Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
I initially thought the owners weren't super friendly. I'm glad I was wrong. They are great. If you want to engage with them, they are happy to. If not, they are happy to give you your space. Fair warning, you are staying in the jungle so if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs so the howler monkeys don't disturb your sleep. Also, bugs and insects will enter your room. Use the mosquito net provided. It's there for a reason.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds close to beach...

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay here, especially meeting the owners Chris and Joe. Quiet, private, and beautifully furnished cabinas were cozy and comfortable. An exquisite breakfast was served each morning in their amazing gardens and included fascinating conversation. It was the weekend of the Calypso festival, so we had a pleasant walk each day into town, and it was so nice at the end of the day to slip behind the private fence and relax away from the hubbub. Thank you Chris and Joe for your lovely hospitality!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by CHB, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again. We are glad you enjoyed lovely Cahuita.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hospitality and beautiful setting.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Setting and hospitality.
Location: Tree of life resuce centre, lots of beautiful beaches.
Hosts were able to recommend excellent excursions scince they had lived in the area for a long time. They were both multilingual. Breakfast was amazing. Really close to the beach and local restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA USA

Put this on your Bucket List

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Loved the staff, Joe and Kris are amazing people. Bungalows are super comfortable. I love the rain on the metal roof and the wildlife.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Their is amazing beaches, village, people and national park - all within walking distance. This was an amazing vacation.
Had an amazing time at Coral Hills Bungalows. The Staff, Area and people are friendly. This experience was truly Pira Vida. Joe makes an amazing breakfast in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by CHB, Hotel Management
Thank you Wendi & Paul for the great review. We enjoyed having you here and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Best accommodations in Cahuita

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Wonderful hosts, clean accommodations, plentiful and beautiful breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Carnation, WA

Perfect for eco-tourism!

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Everything was exactly as described on the Expedia pages. The way the bungalows are set inside the garden/forest was fantastic.
Cons: If enough guests were interested to warrant the expense, they could set up a fruit feeder in the gardens to attract even more animals and birds.
Location: Every day we walked to the beach, town or Cahuita National Park. Eco-tourism and related activities are the best things here.
Eco-tourists who are looking for a Caribbean experience need to stay here. If you know what a Life List is or spend hours at the La Paz Waterfalls taking pictures of hummingbirds, then you need to spend a few days at Coral Hill. Just during the check-in conversation with Joe I saw several hard-to-find species and the sloths stayed overhead the whole trip. We stayed for three nights which was long enough to see the daily routines of things like agoutis, antbirds, woodrails, tanagers and others. Even during the afternoons, which is usually dead time for wildlife watching, I could lie in the hammock and have birds, reptiles or mammals wander by. For visitors looking for other experiences, the positive reviews I had read about the Joe and Chris and the bungalows were all true. The convenient location to beaches, town and Cahuita NP are all true. Joe and Chris also want to make sure you have good information on all the local activities and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Andris

Great Bungalow experience exceeding expectations

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
The stay exceeded all expectations, from Breakfast to Accommodations everything was amazing. The owners were friendly and nice, assisted with local attraction information, and made us feel most welcome. The Bungalows had all of the needed amenities from a safe and hairdrier to Hammock and candles. Would definitely stay at this place again.
5 out of 5
by Natasha

Lovely, rustic, and well appointed.

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Coral Hill Bungalows was a lovely retreat away from the bustle of San Jose. The location was very convenient to lots of activities, including lounging on the beach, but also horseback riding, a couple of national parks, and a couple of animal refuges. Everything was clean and the hosts did a great job of accommodating us. Breakfast was fresh and tasty and our room had all the modern amenities one could need. We especially enjoyed feeling as if we were sleeping in the jungle, but those who are especially sensitive to noise may be disturbed at night. We had our white noise machine with us, which my partner cannot sleep without in any setting, and we were fine, even through a downpour on our last night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Looks middle of jungle. Homemade breakfast was marvelous. Excellent walk in nature.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels