Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Location! Walk to beach, lagoon restaurants

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Excellent location. Can walk to anywhere. Beach boardwalk, the lagoon, restaurants, supermarket. Only downside is that it can be a bit noisy as there is a lot of music and activity at night. If you leave your aircon on at night it'll drown out the sound.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cairns

Old, but centre of town

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Centre of the city, and surprisingly quite. Breakfast was ok, light, different type of bread to toast, and boiled eggs. Hot coffee or tea, and cereals. I would stay here again.
Cons: Very old hotel, stayed here years ago. Nothing has changed since. Water marks on the wall where there is leakage from the ceiling.
Location: Irish pub underneath, with food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Historic hotel in town

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: It was close to the port.
Cons: Thicker room curtains to block outside street noise.
Location: In town, near the entertainment district and shopping.
The Hides hotel was a nice place to stay for a night. Our room needed thicker curtains to assist in limiting outside noise entering the room. The room was clean and well presented. The breakfast menu was ample and the balcony a great place to eat. The hotel staff were friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairns

Central location

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Nothing special. Poor quality pillows. Dont like having a double bed made from two single mattresses. Stayed the next night at another hotel a few blocks further away. Same price better quality.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Find a different hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: location, but there are many others just as central
Cons: Customer service and basic honesty. It should not have been "take a tourist" time.
Location: central city Cairns, near the beach. The first evening we saw prostitutes working the street near the hotel. T
Honesty is lacking. When we checked in, we discovered we had been assigned a room with shared bath. We needed en suite. They have one left and charged us a premium rate for the room; the next morning I discovered those rooms go for less. We had to purchase internet, so I bought an hour, looked up phone contact information, discovered our room phone didn't work, so I went to the lobby. I asked to use a phone and to be reimbursed for the internet time I was burning because the phone didn't work. They would not make good on the internet time. Nor, did they fix the phone. I had to place my call and give my credit card number while standing at the front desk. Meanwhile, for this prime rate we had to clean our own room. OK, we knew that going in, but for it was for a much lower rate. We also had to go to the housekeepers to obtain clean towels. They were courteous about this, but at the prime rate they extorted from us, towels should have been delivered. Then we killed roaches in our room. Check for bed bugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location,close to everything.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Breakfast balcony,cleanliness ,location,helpful staff.
Cons: TVs on the wall, nicer tables and more chairs,and bed spreads are too old.
Location: Near to the Laguna,ferry terminal,big shopping centre,night market,tour bookings,casino,esplanade ,food places,art gallery ,everything .
First time in Cairns best location to get everywhere. Clean room,basic but nice.Breakfast included great balcony,old charming and romantic. Love the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PERTH, Australia

Comfortable clean old, good price, central

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Booked 2 nights for post Ironman stay. Clean functional room with ensuite. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good value accomodation in centre of town.

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: I really liked the central location.
Cons: The hotel rooms are showing their age.
Location: Almost everything Cairns has to offer is within walking distance from the Hotel.
I presumed that I'd get a room accessing the grand verandah shown on their picture. Not the case. My first room was light and tidy. A few hours in I realised there was no WiFi access. Was changed into second room with full strength WiFi within 15 minutes. Very happy with the staff and their fantastic service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great Stay

Posted May 13, 2016
Great stay. In a good location. It was clean and had friendly emoloyees.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, Peru

Historic hotel in the center of Darwin

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Hotel with nice terrace ideally situated. Simple room with very narrow beds and convenient bathroom, on-demand housekeeping. Complimentary continental breakfast incl. boiled eggs and beach towels. Prohibitive internet prices.