Ratings based on 1,217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for Money

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Great Customer Service. Neat and Clean Rooms. Staff extended our stay until Mid Day. Overall comfortable and great stay. Very close to city. Free Parking. Free WIFI Internet of 5 MB Limit per day. Swimming Pool/ Spa/ Suana/ Gym Rooms above Level 5 are good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from port Douglas

Price very reasonable.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Price was right situated in Abbott street not Esplanade bit of a walk to anywhere but in cooler season would be OK
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice view and comfy beds

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Good location and very good price for what you get. Nice staff and comfy beds!
Cons: Carpets seemed a bit outdated
Location: Good restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Nice pool that gets good sun in the morning.
Off of the main strip, which we liked. Room had an amazing view as well. Simple amenities - nothing fancy. Great place for the price and everything! Super comfy beds too. Hotel staff on arrival were quick and very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Studio apartment

Posted Jan 16, 2016
We had the studio apartment which is a distance away from the main hotel.The lift lobby of the studio apartment smells of garbage. The apartment looked tired and the air conditioner was old and loud.Their 25m pool isn't actually 25m but nevertheless looks dirty.We didn't feel like we were staying at Rydges. Staff lacked in experience and made an error with our accomodation booking and we had to go to great lengths to resolve the issue. I wouldn't recommend staying at the apartments.However the main hotel is undergoing renovations and looks great.So if you travelling without kids or do not require kitchen facilities then maybe the main hotel is worth a try.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2016
What you want in a hotel...good staff, comfortable location and good facilities!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Room dated. It neeeds a make over. No nightstand lights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh, pa.

hotel lacks good wifi connection

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Cons: Yes they could use many improvements
Hotel is clean and staff are helpful. The wifi connections is very poor in the rooms and poor in the lobby! Hotel is 3 to four blocks from the shops and dinning places. Had to wait for laundry facilities to be available to use. They had two washing me hinges and two driers for whole hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Quite, great view, a bit far from the city centre but still in a walkable distance
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth wa

ok for short time

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: the gym
Cons: more house hold like rooms
well soon as I went to open door with card took about 10 before it would let us in and that was every single time we wanted to enter the room. no cooking equipment no bowls or anything its clear that all they want is for you to spend more money by buying there food as u cant bring your own as theres nothing to eat with
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

What you see is NOT what you get!!

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Run down, dirty, broken tiles, unfinished repairs, cockroaches, noisy and no reply from the hotel about concerns. What they advertise is not what you get, buyer beware.