Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Excellent location

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Great swimming pool, clean room, fast check in and great location.
Cons: Noise tends to travel through courtyards but overall no problem.
Location: Walking distance to Cairns Central, railway station to Kuranda, public bus stop that take you to Palm Cove, Esplanade, cafes and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Standard and sufficient

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, central location.
Cons: The water pressure in the shower was terrible, very weak. Staff could have been friendlier, complimentary milk would be nice.
Location: Short walk to the shops and city centre with restaurants and bars - great location.
Southern Cross was great for what we needed - just a room to sleep in, shower, and hold our belongings. The pool facilities were nice - although we were too busy to enjoy them! The room was clean and had adequate facilities for what we required: kettle, tea bags, ice tray etc. Some complimentary milk would have been nice though, as we wasted most of the 1L bottle we bought at the shops. The staff were... pleasant enough, but could have been more friendly/helpful. The bathroom was clean but the water pressure in the shower was very mild. Overall it was well-priced and satisfactory.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: The location is good.
Cons: The rooms were very basic and need updating. The facilities and amenities are very basic and not one would expect from reading the reviews on Expedia.
Location: Big shopping centre nearby and one can walk down to the marina.
The reception staff were not keen to help and could not offer answers to our queries regarding the hotel stay. They did not seem willing to accommodate any request or even provide the basic information.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Southern Cross Atrium Apartments is a good place t

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Comfortable and quiet apartment. Three kinds of swimming areas.
Cons: The spa pool was not heated.
Location: Southern Cross Atrium Apartments is close to the CBD and shops but not in the high-traffic areas.
Comfortable room with dual beds made into a queen-sized bed. Wifi is an additional expense and the room did not pick up the Optus mobile signal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Good base to explore cairns

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Lots of pools. Seriously you won't have to worry about over crowding.
Cons: Next to a train. But it rarely bothered us. Otherwise no complaints.
Location: Close to the CBD if you want to see gangs of hormonal youths getting shanked like frat boys.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Noisy motel with unfriendly staff

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Room was never cleaned over a 3 night stay. We had to find our own way to the room on check in. Staff behind the reception counter the next day gave the impression that they were overworked and had no time for us. Anyone who complained was told that they deal with a lot of customers so in otherwords stiff s..t
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Standard rooms thin walls

Posted Sep 30, 2016
not a bad room , pretty average though. Mattresses were worn and sunken so the 2 singles that make the king had quite a pronounce ridge in the middle. And you could hear every word the neighbors said as the walls must be thin
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Cons: Daily restocking of milk/tea/coffee
Good hotel overall. Didn't have to interact much with the staff. There was a grocery store nearby where we bought our supplies.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本


Posted Sep 27, 2016
デラックスルームに宿泊しました。ラグーンから徒歩20分ほどのねところにあり、隣にショッピングモールがあります。フルキッチンがついているのでショッピングモール内のスーパーで食材を買って、部屋のテラスで食べましたが、静かでとても素敵な時間を過ごせました。 3泊しましたがバスタオルは一人2枚しか用意されておらず、交換してもらえないので自分で洗濯する必要があります。食洗機洗剤も追加で貰うには有料なので節約しながら使う必要があります。Wi-Fiは無料ですが弱いです。受付にお一人日本人の方がいましたが毎日はいませんでした。部屋は清潔で素敵な空間です。エレベーターなしの3階建です。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice amenities and close walk to the beach/town

Posted Sep 23, 2016
I really thought that this was a great hotel for the money. It was nice and clean and have everything I was looking for for my stay in Cairns. I liked that the room had a small kitchenette so I could have a few meals there and it was a good distance to the beach and main town area. I would definitely stay there again.