Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Jane Austen revisited

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Rural setting, yesteryear-feel
Cons: Bed was a little too soft.
Location: On main road, only a few minutes out of central Caernarfon.
Driving down the winding driveway starts to prepare you for the seclusion that Plas Dinas provides. The welcome is friendly, professional and detailed from Paula, and entering your room is like stepping into another century. That said, the facilities are excellent, with a drawing room/bar area downstairs, and the guest rooms upstairs found after passing a range of photographic memorabilia about the property. We only stayed one night, but wished we had a week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Nice relaxing and Friendly Hotel.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Staff, Breakfast, Honesty Bar and how my dog Max was pampered and excepted in the Hotel.
Location: Close to Caernarfon and many other attractions.
Really enjoyed the break at Plas Dinas Country House. Could not fault the service we received during our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Many thanks, we hope you will bring Max back to see us soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston, Lancs

Interesting connection with royals

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Old y world charm
Cons: Shower in room too hot and control poor.
Location: Near Caernarfon so beautiful coast line and Snowdonia national park via the A5 is breathtaking.
Nice hotel with Royal memorabilia to view. Shower in room was dangerous. I ended my attempt, jumping out of the bath as I nearly got scalded and nearly dislocated my thumb on the adjoining sink tap. Apart from that it was a nice place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for bringing the shower to our attention, we will certainly have it checked out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

A Welsh gem

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: The location is peaceful and beautifully landscaped.
Cons: As mentioned previously, I would have thought that guests would be squeezed in for evening meals.
Location: Location is ideal for Carnarfon and nearby attractions.
The Plan Dinas is a real gem. The driveway hides a beautiful house which is full of character. We stayed for 2 nights and it was lovely. My only gripe was that I tried to book a table for dinner (admittedly rather late on the day of arrival) but was told it was fully booked. I would have thought that guests would be squeezed in but maybe I'm old fashioned. Otherwise, the room was lovely and cosy. Little touches all over the room made the stay even more memorable. The bathroom was lovely too. We asked for an early breakfast the day of leaving and this was left outside the room on a hamper with a cold box for milk, juice and yoghurts. A lovely touch. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your response and for your stay, we are sorry that we couldnt accommodate you for dinner, we do keep a couple of tables back for our in-house guests but as it was the opening night of our new restaurant when you stayed we were naturally bursting at the seams.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Gracious, historic country house

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Everything. Felt like it would be a perfect wedding venue too.
Cons: We found the shower floor very slippery. A bigger - or second - non-slip mat would help.
Location: Beautiful grounds, situated very close to Caernafon, Snowdon, etc. Probably not a great location for small children.
We stayed in the very elegant Princess Margaret room. Missed dinner, but had a delicious full breakfast. I didn't tell my American husband what black pudding was until he had tried it!. The whole place is exquisite, and full of the family's irreplaceable and unique memorabilia. The staff were all wonderful, and will give you some tips on the Welsh language too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from York

Nice quiet hotel full of character

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Charm and elegance
Location: Great central point for National Trust properties in this area
Stayed for 3 nights. Very warm welcome . Good central place to get out and visit attractions in North Wales. Would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney,Australia

Beautiful country house,surrounded by gardens

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: No
Location: Set in a country estate off the main road in Bontnewydd a short drive from Caernarfon.Very quiet and Relaxing
Beautiful country house reminiscent of days gone by,with a large sitting room with fireplace downstairs and the bedrooms on the upper levels.The staff were wonderful .Our Room was called the Snowdon Room (as it was Lord Snowdon's childhood bedroom) and overlooked the garden.The room was spacious and the decor gorgeous.The whole house has photos taken by Lord Snowdon and memorabilia decorating the walls .We had the set menu on Saturday night and it was the best meal we have had since being in the UK !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Wow! What wonderful feedback, thank you so much, we are thrilled! Neil, Marco, Paula and Team!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel easily accessible to all the sights i

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: in the country side with beautiful views over the country to the sea. Ten minutes to Caernarfon and beach
Welcoming to us and the dog, comfortable, lovely staff, beautiful setting, gorgeous food, interesting memorabilia. In short superb stay, nothing too much trouble, including a ready supply of ice for a sore throat. Perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport, Gwent

Beautiful house in lovely location.

Posted May 6, 2017
Home of the late Anthony Armstrong Jones the hotel has retained the intimate feel of a home. Perfect balance of friendliness and privacy. The rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished to a high standard. Everything needed for a perfect stay was provided right down to a hot water bottle. There is no way one could improve this hotel, it was spotlessly clean, and had delightful little extras - such a joy to stay somewhere where the management really care about their guests.
5 out of 5
by Christie

Fabulous!!

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
We used this as a base for climbing snowdon and stayed 2 nights, we were not disappointed. Very clean and comfortable and the staff were more than helpful. Breakfast was really nice (we didn't eat dinner there). The shower in our room was pretty un-usable but it didn't matter to us. All of the unoccupied room doors are left open so was good to have a nice nosey at all the other beautifully decorated rooms. Set in nice grounds off the main road, close to the town of Caernarfon. We will deffo be back.