Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, Ontario

Excellent historic inn with friendly staff and gre

Posted Dec 4, 2017
This inn is a gem of a find! We loved absolutely everything about it. It is clearly very well managed, with friendly staff, excellent food, and just the perfect blend of historic charm and modern comfort. Everything is clean and well-maintained and it's within walking distance of Caernarfon Castle, tourist shops, the coast, and bus stops. There are a lot of other pubs within walking distance as well, but the food at the inn is such delicious traditional fare, and the ambiance so cozy and historic, that we didn't see the need to try too many other restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous place to stay

Posted Dec 3, 2017
The hotel is a historic old pub with open fires and lovely cosy bars. The rooms were very clean and the bed was huge. It's right in the centre of the town so within walking distance of everywhere. Very warm all the time in the rooms. Great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Lovely Inn in a magnificent setting Caernarfon

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Every thing
Cons: All good!
Location: Just get out and drive: Castle great Caernarfon guided tour with Emarry a must Port Marion The slate mine and quarry is fasanating
Wonderful. A lovely property, fabulously quirky, enchanting. Breakfast is great! Meals Are good! Monster plates - a bit intimidating, Loads to do in Caernarfon and surrounding area. Well worth visiting, the locals are hospitable, knowledgable and very warm. Well worth visiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford

Inn with plenty of history

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: The four poster bed and a decent sized television in the room. A good selection of Whisky and food.
Cons: Waiting staff to have designated tables to look after.
Location: The inn is situated within the town walls. The historic Caernarfon Castle is a must.
A nice, comfortable place to stay with plenty of history surrounding this inn. The car park is small and is on a first come first served basis which cannot be helped due to its position. The room was clean and stocked with the usual complemetaries except there wasn't enough carton milks to have more than 2 cups of tea/coffee. The breakfast was decent except that the person taking our order did not write down what we wanted so the Welsh Breakfast still came out with the undercooked tomato and overdone poached egg, despite asking for no tomato and a runny poached egg. The main meal in the resturant was enjoyable, the only criticism was that the portion sizes were so large that we could not finish the main course and had to forgo dessert. A big disappointment as i was so looking forward to the Strawberry and Champagne Cheesecake. When asked if everything was ok, we said about the big portion sizes and the reply was that about 70% of people said the same. Make them smaller then. Food waste which i observed was on most tables that night. Again the waiting staff did not really listen as a medium cider was a bottle of dry and sauce for the meal took 10 minutes to arrive. Waiting staff did not seem to have designated tables to look after as 5 different members of staff came up to us in the time we were there. Lastly, there was no warning that only a few doors down is a club that still had thumping music playing past midnight on both nights. Not great as I prefer an early night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Good hotel, good food, convenient location, helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

A good place to stay

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Convenient location and lovely staff
Cons: If possible, parking availability
Location: Close to historic heart of Caernarvon and not far from Conwy, Snowdonia and many lovely coastal areas.
a well situated hotel and it is worth paying for overnight parking. The breakfast was good and very substantial. The rooms in the Coach House were very well equipped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL USA

Highlight of our trip was Black Boy Inn

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: We loved it all, wish we'd bought store food to snack on since we had a small kitchen
Cons: Parking for large car.
Location: The location was great inside the walls of the castle and lots of boutiques and food near by.
We had difficulty finding this location but once there it was a great two days. The parking was somewhat challenging for two little old ladies but hotel staff was extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Full of character and oozing History.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
We had a fabulous stay at the Black Boy , very friendly staff and great location. Lovely rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved are weekend at the black boy

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Loved our stay at the black boy room and breakfast was lovely staff were very helpful would stop there again
4 out of 5
by Linda

Busy Pub

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay here, our room was on the second floor in the building behind the pub. The room was clean and of a good size with tea and coffee in room. We were going to eat in the pub st night but it was so busy and the wait was over an hour so had to go elsewhere. Breakfast was good and the choice was great. Location was excellent to see Caernarfon Castle just a 2 minute walk and the shops were minutes away too.