Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room close to the lagoon and marina

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: It had a comfy bed and a good size balcony.
Cons: Had to use powerpoint in the cupboard to charge mobile phone and boiled jug in the bathroom as there didn't seem to be a power point handy.
Good location. Close to the lagoon and the marina which had some great restaurants available. 24 hour reception and good car parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Simple but effective.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Since each room is owned by an individual (and Mantra simply rent each room out to the guests) some of the equipment was old and needs replacing.
Location: Located in the heart of Cairns CBD - close enough for convenience but far enough away to be quiet.
This hotel / apartment complex provided us with everything we needed - kitchen, AC, pool, and close to the city centre (restaurant and shops). It was clean and well maintained. The staff were always helpful and polite. If we were to return to Cairns, we wouldn't think twice about checking into this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lae

Wonderful appartments close to beach and shops

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, pool
Cons: Rooms can be upgraded
Location: Many restaurants and shops nearby, including the night markets. The Cairns Central mall is walking distance.
This is the 3rd time we stay at this hotel, and each time it has been an excellent experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great spot !

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Everything. Would happily stay at this hotel again.
Cons: Some paint work was required in the lift.
Location: Opposite the waterfront, about 100 metres from the lagoon where you could swim. Fabulous restaurants along the esplanade. Woolworths behind hotel.
Conveniently positioned to shops, fabulous restaurants, marina, lagoon and waterfront. Had a cool sea breeze flowing through the spacious apartment. Hotel staff were wonderfully helpful. We did not have a daily service but this did not prevent us getting fresh towels etc when they were needed. Beach towels were freely available and deposited back in the hotel lobby after use. Car parking was available at no cost. Security was never an issue. Room keys only allowed you to access the floor of your accommodation, the car park and the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Hotel right on the Cairns Esplanade

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: It provide a great handy location to explore central Cairns
Cons: The corridors are in need of a repaint
Location: The hotel is handy to all central Cairns ctivities
This was the second time we have stayed at the Mantra Esplanade as we found the location excellent for all that central Cairns has to offer. It is only minutes from all the restaurants, night market, shopping, esplanade facilities and close to the Reef Terminal for access to the Great Barrier Reef excursions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary,Canada

Nice hotel close to the marina

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The room was fine but hallway noise was a problem. Card key for elevators and room not good. Any hotel still charging for WiFI is ridiculous. The advertised complementary WiFi is not from the hotel. You can only access it outside the building and from the balcony,sometimes. Smoking is allowed on the balconies--NOT GOOD
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right next to the esplanade

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Three things bothered me about this hotel firstly when I was in the process of booking I was led to believe I would be in a self catering apartment but when I actually booked in I was placed in a hotel room you don't seem to get a choice during the booking process,secondly there was no automatic daily housekeeping you had to ask for it and when my one bin was full I asked for it to be emptied and was told I needed to do it myself via a garbage chute on my floor which is fair enough but why wasn't I told this at check in,and thirdly and most annoying was no free Wi Fi it was $20 for three days which it states on the log in page on your phone or tablet so why was I charged $25?!! also it is capped at 1gb a day no rollover on data to be charged for WiFi in 2016 when even backpacker hostels give it free is just plain cheap and make the hotel look cheap as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average hotel in a great location

Posted Nov 10, 2016
We arrived at the hotel early due to our flight time. When we inquired if we could check in early they stated to come back at noon. The room still wasn't ready at noon and at the scheduled check in time of 2, the room still wasn't ready. The hotel also doesn't offer house keeping and you are charged if required. You will also be charged for wifi. The room itself was quite large but a little dated. The hotel is situated in a great location. Overall I wasn't impressed with the amenities and customer service I received, considering the money I spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Vest location! Close to Woolworth, all other shops, Lagoon and Ferry terminal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel in a great location.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Very clean, comfortable and the most importante good location. You can walk everywhere. Delicious restaurants around and the pier is just 5 minutes away.