Ratings based on 822 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Comfortable hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Its proximity to everything. Staff were very friendly and willing to help.
Cons: Update of room furniture
Location: Close to the tourist areas, RSL, food outlests etc, all in walking distance.
The only downside was the noise echoes throughout hotel, if you had an early checkout staying at the hotel everyone could hear their movements as well as noisy kitchen staff at breakfast. Also I had a king bed that was a bit hard and basically two single mattresses put together which was uncomfortable when you rolled over as you could feel the join. Overall it served its purpose for my reasonably long stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Launceston

Basic hotel walking distance to town centre

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: It was close to town. Reasonably priced breakfast.
Cons: One of the pillows was really hard and uncomfortable. Nice pool but had to hire pool towels :( A luggage stand would have been an improvement too.
A double or Queen bed instead of two singles pushed together would have been more comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w, Brisbane

Nice and clean, close to everything

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Room is big, very clean and comfortable. Staff at front desk is very helpful. When our original planes your was cancelled, she helped us to choose alternative tour and book the tickets for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Good location and nice staff.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: There is baggage storage. The pool is lovely. The photos on the website reflect the hotel exactly how it is. Good air conditioning in rooms.
Cons: A few bench seats outside the front of the hotel would be great for when you are waiting for a bus or cab. There were always people milling around the
It was a last minute decision for her to come with us. I called the hotel to arrange a ground floor room. It was not a problem at all. Overall we had a good stay. The hotel is rated four star? Maybe a three star. We have stayed in both and it is not four star. According to star ratings this is the description of requirements “Properties which achieve a deluxe guest experience. A wide range of facilities and superior design qualities is typically complemented by service standards that reflect the varied and discerning needs of the guest” We would stay again. The positives. Good location and easy walking distance to the esplanade and shopping areas. It’s about $6 for a cab. My mother in law couldn’t walk far and the staff were helpful and would order her a cab. Nice to have a newspaper to read. Newspapers daily in the foyer. The reception staff were great. Nothing was a problem. There is baggage storage. The pool is lovely. The photos on the website reflect the hotel exactly how it is. Good air conditioning in rooms. Well priced breakfast. BBQ area was great and we used it a few times. Good free WIFI. The negatives. We needed to drag the bedside lamp over to read the instructions for the safe. It was in a cupboard and too dark to read. My mother in law left her passport with reception as she couldn’t see the instructions either. The phone ring tone is very low. We couldn’t hear it when our mother in law called and vice versa.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: none
Cons: everything
king bed was offered, but when arrival, two single beds were put together as one bed! in the fridge, there was nothing to offer except coffee milk no quilt in the whole facility, only prickly blanket the staff were friendly, but only one Japanese lady, she didn't smile at all room service was not clean enough, food was left over on table, the TV is full of dust staff equipment room was located just opposite to our room, it was really noisy in the morning not phone book instruction found on table, i don't even know how to contact reception
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic and good

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The price and comfort.
Cons: Some regrouting, painting and cupboard repairs.
Location: About 10 mins from Woolworths. About 20 mins from the Lagoon and Casino. About 10 mins from RSL
13.2.2017, 3 nights. Check in and check out was smooth. Room had basic essentials. Housekeeping was friendly. Lots of Asian from overseas. Swimming pool was very clean. Did not have breakfast at the hotel. Our room was on ground floor leading to the swimming pool. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aiea, Hawaii

Wouldn't recommend this motel to people we like

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Location is central
Cons: The people minding the desk need a refresher on good customer service.
Location: Not far from Cairns Central mall where you can find about anything.
Condition of motel is just average, but our experience with staff was definitely sub-par. The night manager or person who checked us in gave us confusing directions on the location of our room, and neither of us really understood what she was trying to tell us. The day manager was unfriendly and sarcastic. My wife left a hoodie in our room, and when I called to ask them to hold it for us I was told nothing had been turned in, and they couldn't enter the room after someone else had checked in. When I pushed the manager to double check, she said that no one had checked in yet, and went to the room to search, finding nothing. The next day the housekeeping manager called to say the hoodie had been located, and she was very nice. All in all, not a good experience at the Coral Tree Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel 10 minutes from the Esplanade

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Cons: The staff could be a little warmer (even if it is Queensland).
Good hotel close to the Esplanade, very clean, nice pool. I would recommend it to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fair room for fair price. Would stay again

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Wotif
Although the place was overall quite nice with a good breakfast - the bed was terrible. It was 2 single beds pushed together with a wide and uncomfortable gap between. The beds being on castor wheels did not help! Still comfortable as single beds but impossible to cuddle up to my partner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 star hotel.

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Wotif
Stayed here for two nights while in Cairns on business. 1st room the AC didn't work so they changed me into another room without fuss. This was a family room so quite large and the AC didn't cope. Rooms are dated and bed uncomfortable. My business partner paid $5 per night more and stayed in a great place two blocks closer to the beach.