Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Classic historical home stay.

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: The location and grounds were great and the fodd was excellent. It had a nice atmosphere.
Cons: The garden was nice and we felt it would be good to label all the varied tree and plant species as we were guessing what they might be.
Location: The castle in Caernarfon is worth a visit although roads around it are tricky.
It was a great experience staying in this old historical venue. We had a very pleasant evening with 6 other guests in the lounge area. It happened to a birthday so the venue prepared a birthday cake that we all shared.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Neil , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for posting a reivew and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our gardens and we will definitely take your suggestions on board and discuss with our Groundsman, Shane.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Ambience, location.
Cons: As above.
Location: The property is easy to miss when driving along road, earlier signage would be more helpful.
Wonderful authentic house and ambience, excellent food and service. The bathroom room did not work but they said they would look into it. We were told apparently that particular 'Peregrine' room only advertises a bath, although it does has a modern full shower and enclosure. When booking through Expedia we were not given a choice of rooms so we not aware of this clause. Other than this experience, we would highly recommend this accommodation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review and we are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay. Unfortunately third party sites such as Expedia do not allow us to name our specific rooms and while linked to the room you actually book, we do not have the option to provide as much detail as we would like.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Nice hotel in woodland setting

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Quiet and comfortable hotel with ample parking
Cons: Catering arrangements
Location: Excellent location - good to visit Canafon Castle which is extremely well kept and houses an interesting museum
After a tiring drive from the Midlands upon arrival I enquired what time dinner was served to be told they do not serve dinner on Sunday and Monday evenings. I pointed out that I had telephoned the previous week solely to book dinner on the 1st and 2nd October which booking was accepted. The breakfasts were tasty but all the people we spoke to said the breakfast was not hot. This was pointed out and not surprisingly on the next morning you couldn't touch your plate AFTER breakfast was eaten !!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the location. Unfortunately our Receptionist misunderstood your request as we do have light meals available on a Sunday & Monday night in our Drawing Room, opening the restaurant with a full team for only a couple of tables on a Sunday & Monday night is simply not a viable solution for such a small property like Plas Dinas. Thank you for your feedback on the breakfast, we did review our plate holding procedures and hopefully rectified the problem to your satisfaction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Unusual Hotel, dogs allowed

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Location
A very nice hotel, in a great location for Snowdon/Angelsea/Llandudno. Allows dogs, nice grounds and very good food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Many thanks Terry! We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Lunas, NM

Great place to celebrate our anniversary

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
We stayed at Plas Dinas a couple of nights during our 2 week trip to Great Britain to celebrate our anniversary. When we booked (several months in advance), the only room available for our days was the Bachelor, which looked lovely on their website. The room was clean, bright, and had a wonderful view of the gardens. They have redone the room so it does not look like the picture on the website but it is still beautifully decorated and comfortable. There isn't a true shower in this room, just a tub that they have added a shower accessory to along with a small tube shower curtain. The breakfast, included with our stay, was wonderful and the Gun Room, where we had dinner the night of our anniversary, was outstanding. Intimate, cozy, and very good food. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and Neil, one of the owners, and Paula, the general manager, were eager to make sure our stay was memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Many thanks for a wonderful rivew and we are glad that you had a wonderful dinner at our very special Gun Room Restaurant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Welcoming hotel with homely feel.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: The relaxing drawing room for early evening drinks. Great staff. House history.
Cons: Failing eyesight would benefit from larger TV.
Location: A little outside Caernarfon, car essential for getting about. Attractions aplenty, Caernarfon castle, Snowdonia national park, various railway rides.
Great three night stay in a lovely hotel. A real family home feeling with very welcoming and professional staff. High quality dining available most evenings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from exeter

We probably missed the best .........

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: LOUNGE CALM BREAKFAST
Cons: BED EXTRA BATHROOM SHELF ENOUGH CROCKERY
Location: EAT CAERNARFON - TAPAS -TY COS ***** ANGLESEY MENAI BRIDGE - TRAD - FOUR CROSSES PUB BEAUMARIS - TRAD -BULKELEY HOTEL
I give good and bad points and have stayed in some of the best (and worst) Arriving late afternoon from Exeter we were shown our room efficiently which had good tea/coffee etc facilities. We often take short breaks now and the reviews and price were favourable. I believe we missed the best- Lounge (EXCELLENT), Grounds and Seclusion ( yet only 2 miles to city center) due to planned itinerary.The room was smaller than usual but the bathroom (large standard cubicle shower - suited my condition) was very well presented, if short on shelf space. The room's floor had character - it sloped substantially up to the window, (nice lawn/woods view).. The slope (limited room configuration), resulted in sleeping with feet higher than head as opposed to the "normal" reverse or horizontal. Unfortunately this brings us to the worst item - the mattress. Whilst I first put my discomfort down to the foregoing, my wife would not, not surprisingly as I discovered, when I insisted we swapped sides. I'm sorry to say that we believe it was totally beyond serviceable, but my wife did not want to complain during our stay. Breakfast all days had good variety, quality and service (I cheekily asked if I could have fried bread and was willingly accommodated) - pity day one they did not have enough cereal bowls and had to wait for a machine cycle, resulting in red hot bowls! (no water and tea towels ??) . We didn't dine in the evenings only due to the menu not to our taste. I think/hope were unlucky ?
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback but we do wish that you had raised your concerns during your stay so that we could have assisted in addressing them. The mattress in your room is not even 1 year old but we will definitely look into it! Many thanks for your positive comments on the other items!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Teesside

ENJOYABLE STAY

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: We liked the setting which was very private and the character of the hotel.
Cons: Plumbing system can be noisy at times.
Location: Lots of places to visit nearby including Mount Snowdon.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and made to feel very welcome by all the staff. Hotel is lovely, it has lots of character. Breakfast was very good and freshly prepared.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Old houses such as this werent designed for this purpose so the pipes can be cranky some times!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming b&b

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely, charming country b&b. Gorgeous grounds and view of coastline. Delicious breakfast and fantastic service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels