry before heading off into the French heartlands. have stayed at several other hotels previously but this was by far the best and most comfortable.A bit of a drive through the town but once you follow the signs it's easier enough to find. Instructions told us that if we ere to arrive after 10pm we had to phone to secure entrance,which we did but on arrival a very helpful member of staff was still in attendance. Room had every thing you needed for an over night stay comfy bed and a clean and airy bathroom. Breakfast the next morning is very reasonable with an ample choice of various dishes. Will use again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No interconnecting rooms

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Booked this as hotels.com said interconnecting rooms so we thought we could prop the door open and put our two infants in the second room. However, on arrival told they don't do interconnecting rooms, and although alongside, both doors opened into the corridor. The hotel blamed the agent (hotels.com) but I can't help but think they only put what the hotel says they have! So we had to sleep one adult and one child to each room. Not over impressed. Think small Travelodge rooms and you won't be disappointed. It's cheap and you get what you pay for - no frills. No kettle or tea and coffee in the room. As an overnight stay before the ferry it was ok, but we didn't get what we booked and that's the biggest issue for me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel, good food, great staff

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Reception staff spoke good English and were extremely helpful. Witnessed advice being given on exploring the local area in detail to other customers, and our enquiries were dealt with cheerfully. Rooms are not large but perfectly fine for an overnight stay, although air conditioning would have been a welcome bonus in the hot weather- at least the window opened! Evening buffet meal was very nice and a reasonable price. We will probably use this hotel again for all these reasons and for its' proximity to the ferry port - about 15 mins run.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK - But

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: plenty of parking
Cons: Have the restaurant open every day!
Location: Nothing much very industrial shopping centre 5 mins drive
Basic hotel which is OK for what we paid. No HD TV Restaurant closed on SAT evening - nearest alternative 5 mins drive Overall a bit disappointing.
3 out of 5
by Jacqueline from Edmonton

Great market square

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
It was in the downtown area and when we got up the next day there was an amazing market just outside of b door. It was great
3 out of 5
by James from Oslo

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
Decent hotel thought the room is pretty small for a double bed. For the price and a one night stay it was pretty good.
4 out of 5
by Dalesfolk from Yorkshire

Decent Room, great restauarant

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
Our double room was small but clean and sufficient for an overnight stay. The shower was powerful and hot and the bed comfortable. Reception staff were friendly, polite and helpful when we asked for extra pillows and an explanation of how the buffet system worked in the restaurant. We had a 3 course buffet meal in the evening which was plentiful, delicious and good value. We left at 7.15 and were in plenty of time for the 8.30 ferry from the port- only about 14km away and simple to find. Contrary to other reviews our sat -nav found the hotel easily- perhaps it is only on up to date map sets. Would definitely use again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Bad location

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The buffet breakfast was quite good
Cons: The hotel in general, it would be better suited as a hostel for school trips
Location: Nothing to do
The hotel is on an industrial estate right next to a dual carriageway. So at night you had to keep the windows shut because of the noise but in doing so, in the hot weather the heat became unbearable The restaurant does not open every night so on those nights there is nowhere you can walk to to get any food. The double room I had was better sized to be a single with the smallest shower room I have ever seen. In essence I definitely would not recommend anyone to use this hotel, even if it where for only 1 night.