Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unacceptable.

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Literally the worst hotel experience I have ever had in my life. Our initial check in was fine, our check out was fine. But the hotel itself was run down, and the staff throughout the hotel besides the check in desk were extremely unhelpful. And, despite the fact that we were never informed of check out times, someone let themselves into our hotel room while I was half dressed and without glasses on to tell me that check out was ten minutes ago and I needed to get out. Yes indeed, that happened.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine USA

Close to castle.

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Walking distance to a very cool castle! Best history castle in Ireland! Pub and restaurant was fun and good food, as were breakfasts. Place needs an update badly, loads of tape on bathtub. Most staff were lovely except for desk person who seemed uninterested. It's a walk up if you have heavy luggage. Take away the castle and I would keep looking....but it's the only game in town. Loads of oportunity here with some updating!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You can hear everything from inside of Your room

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Maybe because it's an older hotel but I could hear people walking by in the hallway. I could hear every door open and close. I couldn't sleep it was so noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

right in the middle of town

Posted Jun 22, 2016
good overall except half of large bed broken but not a problem...notified staff...
1 out of 5
by Michael from Everywhere

Don't stay here

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Despite what it says online there is no wifi in the rooms. Having no phone service here that was obviously quite misleading. Luckily there was a TV in the room, which didn't work until it got fixed and batteries were put in the remote. While we waited for the TV to be fixed though we could at least chat to the friendly spider who had made his home in the corner of our clearly not thoroughly cleaned room. We made it through the night and got to breakfast which was a fiesta of charging for every little thing: you want a slice of grapefruit? $3, yoghurt? $1.50, muesli with your yogurt? Extra $1.20. Plus the service was incredibly slow. I'm a hotels.com gold member so you can imagine how many places I've stayed and this was the worst of the lot.
2 out of 5
by Linda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed in this hotel before, it is a modest, well located hotel with friendly staff. It offers good value, however, rooms are showing signs of wear.
4 out of 5
by james from Derry

Weekend stay

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful & friendly staff
5 out of 5
by Sara from Minnesota

Great Castle Hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay. Walking distance to castle and easy to find in the town. Great little town to spend a day or two in on holiday.
4 out of 5
by Neil from Wirral

VFM

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
Value for money. Wifi poor, friendly staff, picturesque town with castle and river.