Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Katherine

Piece of Heaven!

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Cahir House was my favorite part of the trip. In the middle of a small town setting, I could see the castle from my window, a beautiful church across the street and a lovely stroll to the nearby Swiss Cottage. The pubs were charming. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. I plan to return as soon as possible!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you need cool temps to sleep this isn the place

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
We visited on a day where temps were between 60-68f. Hotel in general and in particular the rooms were way too stuffy/hot to be comfortable, with no method to keep rooms cool. Result was a pretty sleepless night. Breakfast was very good. Lovely strong shower in our bathroom and plug for shaving.
4 out of 5
by Peggy

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Small town with castle as its pull. Staff friendly, difficulty finding reasonably priced Irish dinner, sweet little market on Saturday. Hotel has history and does need facelift but clean.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Good value.

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place. Did not have an elevator and was a little dated. The location was excellent. I would stay there there again, because it was a good value. It was just down the block from the awesome-looking Cahir Castle.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

One night in Cahir

Posted Apr 9, 2017
On my most recent trip to Ireland I spent one night at the Cahir house hotel. My room was clean and Comfortable. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. The hotel pub seems to be a favorite with the locals which is always a good sign. There is free parking behind the hotel off the street which is always a plus at a small town hotel. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Patricia

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Traditional country hotel in the heart of Cahir, with excellent bar, decent bar food and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by Ainslie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
All the staff were very friendly, efficient and very helpful. We ordered lunch for a number of people after a funeral everyone enjoyed the lunch the food was excellent.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well run country town house hotel.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
The hotel is clean, well appointed, the staff are polite and helpful. Restaurant offers fairly typical small town fare. The hotel is well located for access to the Galtee mountains and the Glen of Aherlow. I would return to it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly old place

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely friendly welcome late at night. Great chat in the bar. Food was great on first night not so good on the second. What you would expect from an old grand house from 1700s that has gone through the ups and downs in the economy. No doubt was very grand at its peak but still pleasant place to stay.