Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

Convenient hotel close to beach & downtown

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Nice place with pool, bbq, free & easy parking but no lift so we had to carry our luggage up to 1st floor. The woman at the desk when wr checked in did come to help us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant ,handy to everything

Posted Dec 17, 2016
A very comfortable stay,close to beach and all city amenenties
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room smelled like mold and mildew.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Cairns is close to the Reef Fleet Terminal where you can book a snorkel, scuba diving, or even a sea-kayaking cruise. We also booked River Rafting.
The room smelled like mold and mildew and had my allergies roaring from the moment we arrived. Because it is hot and humid in Cairns, the air conditioning is essential, however the hotel turns it off during the day to save energy. When we arrived each night back in our room, it was so smelly and stuffy that I had allergy attacks. It took a full hour each night with the air-conditioning unit running on full speed to clear out the room of tepid air, and still it was not comfortable or clean air. The room was also small and felt closed in. We could never get the wifi to work in our room, either. We so dreaded returning to our hotel each night that we changed hotels after only two nights. We were much happier and much more comfortable at another upscale hotel nearby. The breakfasts here were not bad, however, and the staff were kind. Only the room and overall hotel were way below par for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Reasonable price
Cons: Pool could be heated in colder months
Location: 10 minutes walk to esplenade
Simple clean hotel. Friendly staff Reasonable price Rooms to street a bit noisy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Helpful accommodating staff in central location

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: The central location in Cairns and the availability of space to relax and chill before leaving. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.
Location: It is a couple of blocks from the Esplanade and boardwalk. Similarly close to the major shopping centre. The airport is only a 15 minute ride away.
Stayed here one night in July after our tour of Cape York and before we flew home. We were able to leave excess luggage there while on tour. Staff were very helpful when we needed to print off boarding passes for our homeward flight. Once checked out we left our luggage in storage while we toured a little more on foot, till returning in the afternoon. Coral Tree Inn is very central to the lovely Esplanade and the large Cairns Central shopping centre. We were welcome to use the pool as there are showers and toilets next to the lobby, but instead chose to sit poolside while we sorted our hand luggage and enjoyed our photos . When it came to go , we were able to change from our summer clothing to our wintry gear for the return flight to Perth. It was very relaxing being able to use their space while we filled in time before catching a taxi (booked by staff) to the airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Queensland

Close to the CBD and large construction site

Posted Jun 10, 2016
I paid a discounted rate for my room and wouldn't stay here at all if they advertised the full price. The public amenities are fair and the hotel is within walking distance to the esplanade, bus station and the CBD. I stayed in a room overlooking the street so I heard the comings and goings of the other patrons. On the Saturday night from 8 pm my peaceful enjoyment was interrupted by 3 hours of jack hammering, road scraping and ??? a chain sawing type noise from across the road. Apparently the construction of a stadium is happening there. Granted, it's not the fault of the hotel but they should have offered a bigger discount! The rooms furniture and decor are dated but clean. The wardrobe doors were not sliding well, the ironing board wouldn't lock onto position and kept collapsing and the iron setting were written in Chinese. It's a foreign language to me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melb

Great hotel close to everything

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe solar heating on pool
Location: Lots to do walking distance
Great mid range hotel, allowed to upgrade reasonable price. This will be my base in Cairns now
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Just a few blocks from the beach

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Lovely saltwater pool, cooking ability, laundry and what seemed to be a central location fairly close to the ocean.
Cons: Allow early check in. The wifi is abysmal. Worse than in less developed countries that I had just visited. So frustrating.
Lots of food options nearby, but this hotel has a cooking area and since we had a fridge in the room we could warm up food. We had a car for a few days and it was very easy to get around from this location. Went to the reef, drove up to the Northern Beaches, to Kuranda and to Milla Milla Falls.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cairns on the cheap.

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Staff, then not much
Cons: Everything.
Location: Location was great... Redeemed the hotel to OK.
Location is awesome. Everything is close for walking. The room is very old. It has NO amenities. It was not very clean, and when set an item on the top of a closet, a half inch of dust came down. NO ice... No anything really. Staff was very pleasant. We are never in our room so cheap worked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel well located

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Maybe cater for evening meals
Location: Walking distance to all activities
A quiet laid back hotel. Close to esplanade and eateries. Hotel caters for every need. We enjoyed our stay very much and would highly recommend it.