Ratings based on 1,109 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mareeba Qld

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Central location
On arrival we were informed that car parking was NOT available for FREE as per the EXPEDIA booking. Car parking was available for additional $10 Our booking deal clearly shows "FREE parking and Breakfast for 2" . The breakfast ended up NOT being full breakfast but "Continental" - basically tea/coffee with cereal and toast. NO Croissants as is usually common with continental breakfast. Check in staff blamed expedia for the misunderstanding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Location! Walk to beach, lagoon restaurants

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Excellent location. Can walk to anywhere. Beach boardwalk, the lagoon, restaurants, supermarket. Only downside is that it can be a bit noisy as there is a lot of music and activity at night. If you leave your aircon on at night it'll drown out the sound.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location is only good

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: location, air con in the room
Location: close to shops and the terminal
The location was very convenient. The room smelt like it hadn't been opened for years. Perhaps leaving the windows opened to get some fresh air in the room would be better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hides Hotel a classic queenslander hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed our 5 day stay in Hides Hotel, Stayed in double room with en suite, very relaxed staff. We stayed in the older part of the hotel with its grand high ceilings. Outside our room was a stunning laser display on the pavement. Breakfast on the verandera has to be the best location in Cairns. Irish pub below serves good food and. Drink. A perfect location for a trip to Cairns if you want to enjoy yourself !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Wotif
Not a repeat visit kind of place. Also, even when we call them about the off street parking they didn't mention it was closed for maintenance for weeks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from geelong vic.

Close to town but Better options 4 price available

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Wotif
Older hotel. Mould in bedroom cielings and shared bathrooms. Bathrooms filthy. No blinds on glass doors to a well lit up area. Building works happening outside our room started at 530am. I would of appreciated a warning from hotel staff or option to move to a vacant room on other side of facility as thier were available rooms. Better places for less money are available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cairns

Old, but centre of town

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Centre of the city, and surprisingly quite. Breakfast was ok, light, different type of bread to toast, and boiled eggs. Hot coffee or tea, and cereals. I would stay here again.
Cons: Very old hotel, stayed here years ago. Nothing has changed since. Water marks on the wall where there is leakage from the ceiling.
Location: Irish pub underneath, with food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Basic room in as good location

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Lastminute
It was a basic room in a good location. Disappointed about the pool as it looked in poor health and in a bad location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fair cleaness but good location good price

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Fair cleaness but good location good price