Ratings based on 685 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Queensland

Old and tired !!!

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The NEW beds are to die for. Nice pool and bar area except the winter sun goes behing the building and the pool is left in the shade.
Cons: An overall make over would be good as it has great location
Location: In the middle of the CBD so handy to everything including restaurants.
This place has seen better days and is possibly 30 years old and still has fixtures in the room that reflect the age of the place. The beds must be NEW as they were the best i have slept on in a long time but the rest of the room is old, carpets stained, sliding door to mini balcony hard to open, bathroom still has 1980 soap holder in place. Fridge decided to defrost itself one night and i woke uo to a wet carpet and food spoil. The place smells old and musty. Staff are very nice and friendly and an effort to brighten up the foyer is nice as well. A tad annoyed that they charge 10 $ a day to park your car as there are no other options as you are smack in the middle of the CBD.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Joel Day, Hotel Management
Dear Chops Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Joel Day General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Although location was perfect, the hotel itself is in major need of a refurb. Dirty carpet, ceilings fallen , uncomfortable beds. Need I go on!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Rydges Cairns is a modest hotel which requires a significant upgrade of the premises. The decor and fittings are all very dated and the hotel fails to meet its rating
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Joel Day, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you found the hotel to be dated. We are currently working with the owners to refresh the property to ensure our guests have a much more enjoyable stay. We would look forward to welcoming you back in the future once the upgrades are complete. Joel Day General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairns

Hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Wotif
I'd definitely stay here again. Location is great and overall experience was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Joel Day, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel Thanks for the great review and the kind words about the staff. We hope to see you next time your in Cairns. Joel Day General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qld

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: It's location
Cons: Where do I start -
Handy location to shopping and night life. Room was extremely musty. Up on the 9th floor so we tried having the slider open to freshen up the smell but no difference. Room was very tired looking and bed was not comfortable. Breakfast was emmmm, disappointing. Nothing terribly inviting about the set up and the open pots of jam, honey, ....... was not good. One service person on the floor n what might've been chef who had the use of one hand as the other was in a compression stocking and the visible tattoos was not a professional look at all. Won't be back - but never say never
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Joel Day, Hotel Management
Dear Ekl Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay and I am sorry to hear that it was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped. We will be reviewing your feedback and liaising with the relevant departments to ensure these issues are rectified. We hope you give us another opportunity to impress in the future. Joel Day General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mareeba

A little tired

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: close proximity to the CBD
Cons: As above
The room was adequate but for the price we paid it certainly needs a revamp. The decor was dated and the paint peeling. The mattresses on the beds also need changing as they have been uses past their used by date (permanent dints in both sides of the beds).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Joel Day, Hotel Management
Dear Cheryl Thank you for your feedback. While I wish your stay was more comfortable thank you for raising your concerns with us so we can address these areas. In regards to the property itself, we will be undergoing a soft refurbishment this year with a view of refreshing the product. Hope to see you again soon. Joel Day General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Too pricey and not worth it! the only good thing about this hotel is the swimming pool area and location is great but noisy, looks old and smells old too. The bathroom its seems like you dont wanna take a shower and use the towels provided. The toiletries are used and provides only one shampoo and conditioner for 3x of us and No body lotion, no shower gel, no shower cap etc. I travelled alot and stayed at the different hotels many times (rate 3 to 5 stars)and not bad as this one. I wont recommend this hotel and never go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Joel Day, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear your stay was less than enjoyable. We are in the process of updating our facilities to ensure our guests feel comfortable throughout their entire stay. I am sorry to hear you will not be returning however hope you give us a chance in the future to present to you a refreshed Rydges Plaza in the not too distant future. Joel Day General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice Hotel and good location

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Good view
Cons: Free parking would help.
Location: Everything was great.
Staff were very helpful and location was perfect to walk around without looking for action.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Joel Day, Hotel Management
Dear Mano Thanks for your great review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time in cairns. We hope to see you again next time you travel Joel Day General Manager
5 out of 5
by Michelle

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
place was good. It needs a bit of work in places. Room 1010 bathroom the silicon was all discoloured black in places. looked like it needed a bit of work. At least to re do the silicon. the rest was clean and tidy. :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle Thank you for your feedback and letting us know about the bath in 1010. I will pass this on to maintenance for inspection. We hope to see you again very soon. Joel Day General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was okay and comfortable

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: It's location is very central.
Cons: The foyer and corridors are very tired. It needs sprucing up to make it feel fresh when you're going through.
Location: Close to all amenities. We went to Zoom which was great fun. It is a bit of a walk from the Esplanade but we didn't mind.
I would give this a 3.5 if I could. It wasn't quite a 4. Everything just looks a bit tired but it is central and it was clean.