Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Only stayed one night. Drab motel, adequate but not inspiring. Noisy bathroom extractor kept us awake at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It does the job for one night close to the ferry

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Position and price, staff
Cons: Needs a makeover
Location: It is close (even walking distance) to a big retail and superstore so last minute shopping before going on the ferry is easy. 24/7 petrol nearby too.
Rather tired decor but clean. We needed two rooms and a cot in one and staff were excellent in giving us rooms together and the cot was excellent. The restaurant is ok and useful to have if you are tired after a journey and do not want to go elsewhere. Despite it being close to big roads and a retail centre it was quite and seemed secore.
4 out of 5
by Linda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abingdon, Oxon UK

Fine for a one night stopover. Else room cramped.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
We were only staying one night on our way to somewhere much further west, so we didn't really get to see the full range of facilities.
5 out of 5
by Jackie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paul

Good for overnight stay

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great for an overnight stay after getting off the ferry, staff very friendly & helpful
1 out of 5
by Michael

Horrible

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Do not take the photographs on this Campanile site as to the one you will get. I remember it well, using Campanile, almost 30 years ago and the standard of fitments, beds etc were on the same par as the one I have just stayed at. It is certainly NOT what they advertise on this site. Don't have room 9 if this is available to you! Where do I start. Hot evening a/c unit directly above bed, directional control not working there directed onto head. Other pictures show a/c not over bed!. Quarter bath, okay for some, but shower rail hanging off. BATHEROOM HEAT WILL NOT TURN OFF IF YOU PRESS WRONG BUTTON IN DARKNESS. Note says, tap once for x mins, 2 for x mins and so on so 30 mins later sill belching out heat on a warm night. Premium bedding - no way, blackout curtains, no way, even electric shutters let in light. Iam a member of the Louvre Group Pass for You, this hotel is letting down the group commitment to a fair price for a fair deal. I have also stayed in Campanile properties in the Rouen area none have been as bad as this, the eastern area of Rouen has a Campanile and Kyriad Mont Saint Aignan and exceptionally better than what I have just witnessed. Why is there such a difference. Taken from hotel details Le Restaurant – This restaurant specialises in French cuisine and only serves breakfast!!! No quite sure of this, if it is so why advertise a restaurant and not just B&B, helps a lot of know this.
4 out of 5
by Patricia

Good for overnight stop

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
We took an afternoon ferry from Portsmouth arriving in Ouistreham late evening so needed an overnight stay before driving south. The Hotel Campanile fit the bill perfectly. It is a short drive from Ouistreham, easy to find and fairly comfortable with all you need for a quick stopover. The room was fairly basic but clean and remarkably good value.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from france

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Cons: decent maintenance
the food was excellent but the room was shabby and we got no sleep due to the extractor fan in the bathroom making a dreadful rattling noise non stop all night !!!
2 out of 5
by Roy

Hotel in need of serious refurbishment.

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Room not particularly clean with rubbish under the bed, shower head sprayed all over the bathroom soaking everything..Food in the restaurant was mediocre at best, and not improved from last time when we had a reduction for grisly steaks. The car park spacing is inadequate for medium to large cars, and is not helped by the fact that this establishment allows large commercial vehicles to use this facility. We were seriously blocked in by a van that must have been at least 30 feet long, and struggled to manouver out of the car park in time for our ferry. We complained about both the shower and the large van (in fact the receptionist watch us struggle to get out and made no attempt to find out who the van belonged to) but the complaints were just met with a shrug of the shoulders. The whole site is starting to look very tired and dated, and is in urgent need of a complete facelift. We would not stay here again.