Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Best accommodations in Cahuita

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Wonderful hosts, clean accommodations, plentiful and beautiful breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Carnation, WA

Perfect for eco-tourism!

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Everything was exactly as described on the Expedia pages. The way the bungalows are set inside the garden/forest was fantastic.
Cons: If enough guests were interested to warrant the expense, they could set up a fruit feeder in the gardens to attract even more animals and birds.
Location: Every day we walked to the beach, town or Cahuita National Park. Eco-tourism and related activities are the best things here.
Eco-tourists who are looking for a Caribbean experience need to stay here. If you know what a Life List is or spend hours at the La Paz Waterfalls taking pictures of hummingbirds, then you need to spend a few days at Coral Hill. Just during the check-in conversation with Joe I saw several hard-to-find species and the sloths stayed overhead the whole trip. We stayed for three nights which was long enough to see the daily routines of things like agoutis, antbirds, woodrails, tanagers and others. Even during the afternoons, which is usually dead time for wildlife watching, I could lie in the hammock and have birds, reptiles or mammals wander by. For visitors looking for other experiences, the positive reviews I had read about the Joe and Chris and the bungalows were all true. The convenient location to beaches, town and Cahuita NP are all true. Joe and Chris also want to make sure you have good information on all the local activities and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Andris

Great Bungalow experience exceeding expectations

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
The stay exceeded all expectations, from Breakfast to Accommodations everything was amazing. The owners were friendly and nice, assisted with local attraction information, and made us feel most welcome. The Bungalows had all of the needed amenities from a safe and hairdrier to Hammock and candles. Would definitely stay at this place again.
5 out of 5
by Natasha

Lovely, rustic, and well appointed.

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Coral Hill Bungalows was a lovely retreat away from the bustle of San Jose. The location was very convenient to lots of activities, including lounging on the beach, but also horseback riding, a couple of national parks, and a couple of animal refuges. Everything was clean and the hosts did a great job of accommodating us. Breakfast was fresh and tasty and our room had all the modern amenities one could need. We especially enjoyed feeling as if we were sleeping in the jungle, but those who are especially sensitive to noise may be disturbed at night. We had our white noise machine with us, which my partner cannot sleep without in any setting, and we were fine, even through a downpour on our last night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Looks middle of jungle. Homemade breakfast was marvelous. Excellent walk in nature.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excelent service

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Nature and the people
Cons: Accesibilty for persons with disabilities
Location: Nice and quite
Nice place, excelent serivice, very good breakfast good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A garden paradise

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: location, tranquility, quality
Cons: the main course at breakfast could be 'larger'
Location: Read Lonely Planet or any guidebook
tranquil and beautiful surroundings, bird song and nature abound...
5 out of 5
by John from Whidbey Island

Comfort in the jungle

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Four nights of six spent in Cahuita. Very relaxing with comfortable space and extremely clean facilities. Breakfast very well done and presented. Helpful owners always available. Sloths in the trees overhead and active monkeys at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Open air "cabin" in a beautiful tropical garden

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: Tropical garden setting, open air feeling, perfectly built wooden cabins and great hosts. Secluded paradise in Cahuita. Great breakfast.
Cons: Yes, I'd like to own the place and keep the hosts around as my friends
Location: Cahuita National Park, Tree of Life Rescue Center, Reggae live music bar on weekends. Small Caribbean style village with typical local food.
If you want to get a feeling of sleeping in the jungle and being awoken by howling monkeys and a choir of different birds, this is the place. If you want to sit on the porch of your private cabin and watch toucans, humming birds, little black and green poison frogs and pacas, this is the place. If you want to meditate lying in a hammock on the porch, this is the place. If you like Caribbean cuisine, you have places around. If you like perfectly arranged fruit and variety bread platter in the morning, this is your place. Large wooden cabins have screens everywhere, so you get a feeling that you are sleeping in a tropical garden, where a ceiling fan is just enough to keep you comfortable. There are 3 cabins well separated with trees, bushes and flowers also separating from the main owners 2 story beautiful wooden house where breakfast is served and where you can get all the info about Cahuita and attractions from the most pleasant and unintrusive hosts who will make you feel at home. Cahuita National Park is a must, great walk, a lot of animals and birds and nice beaches. Everything is within walking distance, bike is a good idea, and a car doesn't hurt to have as there is a safe parking behind the fenced entrance of the B&B.